2013-14 Departmental Performance Report

Minister’s Message

Photograph of the Honourable Dr. K. Kellie Leitch, Minister of Labour and Minister of Status of Women

I am pleased to present Status of Women Canada’s Departmental Performance Report for the year 2013-14.

The Government of Canada remains committed to building a society where women and men are equal participants in all aspects of life. To this end, we work to foster an environment where women and girls contribute to and benefit from Canada’s prosperity, have equal access to leadership roles in our institutions, and enjoy a life free of violence.

To sustain Canada’s economic growth, we need to ensure that gender diversity is reflected in the business sector and on corporate boards. To this end, the Government of Canada created the Advisory Council on Women on Boards to provide advice on how to increase the representation of women on the boards of public institutions and private sector firms. As well, the business case for increasing the role of women in non-traditional sectors of employment, and to support the growth of women-led enterprises clearly demonstrates that the Canadian economy as a whole will gain. In this context, the Agency carried out initiatives to promote women’s representation in skilled trades, technical professions and entrepreneurship.

Violence against women and girls has no place in our society and our Government is resolute in its commitment to ending it. During the reporting year, Status of Women Canada, working in collaboration with federal, provincial and territorial partners and civil society, explored innovative solutions to address violence, including the emerging issues of cyberbullying and online sexual exploitation of young women and girls.

In 2013-14, Status of Women Canada focused its efforts on these three key areas, ensuring that its program investments, policy interventions and communication activities deliver concrete results. It provided $19 million in funding to support over 350 community-based projects that aim to achieve women and girls’ full participation in Canadian society.

I am pleased to report that we continue to make steady progress in improving the status of women in Canada.



The Honourable K. Kellie Leitch, P.C., O.Ont., M.P.
Minister of Labour and Minister of Status of Women

2013-2014 Rapport ministériel sur le rendement

Message de la ministre

Photo de l’honorable Dre K. Kellie Leitch, ministre du Travail et ministre de la Condition féminine

Je suis heureuse de présenter le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2013-2014 de Condition féminine Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada demeure résolu à bâtir une société où les femmes et les hommes participent à égalité à toutes les dimensions de la vie. À cette fin, nous cherchons à créer un environnement où les femmes et les filles contribuent à la croissance économique du Canada et en profitent, où elles jouissent d’une égalité d’accès aux postes de responsabilité au sein de nos institutions et où elles peuvent s’épanouir sans craindre la violence.

Pour assurer la croissance économique du Canada, nous devons garantir la mixité de la main d’œuvre et des conseils d’administration dans les entreprises. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada a créé le Conseil consultatif pour la présence des femmes aux conseils d'administration et l’a chargé de lui prodiguer des conseils sur les moyens à prendre pour accroître la présence des femmes au sein des conseils d’administration des institutions publiques et des entreprises du secteur privé. En outre, l’argumentaire économique que nous avons commandé montre que l’économie canadienne dans son ensemble profitera d’une présence accrue des femmes dans les secteurs d’emploi traditionnellement masculins et du soutien à la croissance des entreprises dirigées par des femmes. C’est dans ce contexte que l’organisme a mené des initiatives pour promouvoir la présence des femmes dans les métiers spécialisés, les professions techniques et l’entrepreneuriat.

D’autre part, notre société ne saurait tolérer la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, et notre gouvernement a pris le ferme engagement d’y mettre un terme. Au cours de l’exercice visé par le présent rapport, Condition féminine Canada, en collaboration avec des partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que la société civile, a examiné des solutions novatrices pour contrer la violence, y compris les nouveaux enjeux que sont la cyberintimidation et la cyberexploitation sexuelle des jeunes femmes et des filles.

En 2013–2014, Condition féminine Canada a concentré ses efforts sur ces trois domaines clés en veillant à ce que ses investissements, ses interventions et ses communications produisent des résultats concrets. L’organisme a affecté 19 millions de dollars au soutien de plus de 350 projets communautaires qui visent à assurer la pleine participation des femmes et des filles à la société canadienne.

Je suis heureuse de déclarer que nous continuons de faire des progrès constants vers l’amélioration de la condition féminine au Canada.



L’honorable Dre K. Kellie Leitch, C.P., O.Ont., députée
Ministre du Travail et ministre de la Condition féminine