Planning and Reporting

Review on the Implementation of Section 41 of the Official Languages Act 2011-2012

Prepared by: Yannick Raymond

Status of Women Canada


Minister responsible:

The Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Public Works and Government Services and Minister for Status of Women

Senior official responsible for official languages (e.g. Official Languages Champion):

Sébastien Goupil, Director General, Policy and External Relations, and Official Languages Champion

Name of the national contact person responsible for the implementation of section 41 of the OLA:

Names of the regional contact persons for section 41 of the OLA (if applicable:

  • Exact titles:
    1. Nicole Bujold, Regional Director, Atlantic, 506-851-3970
    2. Jill Varley, Regional Director, Quebec, 514-283-8598
    3. Suzanne Lacroix, Regional Director, West, 780-495-5020

General Information

Context

In accordance with section 44 of the Official Languages Act (OLA), the Minister of Canadian Heritage must submit an annual report to Parliament on matters relating to its mandate. Therefore, the Minister must report on the implementation of section 41 (Part VII) of the OLA by federal institutions.

The information provided by your institution through this questionnaire will be used to write the Minister of Canadian Heritage's 2011-2012 Annual Report on Official Languages.

Open-ended questions are used to document your institution’s results that could be highlighted in this annual report.

Instructions

A hard copy of this document should be sent to the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages and to both Parliamentary Standing Committees on Official Languages. You will find their addresses below:

Mr. Graham Fraser
Commissioner of Official Languages
Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages
Canada Building
344 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0T8

Mr. Simon Larouche
Clerk of the Committee
House of Commons Standing Committee on Official Languages
House of Commons of Canada
131 Queen Street, 6th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6

Mrs. Danielle Labonté
Clerk
Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages
Senate of Canada
Chambers Building, Room 1051
40 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A4

Development of official-language minority communities (OLMCs) and promotion of English and French in the Canadian society (section 41, part VII of the Official Languages Act)

Tangible results

  1. What key initiatives does your institution want to highlight in relation to the development of official-language minority communities (Francophones outside Quebec and Anglophones in Quebec)? What are the tangible impacts of these initiatives on/in the OLMCs? What is the determining success factor for these initiatives?

    YWCA Montreal: I'll be there

    The 36-month project was approved in 2011-2012 and focuses on various forms of violence facing girls transitioning from primary to secondary schools in Montréal. Project activities will take place in collaboration with both French and English-language schools in Montréal, and approximately half of the participating youth will be English-speaking.

    Between 120 and 150 English-speaking girls will reap tangible benefits from their involvement in this project, including strengthened abilities to recognize and respond to gendered violence and related issues during the transition to high school. Participants will also benefit from activities such as a high school-based mentorship and awareness-building workshops in selected schools.

    Targeted short-term results from the project include ensuring that participants aged 11 to 14 are equipped to make healthy decisions about their bodies and relationships and to counter violence in their lives. Another 10 to 15 English-speaking girls from 14 and 17 years of age will acquire leadership capacities through volunteering as researchers and as mentors to grade 7 girls. Medium-term goals include school personnel being able to identify and address, through gender-based analysis, issues of violence and inequity manifesting during girls' transition and adaptation to high school. Also, the girls aged 11 to 17 will be able to apply their learning in ways that make their environment safer for themselves and others. The final program will be available to all English schools in the province.

  2. What key initiatives does your institution want to highlight in relation to the promotion of English and French in Canadian society (do not confuse with obligations related to service to the public or language of work, e.g. bilingual Web site, language training for staff)? What are the tangible results of these initiatives in Canadian society? What is the determining success factor for these initiatives?

    The Program ensures that all necessary measures are put in place to support the development of official-language minority communities in Canada, as well as to promote the full recognition and use of English and French in Canadian society.

    Where a funding recipient’s activities address a public composed of both official language groups, or could have an impact on the bilingual character of Canada, the Program ensures that the funding agreement concluded with the recipient stipulates measures to be taken.

