Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2016

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programming

1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. It should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. This report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Authority, Mandate and Program Activities

Status of Women Canada (SWC) is a federal government agency that promotes equality for women and their full participation in the economic, social and democratic life of Canada.

SWC works to advance equality for women and to remove barriers to women’s participation in society, putting particular emphasis on three priority areas:

  • Increasing women's and girls’ economic security and prosperity;
  • ending violence against women and girls and;
  • supporting the advancement and increased representation of women and girls in leadership and decision-making roles.

SWC is also responsible for providing strategic policy advice and gender-based analysis support, administering the Women’s Program and promoting commemorative events related to women and girls in Canada. The organization also plays an important role in Canada’s efforts to meet its international obligations on gender equality.

Further details on SWC’s mandate, raison d’être, responsibilities and program activities may be found in the organization’s 2016-17 Report on Plans and Priorities and 2016-17 Main Estimates.

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by SWC management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the agency’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the agency consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2015-16 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The agency uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net increase or decrease in resources available for the year and actual expenditures for the quarter ended June 30, 2015 in comparison to the prior year.

2.1 Significant changes to authorities

As reflected in the Statement of Authorities, SWC received for the first quarter additional budgetary authorities in this fiscal year compared to the previous year for the implementation of the Action Plan to Address Family Violence and Violent Crime Against Aboriginal Women and Girls initiatives.

2.2 Significant changes to expenditures

Overall, the proportion of SWC’s total budgetary expenditures as of June 30, 2015, is comparable to the expenditures as of June 30, 2014 with approximately 16 percent of the authorities available for use expended at the end of the first quarter.

Compared to the previous year, the expenditures at the quarter ending June 30, 2015, have decreased by $578 thousand (11%) from $5,312 thousand to $4,734 thousand (Figure 1).

This 11 percent decrease is primarily due to a decrease of $297 thousand in transfer payments that vary from year to year and a decrease of $264 thousand in other subsidies and payments due to a one-time transition payment for implementing salary payment in arrears by the Government of Canada.

The majority of the expenditures are for transfer payments and personnel expenditures, which represents 95 percent of the total gross amount spent as of June 30, 2015.

Figure 1 outlines the total authorities available for use and total expenditures for the second quarter.

Figure 1: (in thousands)
  2015-2016 2014-2015
Authorities Available 30,488 29,608
Expenditures 4,734 5,312

3. Risks and uncertainties

SWC approaches risk as an integral part of its planning process, recognizing the need for strong risk management in all of its operations, as well as at the corporate level. SWC’s corporate risk profile, review of budgetary challenges, management practices and risk mitigation strategies were all monitored on a regular basis by its senior management.

4. Significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in operations, personnel and programs over the last year.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by Senior Officials:

Approved by:

Meena Ballantyne, Deputy Head
Gatineau, Canada

August 12, 2015

Anik Lapointe
Chief Financial Officer


Status of Women Canada
Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
For the quarter ended June 30, 2015

(in thousand of dollars) Fiscal Year 2015-2016 Fiscal Year 2014-2015
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end   Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015Footnote * Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Operating expenditures 9,776 2,165 2,165   9,371 2,452 2,452
Vote 5 - Grants and Contributions 19,430 2,262 2,262   19,033 2,559 2,559
Statutory authorities
Employee Benefit Plan 1,282 307 307   1,204 301 301
Total Authorities - Budgetary 30,488 4,734 4,734   29,608 5,312 5,312

Status of Women Canada
Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
For the quarter ended September 30, 2016

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2015-2016 Fiscal year 2014-2015
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015Footnote* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 8,862 2,229 2,229 8,500 2,275 2,275
Transportation and communications 588 54 54 574 63 63
Information 123 13 13 125 8 8
Professional and special services 1,128 120 120 1,014 97 97
Rentals 55 42 42 56 39 39
Repair and maintenance 62 0 0 63 0 0
Utilities, materials and supplies 62 3 3 63 3 3
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 176 9 9 178 2 2
Transfer payments 19,430 2,262 2,262 19,033 2,559 2,559
Other subsidies and payments 1 2 2 2 266 266
Total gross Budgetary expenditures 30,488 4,734 4,734 29,608 5,312 5,312
Less Revenues netted against expenditures - - - - - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 30,488 4,734 4,734 29,608 5,312 5,312
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2015

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

1.1 Autorisations, mandat et activités de programme

Condition féminine Canada (CFC) est l’organisme fédéral chargé de promouvoir l’égalité pour les femmes et leur pleine participation à la vie économique, sociale et démocratique du Canada.

