Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2013

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programming

1. Introduction

Status of Women Canada (SWC) is a federal government organization that promotes equality for women and their full participation in the economic, social and democratic life of Canada.

SWC works to advance equality for women and to remove barriers to women’s participation in society, putting particular emphasis on three priority areas:

  • increasing women's economic security and prosperity;
  • encouraging women's leadership and democratic participation; and
  • ending violence against women.

SWC is also responsible for providing strategic policy advice and gender-based analysis support, administering the Women’s Program and promoting commemorative events related to women and girls in Canada. The organization also plays an important role in Canada’s efforts to meet its international obligations on gender equality.

Further details on SWC’s mandate, raison d’être, responsibilities and program activities may be found in the organization’s 2013-2014 Report on Plans and Priorities and 2013-2014 Main Estimates.

SWC management has prepared this quarterly financial report as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The report, for the quarter ending June 30, 2013, should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Basis of Presentation

SWC management has prepared this report using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the spending authorities granted by Parliament and those in the organization’s Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the fiscal year 2013-2014. This quarterly financial report has been prepared using a special framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to spending authorities.

All Government of Canada expenditures must be authorized by Parliament. Approvals take the form of annually approved limits or legislation on statutory spending for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant allowing the Government of Canada to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The organization uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the Departmental Performance reporting process. However, the authorities approved by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year-to-date results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net decrease in resources available for the year and in actual expenditures for the quarter ended June 30.

Figure 1
(in thousands)

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year-to-date results

Figure 1 outlines the total authorities available for use and total expenditures for the fiscal year as atJune 30.

Figure 1 - Text Equivalent

Significant Changes to Authorities

As of June 30, 2013, total authorities available for the year have decreased by less than 1% ($55K) compared to the same quarter of the prior year. This net decrease is a combination of a decrease in Vote 25 – Operating Expenditures ($157K) and an increase in Vote 30 – Grants and Contributions ($83K) and an increase in budgetary statutory authorities ($19K).

The net decrease in total authorities available is a combination of decreases and increases, the most notable being the end of funding received in 2012-2013 through the government advertising fund ($250K) offset by a three-year transfer to SWC from the Department of Justice Canada in partnering to fund a contribution project ($83K).

Significant Changes to Expenditures

Compared to the previous year, total net expenditures recorded in the first quarter decreased by $2.5 million as per the Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object Table. This represents a decrease of approximately 36% of expenditures recorded for the same period in 2012–2013.

The difference is primarily the result of a decrease in the Transfer Payment standard object spending of 61% or (approximately $2.9 million) due to the fact that projects have payment schedules that vary from year to year. This decrease was offset by additional spending in various standard objects for the organization’s relocation in 2013.

3. Risks and uncertainties

SWC approaches risk as an integral part of its planning process, recognizing the need for strong risk management in all of its operations, as well as at the corporate level. SWC’s corporate risk profile, review of budgetary challenges, management practices and risk mitigation strategies were all monitored on a regular basis by its senior management.

As part of the PWGSC Gatineau Lease-Purchase project, SWC is planning to move its headquarters from Ottawa to Gatineau in 2013. SWC has been working closely with the Treasury Board Secretariat and Public Works and Government Services Canada in determining costs and sources of funds for this move.

This quarterly financial report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A).

4. Significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in operations, personnel and programs over the last year.

5. Budget 2012 Implementation

No budgetary reductions have resulted from Budget 2012.

Approved by:

 

Suzanne Clément
Coordinator, Status of Women Canada
Ottawa, Canada
Johanne Tremblay
A/Chief Financial Officer
 

August 19, 2013

Status of Women Canada
Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
For the quarter ended June 30, 2013

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2013–2014   Fiscal year 2012–2013
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end   Total available for use for the year ended March 31, 2013* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
               
Vote 30 - Operating expenditures 9,339 2,355 2,355   9,496 1,966 1,966
Vote 35 - Grants and Contributions 19,033 1,821 1,821   18,950 4,720 4,720
Statutory authorities              
Employee Benefit Plan 1,245 311 311   1,226 306 306
Total budgetary authorities 29,617 4,487 4,487   29,672 6,992 6,992

* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter end

Status of Women Canada
Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
For the quarter ended June 30, 2013

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2013–2014   Fiscal year 2012–2013
  Planned Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end   Planned Expenditures for the year ended March 31, 2013* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Total net budgetary expenditures 29,617 4,487 4,487   29,672 6,992 6,992
Expenditures
Personnel 8,398 2,388 2,388   8,190 2,062 2,062
Transportation and communications 605 77 77   639 57 57
Information 131 18 18   382 8 8
Professional and special services 1,069 106 106   1,055 62 62
Rentals 59 51 50   53 69 69
Repair and maintenance 66 5 5   89 7 7
Utilities, materials and supplies 66 3 3   83 5 5
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 188 18 18   227 2 2
Transfer payments 19,033 1,821 1,821   18,950 4,720 4,720
Other subsidies and payments 2 - -   4 - -

Note: Totals may not add and may not agree with details provided in other public documents due to rounding.

* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter end

Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2013

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Condition féminine Canada est l'organisme fédéral chargé de promouvoir l'égalité pour les femmes et leur pleine participation à la vie économique, sociale et démocratique du Canada.

Condition féminine Canada travaille à faire progresser l'égalité pour les femmes et à éliminer les obstacles à leur participation à la société. Il concentre ses efforts dans trois axes d'intervention :

  • Améliorer la sécurité et la prospérité économiques des femmes;
  • Encourager les femmes à occuper des postes de responsabilité et à participer à la vie démocratique;
  • Éliminer la violence faite aux femmes.

