Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended September 30, 2017

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programming

1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the 'Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. It should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. This report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Authority, Mandate and Program Activities

Status of Women Canada (SWC) is a federal government agency that promotes equality for women and their full participation in the economic, social and democratic life of Canada.

SWC works to advance equality for women and to remove barriers to women's participation in society, putting particular emphasis on three priority areas:

  • Increasing women's and girls' economic security and prosperity;
  • ending violence against women and girls; and
  • supporting the advancement and increased representation of women and girls in leadership and decision-making roles.

SWC is also responsible for providing strategic policy advice and gender-based analysis support, administering the Women's Program and promoting commemorative events related to women and girls in Canada. The organization also plays an important role in Canada's efforts to meet its international obligations on gender equality.

Further details on SWC's mandate, raison d'être, responsibilities and program activities may be found in the organization's 2017-18 Departmental Plan and 2017-18 Main Estimates.

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by SWC management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the agency’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the agency consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2017-18 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before money can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The agency uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental results reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net increase or decrease in resources available for the year and actual expenditures for the quarter ended September 30, 2017 in comparison to the prior year.

2.1 Significant changes to authorities

As reflected in the Statement of Authorities, SWC received additional budgetary authorities ($6.3 million) in this fiscal year compared to the previous year to increase capacity at SWC as announced in Budget 2016. This represents an increase of 19% compared to the previous year.

2.2 Significant changes to expenditures

Overall there has been a slight increase (2%) in the budgetary expenditures for the quarter ending September 30, 2017 compared to the same quarter last fiscal year.

Compared to the previous year, the expenditures at the quarter ending September 30, 2017 have increased by $0.1 million, from $6.7 million to $6.8 million (Figure 1).

This 2% increase is primarily due to an increase of $0.5 million in personnel costs, a decrease of $0.5 million in Grants & Contributions, a decrease of $0.1 million in transportation costs, an increase in $0.1 million in professional services, with the remaining balance distributed to other operating expenditures.

Figure 1 outlines the total authorities available for use and total expenditures for the second quarter.

Figure 1: (in thousands)
Empty 2017-2018 2016-2017
Authorities Available $38,468 $32,205
Expenditures $6,830 $6,693
Year-to-date Expenditures $16,636 $11,628

3. Risks and uncertainties

SWC approaches risk as an integral part of its planning process, recognizing the need for strong risk management in all of its operations, as well as at the corporate level. SWC’s corporate risk profile, review of budgetary challenges, management practices and risk mitigation strategies were all monitored on a regular basis by its senior management.

4. Significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

The agency now has a dedicated Minister for Status of Women as a result of the 2015 federal election. This has a significant impact on internal services operations and personnel in order to provide support to the Minister’s office directly when in the past, these services were provided by another department.  Budget 2016 announced total investments of $23.3 million over five years, starting in 2016-17 to increase capacity at Status of Women Canada.  In fiscal year 2017-18 SWC received additional budget to undertake the following initiatives:

  • Increase research and evaluation function;
  • Expand regional presence;
  • Increase Gender Based Analysis function; and
  • Increase capacity at Status of Women Canada

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Gina Wilson, Deputy Minister
Gatineau, Canada
November 17, 2017
Anik Lapointe
Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2017-2018 Fiscal Year 2016-2017
Empty Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018 Footnote * Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end   Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017 Footnote * Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Operating expenditures 16,099 3,555 6,111   10,270 3,064 5,618
Vote 5 - Grants and Contributions 20,580 2,827 9,630   20,630 3,303 5,357
Statutory authorities
Employee Benefit Plan 1,787 447 894   1,305 326 653
Minister's Car Allowance 2 1 1   - - -
Total Budgetary authorities 38,468 6,830 16,636   32,205 6,693 11,628
Non-budgetary authorities - - -   - - -
Total authorities 38,468 6,830 16,636   32,205 6,693 11,628

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2017-2018 Fiscal year 2016-2017
Empty Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018 Footnote* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017 Footnote* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 13,562 3,248 5,810 9,242 2,703 5,182
Transportation and communications 957 147 249 611 217 318
Information 331 65 101 133 69 76
Professional and special services 2,154 412 600 1,181 294 444
Rentals 59 29 75 67 32 67
Repair and maintenance 499 1 1 70 0 0
Utilities, materials and supplies 127 25 28 71 11 17
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 197 68 134 199 64 167
Transfer payments 20,580 2,827 9,630 20,630 3,303 5,357
Other subsidies and payments 2 8 8 1 0 0
Total gross Budgetary expenditures 38,468 6,830 16,636 32,205 6,693 11,628
Less: Revenues netted against expenditures - - - - - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 38,468 6,830 16,636 32,205 6,693 11,628
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

1.1 Autorisations, mandat et activités de programme

Condition féminine Canada (CFC) est l'organisme fédéral chargé de promouvoir l'égalité des sexes et la pleine participation des femmes à la vie économique, sociale et démocratique du Canada.

CFC  travaille à faire progresser l'égalité pour les femmes et à éliminer les obstacles à leur participation à la société. Il concentre ses efforts dans trois axes d'intervention :

CFC a aussi pour responsabilité d'offrir des conseils stratégiques en matière de politiques, d'appuyer l'analyse comparative entre les sexes, d'administrer le Programme de promotion de la femme et de promouvoir la commémoration de dates présentant un intérêt particulier pour les femmes et les filles au Canada. L'organisme joue également un rôle important dans les efforts déployés par le Canada pour remplir ses obligations internationales en matière d'égalité des sexes.

