Status of Women Canada - Report


Section II: Analysis of Programs by Strategic Outcome

Strategic Outcome 1: Equality between women and men is promoted and advanced in Canada

Program 1.1 – Leadership, Expertise and Advice

Description

Canada, in line with domestic and international instruments, has committed to advancing gender equality. SWC promotes public understanding about the status of women in Canada and encourages Canadians to engage in efforts to advance equality between women and men. Communications’ activities form a key aspect of this Program and commemorate important dates such as Women’s History Month and the Persons Day.

To further advance gender equality, the government requires federal organizations to take gender considerations into account in legislation, policies and programs. By providing information, tools, training and expert advice, SWC plays a lead role in building the capacity of federal organizations to use Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+). GBA+ informs decision-making and increases the likelihood that legislation, policies and programs meet the needs of diverse groups of women and men.

SWC also provides strategic policy analysis and advice and acts as a knowledge broker to support federal organizations and other stakeholders in advancing equality for women and girls. In addition, SWC explores gaps and emerging issues that continue to affect the status of women and girls in Canada.

This work is mainly done in collaboration with other federal organizations, provinces, territories and civil society.

For Program 1.1 (Leadership, Expertise and Advice), this table summarizes, in dollars, Status of Women Canada's main estimates for 2014-2015 and planned spending for the period 2014-2015 to 2016-2017.

 
Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
 
2014–15
Main Estimates
2014–15
Planned Spending
2015–16
Planned Spending
2016–17
Planned Spending
2,136,900 2,136,900 2,136,900 2,136,900
 

For Program 1.1 (Leadership, Expertise and Advice), this table summarizes, in full-time equivalents, Status of Women Canada's human resources for the period 2014-2015 to 2016-2017.

 
Human Resources (FTEs)
 
2014–15 2015–16 2016–17
17 17 17

For Program 1.1 (Leadership, Expertise and Advice), this table highlights the expected results, performance indicators, targets and date to achieve results.

 
Performance Measurement
 
Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets Date
to be
Achieved
Through SWC leadership, key stakeholders have access to advice and information to address issues relating to equality between women and men and boys and girls. (Key stakeholders include federal organizations, provinces, territories, civil society and the general public). Number of SWC-led interventions* that provide advice and information. 5 Annual
target,
starting
March 31,
2014
Through the provision of SWC expertise, federal government officials and key stakeholders have increased knowledge of Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+). (Key stakeholders include representatives from provinces, territories, civil society and the general public.) Percentage of respondents that indicate their knowledge of GBA+ has increased following GBA+ training/events. 70 per cent Annual
target,
starting
March 31,
2014
Canadian media reports on contribution made by SWC towards advancing equality for women and girls. Percentage of SWC-led initiatives that result in media reports 20 per cent Annual
target,
starting
March 31,
2014

* Interventions include activities that are often long-term and may require significant preparation, human and financial resources. Activities may include: disseminating knowledge, facilitating dialogue, leading action on SWC priorities and advice, collaboration and external relations to advance SWC and federal priorities. For example, leading Canada’s participation at the UN Commission on the Status of Women requires 6–8 months of preparation.

Planning Highlights

In 2014–2015, SWC will carry out the following activities to implement priorities identified in Section I of this report:

 
Addressing Violence against Women and Girls: In collaboration with key partners and stakeholders, SWC will address issues, including: sexual violence, cyberviolence and others. SWC will continue to work through its Federal-Provincial-Territorial (FPT) Forum and with other federal organizations to share evidence on the nature, extent and impacts of violence against women and girls.

 
Increasing Representation of Women in Leadership and Decision-Making Roles: SWC will continue to highlight the benefits of having more women in these roles and exchange, with key partners, knowledge and strategies to address barriers. The agency will support ministerial leadership on the issue of gender balance on corporate boards in Canada, fulfilling the Government’s Economic Action Plan 2012 commitment.

 
Promoting Economic Opportunities for Women: SWC will work with relevant partners to support women in entrepreneurship, skilled trades and technical professions. This includes exchanging knowledge and examining strategies and best practices to address barriers and improve awareness of the benefits of increased gender balance in entrepreneurship, skilled trades and technical professions.

 
Strengthening Implementation of Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+): SWC will support federal organizations to build GBA+ capacity among their staff and to apply it to their policies, programs and initiatives. SWC will expand partnerships to promote GBA+ in new federal organizations in the economic, science-based and security sectors. Focus will also be placed on updating and promoting GBA+ training tools, including the online training available on SWC’s website, as core to the competencies required to apply GBA+ across all sectors.