Condition féminine Canada a aussi pour responsabilité d'offrir des conseils stratégiques en matière de politiques, d'appuyer l'analyse comparative entre les sexes, d'administrer le Programme de promotion de la femme et de promouvoir la commémoration de dates présentant un intérêt particulier pour les femmes et les filles au Canada. L'organisme joue également un rôle important dans les efforts déployés par le Canada pour remplir ses obligations internationales en matière d'égalité des sexes.

On trouvera des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, la raison d'être, les responsabilités et les activités de programme de Condition féminine Canada dans son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et son Budget principal des dépenses pour 2013-2014.

La direction de Condition féminine Canada a préparé le présent rapport financier trimestriel conformément à l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport porte sur le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2013, et devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction de Condition féminine Canada a préparé ce rapport en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement, de même que celles figurant dans le Budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses de l'organisme pour l'exercice 2013-2014. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard des autorisations de dépenser.

Toutes les dépenses du gouvernement du Canada doivent être autorisées par le Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles ou de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à lancer un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement du Canada à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

L'organisme utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, c'est encore la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses qui est utilisée pour les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement.

2. Points saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La présente section met en évidence les éléments importants qui ont contribué à la diminution nette des ressources disponibles pour l'exercice ainsi que des dépenses réelles pour le trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 juin.

Figure 1
(en milliers)

Points saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La figure 1 montre les autorisations totales disponibles ainsi que les dépenses totales pour  l’exercice, au 30 juin. 

Figure 1 - Équivalent texte

Changements importants aux autorisations

Au 30 juin 2013, les autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice ont diminué de moins de 1 % (55 000 $), comparativement au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Cette diminution nette s'explique par une diminution du Crédit 25 – Dépenses de fonctionnement (157 000 $) et par une augmentation du Crédit 30 – Subventions et contributions (83 000 $), ainsi que par une augmentation des autorisations législatives budgétaires (19 000 $).

La diminution nette des autorisations totales disponibles s'explique par une série de diminutions et d'augmentations, la diminution la plus marquante étant l'arrêt du financement reçu en vertu du fonds de publicité du gouvernement (250 000 $) en 2012-2013, compensé par un transfert de trois ans (83 000 $) provenant du ministère de la Justice du Canada en en guise de collaboration au financement d'un projet de contribution.

Changements importants aux dépenses

Comparativement à l'exercice précédent, les dépenses nettes totales comptabilisées au premier trimestre ont diminué de 2,5 millions $ selon le tableau des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant. Cela représente une diminution d'environ 36 % des dépenses comptabilisées pour la même période en 2012-2013.

La différence s'explique surtout par une diminution de 61 % (soit environ 2,9 millions $) des dépenses liées à l'article courant Paiements de transfert, principalement attribuable au fait que le calendrier de paiement des projets change d'une année à l'autre. Cette diminution a été compensée par des dépenses additionnelles liées à divers articles courants ayant trait au déménagement de l'organisme en 2013.

3. Risques et incertitudes

CFC aborde les risques comme faisant partie intégrante de son processus de planification, reconnaissant ainsi le besoin d'une solide gestion des risques dans l'ensemble de son fonctionnement, ainsi qu'à l'échelle organisationnelle. La haute direction de CFC a régulièrement procédé au contrôle du profil de risque organisationnel, à l'examen des défis budgétaires, des pratiques de gestion et des stratégies d'atténuation des risques.

Dans le cadre du projet Bail-achat de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) à Gatineau, CFC prévoit déménager son administration centrale d'Ottawa à Gatineau en 2013. CFC travaille en étroite collaboration avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada ainsi qu'avec TPSGC pour déterminer les coûts et les sources de financement de ce déménagement.

Ce rapport financier trimestriel présente les résultats de l'exercice courant par rapport au Budget principal des dépenses et au Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A).

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les opérations, le personnel et les programmes n'ont pas connu de modifications importantes au cours de la dernière année.

5. Mise en œuvre du Budget 2012

Aucune réduction budgétaire ne découle du Budget 2012

Approuvé par :

 

Suzanne Clément
Coordonnatrice, Condition féminine Canada
Ottawa, Canada
Johanne Tremblay
Dirigeante principale des finances par intérim
 

Le 19 août 2013

Condition féminine Canada
État des autorisations (non vérifié)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2013

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2013-2014   Exercice 2012-2013
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre   Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2013* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Autorisations budgétaires totales 29 617  4 487 4 487   29 672 6 992 6 992
               
Crédit 30 - Dépenses de fonctionnement 9 339 2 355 2 355   9 496 1 966 1 966
Crédit 35 – Subventions et contributions 19 033 1 821 1 821   18 950 4 720 4 720
Autorisations législatives budgétaires              
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employées et employés 1 245 311 311   1 226 306 306

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Condition féminine Canada
Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2013

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2013-2014   Exercice 2012-2013
  Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre   Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 29 617 4 487 4 487   29 672 6 992 6 992
Dépenses
Personnel 8 398 2 388 2 388   8 190 2 062 2 062
Transports et communications 605 77 77   639 57 57
Information 131 18 18   382 8 8
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 069 106 106   1 055 62 62
Location 59 51 51   53 69 69
Services de réparation et d'entretien 66 5 5   89 7 7
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 66 3 3   83 5 5
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 188 18 18   227 2 2
Paiements de transfert 19 033 1 821 1 821   18 950 4 720 4 720
Autres subventions et paiements 2 - -   4 - -

Note : Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, les totaux ne correspondent pas nécessairement aux renseignements figurant dans d'autres documents publics.

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.