  3. What key achievements with a regional impact (success stories or results on/in the OLMCs or on the promotion of English and French in Canadian society) does your institution want to highlight?

    Status of Women Canada wishes to highlight the partnership between la Collectivité ingénieuse de la Péninsule acadienne (CIPA) in New Brunswick and the Fédération des femmes acadiennes de la Nouvelle-Écosse (FFANE) in Nova Scotia as a key initiative in relation to the development of official-language minority communities in 2011-2012.

    Both organizations contribute to the development of official-language minority communities by their work done within francophone communities in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

    Both organizations received project funding from Status of Women Canada to help address violence against women. The project outcomes achieved include access to French resources for women victim of violence and stakeholders in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

    The determining success factor is the partnership established between the two projects, which lead to the development of a French Web site, www.parcelles.ca, offering help and resources for women from both provinces. For example, the Web site provides lists of organizations and programs offered in each province. The FFANE developed other tools as part of their project; these tools are related to the information found on the Web site. The Web site was originally developed by CIPA.

Planification et rapports

Bilan de la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la loi sur les langues officielles 2011-2012

Préparé par : Yannick Raymond

Condition féminine Canada


Ministre responsable :

The Honourable Rona Ambrose, ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux et ministre de la Condition féminine

Haut fonctionnaire responsable des langues officielles (ex. : champion des langues officielles) :

Sébastien Goupil, directeur général, Politiques et relations extérieures, champion des langues officielles

Nom de la personne-ressource responsable de la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la LLO au niveau national :

  • Titre exact : Yannick Raymond, directrice régionale, Ontario
  • Numéro de téléphone : 613-992-7784
  • Courriel : yannick.raymond@swc-cfc.gc.ca

Noms des personnes-ressources responsables pour l'article 41 de la LLO en région :

  • Titres exacts :
    1. Nicole Bujold, directrice régionale de l'Atlantique, 506-851-3970
    2. Jill Varley, directrice régionale du Québec, 514-283-8598
    3. Suzanne Lacroix, directrice régionale de l'Ouest, 780-495-5020

Renseignements généraux

Contexte

Conformément à l'article 44 de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO), le Ministre du Patrimoine canadien doit déposer un rapport annuel au Parlement sur les questions qui concernent son mandat. Par conséquent, le Ministre doit faire rapport de la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 (partie VII) de la LLO par les institutions fédérales.

Les renseignements fournis par le truchement de ce questionnaire serviront à rédiger le Rapport annuel sur les langues officielles de 2011-2012 du ministre du Patrimoine canadien.

Les questions ouvertes servent à compiler les résultats de votre institution que Patrimoine canadien pourrait faire ressortir dans ce rapport annuel.

Instructions

Une copie papier de ce document devrait être acheminée au Commissariat aux langues officielles ainsi qu'aux deux comités permanents du Parlement sur les langues officielles dont vous trouverez les adresses ci-dessous :

Monsieur Graham Fraser
Commissaire aux langues officielles
Commissariat aux langues officielles
Édifice Canada
344, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0T8

Monsieur Simon Larouche
Greffier de comité
Comité permanent des langues officielles
de la Chambre des communes
Chambre des communes du Canada
131, rue Queen, 6e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A6

Madame Danielle Labonté
Greffier
Comité sénatorial permanent des langues officielles
Sénat du Canada
Édifice Chambers, pièce 1051
40, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A4

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) et promotion du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne (article 41, partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles)

Résultats concrets

  1. Quelles grandes initiatives votre institution veut elle mettre en évidence concernant le développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (francophones à l'extérieur du Québec et anglophones du Québec)? Quels sont les effets concrets de ces initiatives dans/sur les CLOSM? Quel est le facteur déterminant du succès de ces initiatives?

    Y des femmes de Montréal

    Approuvé en 2011 2012, ce projet de 36 mois met l'accent sur les différentes formes de violence auxquelles font face les jeunes filles de Montréal qui font la transition entre l'école primaire et l'école secondaire. Les activités du projet se tiendront en collaboration avec les écoles de langue française et anglaise de Montréal, et environ la moitié des jeunes participantes seront anglophones.

    Entre 120 et 150 filles anglophones tireront des avantages concrets de leur participation à ce projet. Par exemple, elles renforceront leur capacité de reconnaître et de contrer la violence sexiste et les problèmes connexes pendant leur transition au secondaire. Les participantes profiteront également d'activités telles qu'un projet-pilote de mentorat en milieu scolaire et des ateliers de sensibilisation dans des écoles choisies.

    Les résultats visés à court terme par le projet comprennent, notamment, de faire en sorte que les participantes âgées de 11 à 14 ans soient en mesure de prendre des décisions saines concernant leur corps et leurs relations, ainsi que de lutter contre la violence dans leur vie. De 10 à 15 autres filles anglophones âgées de 14 à 17 ans acquerront des capacités d'animation en se portant volontaires comme chercheuses et comme mentors pour des filles de 7e année. Parmi les objectifs à moyen terme, mentionnons faire en sorte que le personnel scolaire puisse, au moyen de l'analyse comparative entre les sexes, reconnaître les enjeux liés à la violence et les problèmes d'iniquité auxquels se butent les filles pendant leur adaptation à l'école secondaire, ainsi que de s'attaquer à ces enjeux et problèmes. De plus, les filles âgées de 11 à 17 ans pourront, grâce aux connaissances acquises, rendre leur environnement plus sécuritaire pour elles-mêmes et pour d'autres. Le programme définitif sera offert à toutes les écoles anglaises de la province.

  2. Quelles grandes initiatives votre institution veut elle mettre en évidence concernant la promotion du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne (ne pas confondre avec les obligations relatives au service au public ou à la langue de travail, comme les sites Web bilingues et la formation linguistique du personnel)? Quels sont les effets concrets de ces initiatives dans la société canadienne? Quel est le facteur déterminant du succès de ces initiatives?

    Le Programme fait en sorte que toutes les mesures nécessaires soient mises en place pour promouvoir l'épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire au Canada ainsi que l'usage et la pleine reconnaissance du français comme de l'anglais dans la société canadienne.

    Si les activités de l'organisme bénéficiaire visent une population composée à la fois de francophones et d'anglophones ou si elles risquent d'influer sur le caractère bilingue du Canada, le Programme fait en sorte que l'entente de financement conclue avec le bénéficiaire prévoie des mesures appropriées.

  3. Quels « bons coups » ayant des répercussions régionales (réussites ou résultats dans les CLOSM ou concernant la promotion de l'anglais et du français dans la société canadienne) votre institution veut elle souligner?

    Condition féminine Canada considère le partenariat entre la Collectivité ingénieuse de la Péninsule acadienne (CIPA) au Nouveau-Brunswick et la Fédération des femmes acadiennes de la Nouvelle-Écosse (FFANE) en Nouvelle-Écosse comme étant « un bon coup » ayant des répercussions régionales au cours de l'année 2011-2012.

    Les deux organismes contribuent au développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire par leur travail dans les communautés francophones du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

    Les deux organismes ont reçu du financement de Condition féminine Canada pour des projets visant la réduction de la violence envers les femmes. Grâce à ces projets, les femmes victimes de violence et les intervenantes et intervenants du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont maintenant accès à des ressources en français.

    Le partenariat entre les deux organismes est le facteur de réussite déterminant, car il a permis la création d'un site Web en français, www.parcelles.ca, qui offre de l'aide et des ressources aux femmes des deux provinces. On y trouve par exemple des listes d'organismes et de programmes offerts dans chacune des provinces. Dans le cadre de son projet, la FFANE a mis au point d'autres outils liés aux renseignements figurant sur le site Web, conçu à l'origine par la CIPA.