The agency will continue to support the Minister in fulfilling her role in intergovernmental and international affairs, including for the annual meeting of federal, provincial and territorial Ministers responsible for the Status of Women and as Head of the Canadian Delegation to the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women. The agency will also lead the preparation of Canada’s country reports relating to the National Reviews on the implementation of the Beijing Platform for Action and Canada’s 8th and 9th periodic reports on the Convention on the Elimination of all forms of Discrimination Against Women.
 

Program 1.2 – Advancing Equality for Women

Description

Through this Program, SWC supports action and innovation by investing in initiatives that work to bring about equality between women and men. The Program provides grant and contribution funding to Canadian organizations to support community-based action by carrying out projects that will lead to equality in communities across Canada. Funded projects occur at the national, regional and local levels and work to help create conditions for success for women in Canada.

Projects address the economic and social situation of women and their participation in democratic life. They are diverse in nature and scope and apply a variety of approaches and strategies to address the complexity of the issues affecting women. Specifically, the Program invests in projects that incorporate gender considerations, and increase and strengthen access to a range of opportunities, supports, information, resources and services, tools, etc. Projects work with stakeholders such as: women’s and community organizations, public institutions and the private sector.

The Program also facilitates collaboration, networking and partnerships to promote equality and the advancement of women in Canada. SWC facilitates networking; develops partnerships where needed to address horizontal issues impacting women and girls; shares knowledge; and assists organizations working to advance women’s equality to gain access to expertise, resources and tools.

For Program 1.2 (Advancing Equality for Women), this table summarizes, in dollars, Status of Women Canada's main estimates for 2014-2015 and planned spending for the period 2014-2015 to 2016-2017.

 
Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
 
2014–15
Main Estimates
2014–15
Planned Spending
2015–16
Planned Spending
2016–17
Planned Spending
24,267,723 24,267,723 24,180,390 24,180,390
 

For Program 1.2 (Advancing Equality for Women), this table summarizes, in full-time equivalents, Status of Women Canada's human resources for the period 2014-2015 to 2016-2017.

 
Human Resources (FTEs)
 
2014–15 2015–16 2016–17
36 36 36

For Program 1.2 (Advancing Equality for Women), this table highlights the expected results, performance indicators, targets and date to achieve results.

 
Performance Measurement
 
Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets Date
to be
Achieved
Women and communities have access to supports to address issues relating to equality between women and men. Percentage of projects that generate supports (e.g. resources, tools). 50 per cent Annual
target,
starting
March 31, 2014
Communities and stakeholders have access to opportunities to advance equality between women and men. Percentage of projects that facilitate opportunities (e.g., partnerships, networks, strategies) 50 per cent Annual
target,
starting
March 31, 2014

Planning Highlights

In 2014–2015, SWC will carry out the following activities to implement the priorities identified in Section I of this report.

 
Strategic Investments: SWC will continue to invest strategically, focusing on equality for women, in areas where there is a clear potential for making a difference in the lives of women and girls in Canada. SWC will continue to respond to government priorities by identifying, in collaboration with key stakeholders and taking into consideration the priorities of women, specific issues, both ongoing and emerging, to be addressed in the planning year.

Through targeted funding strategies, the agency will continue to support projects that find solutions to barriers women face, focusing on creating levers that enable the conditions for their success. Projects will:

  • promote economic development for women and girls and create sustainable opportunities for their economic security and prosperity;
  • seek to end violence against women and girls, including by giving special consideration to projects that target specific issues such as the root causes of violence; and
  • identify funding opportunities that support innovative or proven strategies in increasing the representation of women in leadership and decision-making roles.

 
Community Engagement and Collaboration: The agency will foster collaboration and identify funding opportunities that facilitate the networking of organizations with a shared goal. Targeted funding initiatives will allow SWC to build partnerships and engage communities and stakeholders who have an interest in advancing gender equality. Efforts will be made to explore opportunities with new audiences. SWC will also focus on developing and strengthening partnerships with its own networks and, where possible, work horizontally with federal departments and others. A collaborative approach will help ensure that issues impacting women are widely recognized and addressed, increasing ownership and the likelihood of sustainability of initiatives within communities across Canada.

 
Knowledge-Brokering: The Women’s Program at SWC will begin implementing its knowledge management and dissemination strategy to continue to leverage programming expertise in its three priority areas. The focus will be on strengthening the Women’s Program capacity to play the role of knowledge broker by identifying, promoting and creating opportunities for knowledge sharing, in particular facilitating access to expertise and networking needed by organizations and stakeholders to more effectively advance gender equality.
 

Program 1.3 – Internal Services

Description

Internal Services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and Oversight Services; Communications Services; Legal Services; Human Resources Management Services; Financial Management Services; Information Management Services; Information Technology Services; Real Property Services; Materiel Services; Acquisition Services; and Other Administrative Services. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not those provided specifically to a program.

For Program 1.3 (Internal Services), this table summarizes, in dollars, Status of Women Canada's main estimates for 2014-2015 and planned spending for the period 2014-2015 to 2016-2017.

 
Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
 
2014–15
Main Estimates
2014–15
Planned Spending
2015–16
Planned Spending
2016–17
Planned Spending
3,203,107 3,203,107 3,199,107 3,199,107
 

For Program 1.3 (Internal Services), this table summarizes, in full-time equivalents, Status of Women Canada's human resources for the period 2014-2015 to 2016-2017.

 
Human Resources (FTEs)
 
2014–15 2015–16 2016–17
43 43 43

Condition féminine Canada - Rapport

 
 
Section II : Analyse des programmes par résultat stratégique

Résultat stratégique 1 : Promotion et avancement de l'égalité entre femmes et hommes au Canada

Programme 1.1 — Impulsion, savoir-faire et conseils

Description

Le Canada s'est engagé, conformément à différents instruments nationaux et internationaux, à promouvoir l'égalité entre les sexes. CFC encourage une meilleure compréhension de la situation des femmes au Canada et invite la population canadienne à prendre part aux efforts pour faire progresser l'égalité entre les sexes. Ses activités de communication sont un élément clé de ce programme et commémorent des dates importantes pour les femmes, comme le Mois de l'histoire des femmes et la Journée de l'affaire « personne ».

Pour que les progrès vers l'égalité entre les sexes se poursuivent, le gouvernement exige que les institutions fédérales prennent le genre en considération dans leurs lois, politiques et programmes. CFC donne l'impulsion au développement de la capacité des institutions fédérales en matière d'ACS+ en leur offrant de l'information, des outils et de la formation et en les faisant profiter de son savoir-faire. L'ACS+ éclaire la prise de décisions et augmente la probabilité que les lois, les politiques et les programmes répondent aux besoins de populations de femmes et d'hommes d'horizons divers.

CFC fournit également des analyses et des conseils en matière de politiques stratégiques, jouant le rôle de courtier de savoir auprès des institutions fédérales et d'autres intervenantes ou intervenants afin de les soutenir dans la poursuite de l'égalité entre les sexes. Il surveille aussi l'évolution des enjeux qui influent sur la condition des femmes et des filles au Canada.

L'essentiel de ce travail est accompli en collaboration avec les institutions fédérales, les provinces, les territoires et la société civile.

 
Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
 
Budget principal des dépenses
2014–2015
Dépenses prévues
2014–2015
Dépenses prévues
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2016–2017
2 136 900 2 136 900 2 136 900 2 136 900
 
 
Ressources humaines (en ETP)
 
2014–2015 2015–2016 2016–2017
17 17 17

 
Mesure du rendement
 
Résultats attendus Indicateurs
de rendement
Cibles Date de
réalisation
Grâce au rôle d'impulsion joué par CFC, les principales parties intéressées disposent de conseils et renseignements pour s'attaquer aux enjeux liés à l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes ou entre les garçons et les filles. (Les principales parties comprennent des organismes fédéraux, les provinces, les territoires, la société civile et le grand public. Nombre d'interventions* menées par CFC qui permettent de fournir des conseils et de l'information. 5 Cible
annuelle,
à compter
du 31 mars
2014
Grâce au savoir-faire qu'apporte CFC, les responsables du gouvernement fédéral et les principales parties intéressées connaissent mieux l'ACS+. (Ces parties comprennent les représentantes et représentants des provinces, des territoires, de la société civile et du grand public. Pourcentage des répondantes et répondants qui disent que leur connaissance de l'ACS+ s'est améliorée grâce à la formation ou aux activités sur l'ACS+. 70 % Cible
annuelle,
à compter
du 31 mars
2014
Les reportages des médias canadiens font état des apports de CFC à l'avancement de l'égalité pour les femmes et les filles. Pourcentage des initiatives dirigées par CFC qui bénéficient d'une couverture médiatique 20 % Cible
annuelle,
à compter
du 31 mars
2014
* Les interventions comprennent des activités qui sont souvent de longue durée et qui peuvent exiger d'importants préparatifs, de même que des ressources humaines et financières considérables. Les activités peuvent inclure : la diffusion de connaissances, la facilitation du dialogue, la direction d'interventions pour concrétiser les priorités de CFC, la prestation de conseils, la collaboration et les relations externes pour faire avancer les priorités de CFC et du gouvernement fédéral. Par exemple, la prise en charge de la participation du Canada à la session de la Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies peut exiger de six à huit mois de préparatifs.