CFC travaille à faire progresser l’égalité pour les femmes et à éliminer les obstacles à leur participation à la société. Il concentre ses efforts dans trois axes d’intervention :

CFC a aussi pour responsabilité d’offrir des conseils stratégiques en matière de politiques, d’appuyer l’analyse comparative entre les sexes, d’administrer le Programme de promotion de la femme et de promouvoir la commémoration de dates présentant un intérêt particulier pour les femmes et les filles au Canada. L’organisme joue également un rôle important dans les efforts déployés par le Canada pour remplir ses obligations internationales en matière d’égalité des sexes.

On trouvera des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, la raison d’être, les responsabilités et les activités de programme de Condition féminine Canada dans son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et son Budget principal des dépenses pour 2015-2016.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction de CFC a préparé le présent rapport trimestriel en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement, de même que celles utilisées par l’organisme conformément au Budget principal des dépenses et aux budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l’exercice 2015-2016. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé au moyen d’un référentiel d’information financière à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le Parlement doit donner son autorisation avant que le gouvernement puisse engager des dépenses. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles approuvées par l’intermédiaire de lois de crédits ou par l’entremise de dispositions législatives sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

L’organisme utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, c’est encore la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses qui est utilisée pour les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement.

2. Points saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La présente section met en évidence les postes importants ayant contribué à l’augmentation ou à la diminution nette des ressources disponibles pour l’exercice et les dépenses réelles pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2015 par rapport à celles de l’exercice précédent.

2.1 Changements importants aux autorisations

>Comme l’indique l’état des autorisations, CFC a reçu pour le premier trimestre du présent exercice des autorisations budgétaires supplémentaires par rapport à celles de la période correspondante de l’exercice précédent pour la mise en œuvre des mesures du Plan d’action pour contrer la violence familiale et les crimes violents à l’endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones.

2.2 Changements importants aux dépenses

Dans l’ensemble, le total des dépenses budgétaires de CFC au 30 juin 2015 se compare à celui enregistré au 30 juin 2014 : environ 16 % des crédits disponibles avaient été dépensés à la fin du premier trimestre.

Au trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015, les dépenses avaient diminué de 578 000 $ (11 %) par rapport à la même période l’an dernier, étant passées de 5 312 000 $ à 4 734 000 $ (figure 1).

Cette diminution de 11 % découle surtout d’une diminution de 297 000 $ des paiements de transfert, laquelle est attribuable au fait que le calendrier de paiement des projets change d’une année à l’autre et d’une diminution de 264 000 $ relevée dans les autres subventions et paiements est attribuable au versement, par le gouvernement du Canada, d’un paiement de transition ponctuel dans le cadre du passage au régime de paye en arrérages.

La majorité des dépenses sont liées aux paiements de transfert et au personnel, qui représentaient 95 % des dépenses brutes totales au 30 juin 2015.

La Figure 1 présente les autorisations totales pouvant être utilisées, les dépenses totales pour le premier trimestre.

Figure 1 (en milliers de dollars)
  2015-2016 2014-2015
Autorisations totales disponibles 30 488 $ 29 608 $
Dépenses totales 4 734 $ 5 312 $

3. Risques et incertitudes

CFC aborde les risques comme faisant partie intégrante de son processus de planification, reconnaissant ainsi le besoin d’une solide gestion des risques dans l’ensemble de son fonctionnement, ainsi qu’à l’échelle organisationnelle. La haute direction de CFC a régulièrement procédé au contrôle du profil de risque organisationnel, à l’examen des défis budgétaires, des pratiques de gestion et des stratégies d’atténuation des risques.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les opérations, le personnel et les programmes n’ont pas connu de modifications importantes au cours de la dernière année.

Approuvé par :

Original signé

Meena Ballantyne, Administratrice générale
Gatineau, Canada
Le 12 août 2015

Anik Lapointe
Dirigeante principale des finances

Condition féminine Canada

état des autorisations (non vérifié)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2014-2015>
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre   Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 9 776 2 165 2 165   9 371 2 452 2 452
Crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions 19 430 2 262 2 262   19 033 3 559 2 559
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employées et employés 1 282 307 307   1 204 301 301
Autorisations budgétaires totales 30 488 4 734 4 734   29 608 5 312 5 312

Condition féminine Canada

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015

Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2014-2015
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page * Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé
le 30 juin 2015
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2015Note de bas de page *
Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 8 862 2 229 2 229 8 500 2 275 2 275
Transports et communications 588 54 54 574 63 63
Information 123 12 12 125 8 8
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 128 120 120 1 014 97 97
Location 55 42 42 56 39 39
Services de réparation et d'entretien 62 0 0   63 0 0
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 62 3 3 63 3 3
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 176 9 9 178 2 2
Paiements de transfert 19 430 2 262 2 262 19 033 2 559 2 559
Autres subventions et paiements 1 2 2 2 266 266
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 30 488 4 734 4 374 29 608 5 312 5 312
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses - - - - - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 30 488 4 734 4 374 29 608 5 312 5 312
Date de modification: