Minister's Message

I am pleased to present Status of Women Canada’s Departmental Performance Report for the year 2015-16.

Honourable Patty Hajdu, Minister of Status of Women

As we approach our country’s 150th anniversary next year, Canadians can feel very proud of the progress we have made advancing the status of women and girls in Canada. At the same time, we are mindful that full gender equality remains elusive in our society. Gender-based violence remains a significant barrier to achieving gender equality, the gender wage gap persists, barriers prevent women from assuming leadership positions, and unacceptable disparities remain among women and girls of diverse backgrounds.

There is work to be done by all of us to change attitudes within our society, and practices within our institutions, which reinforce and perpetuate gender inequality. Building on the Prime Minister’s leadership in appointing the first ever gender balanced federal Cabinet, we are committed to leading by example in order to advance equality.

During fiscal year 2015-16, Status of Women Canada worked in collaboration with the departments of Justice and Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada during the pre-inquiry engagement process for the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls. Not only did this pre-engagement process inform the mandate and scope of the inquiry but it also led to a significant achievement when provincial and territorial governments agreed to participate fully in the national inquiry. I also began engaging a variety of key stakeholders on the development of the Federal Strategy against Gender-based Violence, which will be evidence-based, and informed by the views of Canadians. Consistent with this approach of encouraging dialogue between stakeholders and decision-makers to inform better decisions, the federal government has restored advocacy as one of the activities that can be funded within projects supported by Status of Women Canada.

In 2015-16, the Government of Canada renewed its commitment to the use of Gender-based Analysis in its decision-making. In support of this priority, the agency reinforced its leadership role by broadening its outreach and building capacity within and beyond the federal public sector. Status of Women Canada collaborated with the Privy Council Office and the Treasury Board Secretariat to develop and launch an Action Plan on Gender Based Analysis (2016-2020). This Action Plan provides a blueprint for federal departments and agencies to develop and implement internal frameworks to support the sustainable use of Gender-based Analysis in the development of federal initiatives.

The Government of Canada has demonstrated its full support for the United Nations sustainable development goals which reflect many Canadian core values, including equality between women and men. We are committed to leading by example in implementing the UN goal to “Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls”, ensuring that no one is left behind in the process or outcome. Accordingly, the Government of Canada has developed a comprehensive results framework, identifying concrete outcomes that align with the UN gender equality goals. This framework will provide a roadmap for Canada to coordinate our efforts, leverage partnerships and engage communities and institutions toward the ultimate goal of gender equality in all aspects of Canadian life.

Canada demonstrated renewed leadership at the 60th Session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women. Through active engagement, strategic interventions and collaboration, Canada influenced a number of key outcomes from this year’s session. In addition, as a result of its renewed international engagement on gender equality issues, Canada successfully submitted its candidacy for a seat on the UN Commission on the Status of Women for the 2017-2021 term.

Status of Women Canada continues to support key federal initiatives that help to advance gender equality. This includes support for increased social infrastructure investments in shelters and transition housing, which will help to ensure those fleeing domestic violence have a place to turn. It also includes support for the creation of the new Canada Child Benefit, and for the federal government’s new approach to making Governor-in-Council appointments that will enhance diversity.

The broad scope of work undertaken by Status of Women Canada is crucial to achieving our shared goals, and advancing the Government of Canada’s gender equality agenda. As we pursue this journey, we will engage Canadians, work with our partners in the public, private and voluntary sectors, and make decisions informed by the best available evidence and expertise. By working together, we can build the healthy, inclusive society we want as a lasting legacy for our children and grandchildren.

The Honourable Patty Hajdu, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Status of Women

Date modified:

Message de la ministre

Je suis heureuse de vous présenter le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2015-2016 de Condition féminine Canada.

L’honorable Patty Hajdu, ministre de la Condition féminine

L’année prochaine, nous fêterons le 150e anniversaire de notre pays. La population canadienne peut être très fière du progrès de la condition des femmes et des filles au Canada. Néanmoins, nous savons pertinemment que l’égalité véritable entre les femmes et les hommes reste hors de portée dans notre société. La violence fondée sur le sexe demeure un obstacle important à cette égalité, tout comme l’écart salarial entre les femmes et les hommes. D’autres obstacles empêchent aussi les femmes d’accéder à des postes de pouvoir et des désavantages inacceptables persistent chez les Canadiennes d’horizons divers

Si nous voulons changer les attitudes dans notre société, ainsi que les pratiques institutionnelles qui renforcent et perpétuent les inégalités entre les sexes, chacune et chacun d’entre nous devra fournir sa part d’efforts. Nous sommes résolus à montrer la voie, comme l’a fait le premier ministre dès son arrivée au pouvoir en formant le premier Cabinet fédéral paritaire.

Au cours de l’exercice 2015-2016, Condition féminine Canada a travaillé de concert avec le ministère de la Justice et le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord pour préparer l’Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées. Ces travaux préparatoires ont permis de définir le mandat et l’envergure de l’enquête, à laquelle, il convient de souligner que, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ont convenu de participer pleinement. J’ai également entrepris un large dialogue avec des intervenantes et intervenants clés afin de recueillir leur point de vue sur la stratégie fédérale à venir contre la violence fondée sur le sexe. Cette stratégie sera fondée sur les faits et cadrée en tenant compte des points de vue de la population canadienne. Par ailleurs, fidèle à sa volonté de promouvoir le dialogue entre les parties prenantes et les décisionnaires pour conduire à des décisions plus éclairées, le gouvernement du Canada a rétabli l’admissibilité des activités de revendication dans le cadre des projets financés par Condition féminine Canada.

En 2015-2016, le gouvernement du Canada a réaffirmé sa volonté d’utiliser l’analyse comparative entre les sexes (ACS) dans la prise des décisions. CFC a saisi la balle au bond et étendu ses efforts de sensibilisation et de développement des compétences en ACS, à l’intérieur du secteur public fédéral et au-delà. En collaboration avec le Bureau du Conseil privé et le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, CFC a formulé et déposé le Plan d'action sur l’analyse comparative entre les sexes (2016-2020). Ce Plan d’action sert de feuille de route aux ministères et organismes fédéraux pour l’implantation de leur cadre interne, nécessaire à l’intégration durable de l’ACS au processus d’élaboration des initiatives fédérales

Le Canada souscrit pleinement aux Objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies, qui reflètent bon nombre des grandes valeurs canadiennes, dont celle de l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. À ce chapitre, nous entendons montrer la voie à suivre pour « parvenir à l’égalité des sexes et autonomiser toutes les femmes et les filles ». Nous donnerons l’exemple en adoptant les mesures nécessaires afin que personne ne soit laissé pour compte. Pour ce faire, le gouvernement du Canada a mis au point un cadre global des résultats, lequel inclut des résultats tangibles qui concordent avec l’objectif onusien d’égalité entre les sexes. Ce cadre servira de feuille de route et aidera le pays à coordonner ses efforts, à tirer parti des partenariats et à mobiliser les collectivités et les institutions en vue d’atteindre l’objectif ultime, à savoir l’égalité entre les sexes dans tous les aspects de la société canadienne.

À la 60e session de la Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies, le Canada est ressorti à nouveau comme un chef de file. En effet, par son engagement actif, ses interventions stratégiques et son travail de concertation, il a influé sur bon nombre de résultats clés de la session. Ce renouvellement de notre engagement envers l’égalité entre les sexes nous a mené à soumettre notre candidature pour un siège à la Commission pour la période de 2017 à 2021.

Condition féminine Canada continue d’apporter son soutien à des initiatives fédérales clés, de nature à faire avancer l’égalité entre les sexes. Cela comprend l’augmentation des investissements dans l’infrastructure sociale, notamment les maisons de transition et d’hébergement qui accueillent les femmes qui fuient la violence familiale. Cela comprend aussi la nouvelle allocation canadienne pour enfants et les changements apportés afin d’accroître la diversité dans les nominations fédérales par décret.

Condition féminine Canada accomplit un travail d’une large portée qui est essentiel pour atteindre nos buts communs et nous rapprocher de l’idéal d’égalité entre les sexes auquel aspire le gouvernement du Canada. En route vers cet idéal, nous resterons à l’écoute de la population canadienne, mobiliserons nos partenaires des secteurs public, privé et bénévole, et veillerons à prendre des décisions qui se fondent sur une solide expertise et font appel aux meilleures données disponibles. La société saine et inclusive dont nous rêvons, nous pourrons la léguer en héritage à nos enfants et petits-enfants si nous travaillons ensemble à la construire.

L’honorable Patty Hajdu, C. P., députée
Ministre de la Condition féminine

Date de modification :