Faits saillants de la planification

En 2014–2015, CFC mènera les activités suivantes en vue de répondre aux priorités cernées dans la Section I du présent rapport.

 
Agir contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles : En collaboration avec des partenaires et des parties prenantes clés, CFC s'attaquera entre autres à des problèmes tels que la violence sexuelle et la cyberviolence. CFC continuera d'intervenir par l'entremise de son forum fédéral-provincial-territorial et de concert avec d'autres organismes fédéraux en vue de permettre une mise en commun des données relatives à la nature, à l'étendue et aux répercussions de la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles.

 
Accroître la représentation des femmes aux postes de responsabilité et de décision :CFC poursuivra ses efforts en vue de mettre en lumière les avantages d'une présence accrue des femmes aux postes de responsabilité et de décision, et il échangera avec ses principaux partenaires des connaissances et des stratégies pour aplanir les obstacles qui existent dans ce domaine. L'organisme appuiera les efforts déployés par la ministre afin d'atteindre la parité entre les femmes et les hommes au sein des conseils d'administration des sociétés au Canada, conformément à l'engagement pris par le gouvernement dans le Plan d'action économique 2012.

 
Promouvoir l'augmentation des débouchés économiques des femmes :CFC collaborera avec des partenaires intéressés pour offrir aux femmes du soutien dans les domaines de l'entrepreneuriat, des métiers spécialisés et des professions techniques. Il s'agira notamment d'échanger des connaissances et d'examiner les stratégies et les pratiques exemplaires susceptibles d'abolir les obstacles et d'accroître la sensibilisation aux avantages d'une plus grande parité entre les sexes dans les domaines de l'entrepreneuriat, des métiers spécialisés et des professions techniques.

 
Renforcer la mise en œuvre de l'ACS+ au sein de l'administration fédérale :CFC aidera les organismes fédéraux à renforcer les capacités de leur personnel en ACS+ et à appliquer celle-ci à leurs politiques, programmes et initiatives. Il recourra davantage au partenariat pour promouvoir l'ACS+ auprès de nouveaux organismes fédéraux dans les secteurs de l'économie, de la science et de la sécurité. CFC veillera aussi à mettre à jour et à promouvoir les outils de formation sur l'ACS+, y compris le cybercours offert sur son site Web, ceux-ci étant un maillon essentiel de l'acquisition des compétences nécessaires pour appliquer l'ACS+ dans tous les secteurs.

CFC continuera d'aider la ministre à exécuter son mandat en matière d'affaires intergouvernementales et internationales, entre autres en ce qui a trait à la réunion annuelle des ministres responsables de la condition féminine à l'échelon fédéral, provincial et territorial et à titre de chef de la délégation canadienne à la session annuelle de la Commission sur la condition de la femme des Nations Unies. L'organisme orchestrera aussi la préparation des rapports nationaux du Canada qui ont trait à la mise en œuvre du Programme d'action de Beijing, de même que la production des huitième et neuvième rapports périodiques du Canada concernant la mise en œuvre de la Convention des Nations Unies sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes.
 

Programme 1.2 — Avancement de l'égalité pour les femmes

Description

Dans le cadre de ce programme, CFC appuie l'action et l'innovation en investissant dans des projets qui conduisent vers l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Il s'agit d'un programme de subventions et de contributions pour les organismes canadiens qui mènent, à l'échelon communautaire, des projets contribuant au progrès de l'égalité dans les collectivités du Canada. Les projets financés sont de portée nationale, régionale ou locale et aident à créer des conditions propices à la réussite des Canadiennes.

Les projets sont axés sur l'amélioration de la situation économique et sociale des femmes et sur leur participation à la vie démocratique. De nature et de portée variées, ils emploient un éventail de méthodes et de stratégies pour répondre aux enjeux complexes qui touchent les femmes. Concrètement, le programme investit dans des projets qui intègrent des considérations liées au genre et qui augmentent ou améliorent l'accès à une gamme de possibilités, de services et de ressources (soutien, information, outils, etc.). Ces projets comptent sur la participation des parties intéressées, par exemple : des groupes de femmes, des organismes communautaires, des institutions publiques et le secteur privé.

Le programme facilite également la collaboration, le réseautage et les partenariats pour promouvoir l'égalité entre les sexes et l'avancement des femmes au Canada. CFC facilite le réseautage, crée au besoin des partenariats pour répondre aux questions transversales touchant les femmes et les filles, échange des connaissances et aide les organismes œuvrant au progrès de l'égalité des sexes à accéder aux connaissances, aux ressources et aux outils.

 
Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
 
Budget principal
des dépenses
2014–2015
Dépenses prévues
2014–2015
Dépenses prévues
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2016–2017
24 267 723 24 267 723 24 180 390 24 180 390
 
 
Ressources humaines (en ETP)2014–2015
 
2014–2015 2015–2016 2016–2017
36 36 36

 
Mesure du rendement
 
Résultats attendus Indicateurs
de rendement
Cibles Date de
réalisation
Les femmes et les collectivités peuvent obtenir de l'aide pour traiter des enjeux liés à l'égalité entre les sexes Pourcentage de projets qui créent des appuis (p. ex.  des ressources ou des outils) 50 % Cible
annuelle,
à compter
du 31 mars
2014
Les collectivités et les parties prenantes ont des occasions de faire progresser l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Pourcentage de projets qui créent des possibilités (p. ex.  des partenariats, des réseaux ou des stratégies) 50 % Cible
annuelle,
à compter
du 31 mars
2014

Faits saillants de la planification

En 2014–2015, CFC mènera les activités suivantes en vue de répondre aux priorités cernées dans la Section I du présent rapport.

 
Investissements stratégiques :CFC continuera d'investir de façon stratégique en se concentrant sur l'accès des femmes à l'égalité dans des domaines où il est manifestement possible d'améliorer la vie des femmes et des filles au Canada. Guidé par les priorités du gouvernement, il collaborera avec les principales parties prenantes et tiendra aussi compte des priorités des femmes pour préciser sur quels enjeux, nouveaux ou persistants, il se penchera au cours de l'année de planification.

Par des stratégies de financement ciblé, CFC continuera d'appuyer des projets qui visent à aplanir les obstacles auxquels se butent les femmes. Il privilégiera avant tout les mesures qui permettent la mise en place de conditions propices à la réussite des femmes, c'est-à-dire :

  • stimulent le développement économique pour les femmes et les filles et créent des possibilités durables de sécurité et de prospérité économiques;
  • cherchent à mettre un terme à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, notamment en s'attaquant à des enjeux précis, par exemple les causes profondes de cette violence;
  • offrent une occasion d'appuyer des stratégies novatrices ou éprouvées de nature à accroître la représentation des femmes aux postes de responsabilité et de décision.

 
Collaboration et mobilisation des collectivités : L'organisme favorisera la collaboration et repérera les occasions de financement qui facilitent le réseautage d'organismes aux buts similaires. Des initiatives de financement ciblé permettront à CFC de forger des partenariats et de mobiliser les collectivités et les parties prenantes qui ont à cœur de faire progresser l'égalité des sexes. On déploiera des efforts pour examiner les possibilités de rejoindre de nouvelles clientèles. CFC s'emploiera aussi à forger et à renforcer des partenariats à l'intérieur de ses propres réseaux et, si possible, à agir transversalement avec des ministères fédéraux et d'autres. La concertation l'aidera à faire en sorte que les enjeux ayant des incidences sur les femmes soient largement reconnus, ce qui amènera les collectivités à les prendre en charge et rehaussera les chances que les initiatives entraînent des changements durables d'un bout à l'autre du Canada.

 
Courtage du savoir : Le Programme de promotion de la femme de CFC amorcera la mise en œuvre de sa stratégie de gestion et de diffusion du savoir pour continuer de mettre à profit le savoir-faire acquis dans les trois domaines prioritaires. On cherchera avant tout à renforcer la capacité du Programme d'agir comme courtier du savoir, c'est-à-dire de repérer, créer et promouvoir les occasions et possibilités d'échange de connaissances, en particulier de faciliter l'accès à l'expertise et aux réseaux sur lesquels doivent pouvoir compter les organismes et les parties prenantes pour améliorer l'efficacité des efforts d'avancement de l'égalité entre les sexes.
 

Programme 1.3 — Services internes

Description

Les Services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de manière à satisfaire aux besoins des programmes et à remplir les obligations générales d'un organisme. Ces groupes sont les suivants : les services de gestion et de surveillance, les services de communication, les services juridiques, les services de gestion des ressources humaines, les services de gestion financière, les services de gestion de l'information, les services des technologies de l'information, les services de gestion des biens, les services de gestion du matériel, les services de gestion des acquisitions et, enfin, les autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble de l'organisme et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

 
Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
 
Budget principal
des dépenses
2014–2015
Dépenses prévues
2014–2015
Dépenses prévues
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2016–2017
3 203 107 3 203 107 3 199 107 3 199 107
 
 
Ressources humaines (en ETP)
 
2014–2015 2015–2016 2016–2017
43 43 43