On trouvera des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, la raison d'être, les responsabilités et les activités de programme de Condition féminine Canada dans son Plan ministériel et son Budget principal des dépenses pour 2017-2018.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction de CFC a préparé le présent rapport trimestriel en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement, de même que celles utilisées par l'organisme conformément au Budget principal des dépenses et aux budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice 2017-2018. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé au moyen d'un référentiel d'information financière à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le Parlement doit donner son autorisation avant que le gouvernement puisse engager des dépenses.  Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles approuvées par l'intermédiaire de lois de crédits ou par l'entremise de dispositions législatives sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

L'organisme utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, c'est encore la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses qui est utilisée pour les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement.

2. Points saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La présente section met en évidence les postes importants ayant contribué à l'augmentation ou à la diminution nette des ressources disponibles pour l'exercice et les dépenses réelles pour le trimestre qui s'est terminé le 30 septembre 2017 par rapport à celles de l'exercice précédent.

2.1 Changements importants aux autorisations

Comme l'indique l'état des autorisations, CFC a reçu pour le deuxième trimestre du présent exercice des autorisations budgétaires 19 % supérieures à celles de la période correspondante de l'exercice précédent.  Conformément aux engagements énoncés par le gouvernement dans le Budget 2016, CFC a reçu 6,3 millions de dollars supplémentaires pour accroître sa capacité.

2.2 Changements importants aux dépenses

Par rapport à l'exercice précédent, les dépenses pour le trimestre s'étant terminé le 30 septembre 2017 ont augmenté légèrement (2 %).

Comparativement à l'exercice précédent, les dépenses totales de CFC pour ce trimestre ce terminant le 30 septembre 2016 avaient augmenté de 0,1 million de dollars, passant de 6,7 millions de dollars à 6,8 millions de dollars (figure 1).

Cette augmentation de 2 % est attribuable principalement à une augmentation de 0,5 million de dollars  des frais de personnel, à une diminution de 0,5 million de dollars des subventions et contributions versées, à une baisse de 0,1 million de dollars des frais de déplacement et à une hausse de 0,1 million de dollars des dépenses en services professionnels, le reste du montant étant réparti entre d'autres dépenses d'exploitation.

La figure 1 présente les autorisations totales pouvant être utilisées, les dépenses totales pour le second trimestre.

Figure 1 (en milliers)
Vide 2017-2018 2016-2017
Autorisations totales disponibles 38 468 32 205
Dépenses totales 6 830 6 693
Dépenses cumulées 16 636 11 628

3. Risques et incertitudes

CFC aborde les risques comme faisant partie intégrante de son processus de planification, reconnaissant ainsi le besoin d'une solide gestion des risques dans l'ensemble de son fonctionnement, ainsi qu'à l'échelle organisationnelle. La haute direction de CFC a régulièrement procédé au contrôle du profil de risque organisationnel, à l'examen des défis budgétaires, des pratiques de gestion et des stratégies d'atténuation des risques.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

L'organisme a maintenant sa propre ministre de plein titre, nommée à la suite des élections fédérales de 2015. Ceci a des répercussions considérables sur son personnel et ses services internes, puisque ceux-ci doivent maintenant soutenir directement le bureau de la ministre alors que, par le passé, cette responsabilité revenait à un autre ministère. Dans le Budget 2016, le gouvernement a annoncé des investissements de 23,3 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, commençant en 2016-2017, afin de renforcer les capacités de Condition féminine Canada.  Au cours de l'exercice financier 2017-2018, CFC a reçu un budget supplémentaire pour entreprendre les initiatives suivantes :

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Gina Wilson, Sous-ministre
Gatineau, Canada
Le 17 novembre 2017
Anik Lapointe
Dirigeante principale des finances

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2017-2018 Exercice 2016-2017
Vide Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre   Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 16 099 3 555 6 111   10 270 3 064 5 618
Crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions 20 580 2 827 9 630   20 630 3 303 5 357
Autorisations législatives budgétaires :
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employées et employés 1 787 447 894   1 305 326 653
Traitement et allocation pour automobile de la ministre 2 1 1   - - -
Autorisations budgétaires totales 38 468 6 830 16 636   32 205 6 693 11 628
Autorisations non-budgétaires - - -   - - -
Autorisations totales 38 468 6 830 16 636   32 205 6 693 11 628

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2017-2018 Exercice 2016-2017
Vide Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 13 562 3 248 5 810 9 242 2 703 5 182
Transports et communications 957 147 249 611 217 318
Information 331 65 101 133 69 76
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 154 412 600 1 181 294 444
Location 59 29 75 67 32 67
Services de réparation et d'entretien 499 1 1 70 0 0
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 127 25 28 71 11 17
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 197 68 134 199 64 167
Paiements de transfert 20 580 2 827 9 630 20 630 3 033 5 357
Autres subventions et paiements 2 8 8   1 0 0
Autorisations budgétaires totales 38 468 6 830 16 636 32 205 6 693 11 628
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses - - - - - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 38 468 6 830 16 636 32 205 6 693 11 628
Date de modification: