Section II: Analysis of Programs by Strategic Outcome

Strategic Outcome: Equality between women and men is promoted and advanced in Canada

Program 1.1: Strategic Advice, Expertise and Promotion of Gender Equality

Description

This program undertakes communication activities to promote Agency initiatives and key commemorative dates (i.e. International Women’s Day, Women’s History Month, International Day of the Girl and the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women) to increase awareness/build knowledge about the status of women in Canada, as well as to engage Canadians in efforts to advance gender equality.

To further advance gender equality, the Government requires federal organizations to take gender considerations into account in legislation, policies and programs. The Program plays a lead role in building the capacity of federal organizations to use Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+) by providing information, tools, training, expert advice and access to networks. GBA+ informs decision-making and increases the likelihood that legislation, policies and programs meet the needs of diverse groups of women and men.

This Program acts as a knowledge broker, exploring gender gaps/issues, providing strategic analysis and advice and facilitating collaboration among key stakeholders, including federal organizations and others in order to influence decision-making and action.

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2016–17
Main Estimates
2016–17
Planned Spending
2017–18
Planned Spending
2018–19
Planned Spending
2,144,659 2,144,659 2,144,495 2,144,208
Human Resources (Full-Time Equivalents [FTEs])
2016–17 2017–18 2018–19
18 18 18
Performance Measurement
Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets Date to Be Achieved
Key stakeholders have access to advice and information to address issues relating to equality between women and men. (Key stakeholders include federal organizations, provinces, territories, civil society and the general public). Number of SWC-led interventions that provide advice and information to address issues relating to equality between women and men. (Interventions include activities that are often long-term and may require significant preparation, human and financial resources. Activities may include: disseminating knowledge, facilitating dialogue, leading action on SWC priorities, and advice, collaboration and external relations to advance SWC and federal priorities. For example, leading Canada’s participation at the UN Commission on the Status of Women requires 6-8 months of preparation.) 6 March 2017
Federal Government officials and key stakeholders have increased knowledge of Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+). Key stakeholders include federal organizations, provinces, territories, civil society and the general public. Percentage of respondents that indicate their knowledge of GBA+ has increased following GBA+ training/events. 80% March 2017
Celebration and commemoration events/activities aimed at advancing equality for women and girls are held in Canada. Number of SWC-led celebration and commemoration events/activities held in Canada. 10 March 2017

Planning Highlights

In 2016-17, SWC will undertake a number of key initiatives to implement the priorities presented in Section I of this report:

  • Preventing and Addressing Violence Against Women and Girls: SWC will lead the development of a federal strategy on gender-based violence, informed by SWC-led consultations with key stakeholders across Canada, including the FPT Status of Women Forum. SWC will also support partners to ensure that the needs of diverse women and girls are considered within the federal strategy and other efforts to prevent and address violence.
  • Preventing and Addressing Violence Against Indigenous Women and Girls: SWC will support Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and Justice Canada to design and implement a national inquiry into missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls. This will include supporting the pre-inquiry engagement process with Indigenous organizations, families and provincial and territorial governments to determine the scope and focus of the inquiry.
  • Strengthening Implementation of Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+): To implement this priority, SWC will work in collaboration with the Privy Council Office (PCO), Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) and other stakeholders, including federal departments and agencies. To respond to the recommendations of the Auditor General’s 2016 recommendations on GBA implementation, SWC will develop a GBA Strategic Plan for 2016–2020. It is anticipated that the plan will include the following elements:
    • SWC will work with PCO to ensure that GBA is applied to proposals presented for Cabinet decision;
    • SWC will collaborate with TBS in the development of GBA+ guidelines for the evaluation community;
    • SWC will continue to provide targeted GBA expertise and advice to federal organizations in the development of key initiatives;
    • SWC will enhance existing strategies, including tools, training and networking opportunities, so as to continue to build GBA capacity in a wide range of sectors across Government;
    • SWC will develop a more rigorous approach, including monitoring and reporting mechanisms, to track the implementation of GBA, with the aim of demonstrating the impact of this analysis on the lives of Canadians.
  • Increasing Representation of Women in Leadership Roles: SWC will support the increased representation of women across leadership and decision making roles, including boards of directors, Governor-in-Council appointments and elected office. This includes supporting Ministerial activities to promote the advancement of women in leadership, and collaboration with the Privy Council Office to advance gender parity in appointments.
  • Promoting Women’s Economic Security and Prosperity:SWC will focus on enhancing opportunities for women’s increased economic security, including through initiatives that will address barriers such as the gender wage gap, recruitment and retention of women in male-dominated sectors, and access to capital for women entrepreneurs.
  • Across all priorities, SWC will continue its international activities to further Canada’s domestic and foreign policy commitments and meet Canada’s international obligations for advancing gender equality (e.g., Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women) and participating in key international forums (e.g., UN Commission on the Status of Women).

Program 1.2: Advancing Equality for Women

Description

Through this Program, SWC supports action and innovation by investing in initiatives that work to bring about equality between women and men. The Program provides grant and contribution funding to Canadian organizations to support community-based action by carrying out projects that will lead to equality in communities across Canada. Funded projects occur at the national, regional and local levels and work to help create conditions for success for women in Canada.

Projects address the economic and social situation of women and their participation in democratic life. They are diverse in nature and scope and apply a variety of approaches and strategies to address the complexity of the issues affecting women. Specifically, the Program invests in projects that incorporate gender considerations, and increase and strengthen access to a range of opportunities, supports, information, resources, services and tools, etc. Projects involve diverse stakeholders, including women’s and community organizations, public institutions and the private sector.

The Program also facilitates collaboration, networking and partnerships to promote equality and the advancement of women in Canada. SWC facilitates networking; develops partnerships where needed to address horizontal issues impacting women and girls; shares knowledge; and assists organizations working to advance women’s equality to gain access to expertise, resources and tools.

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2016–17
Main Estimates
2016–17
Planned Spending
2017–18
Planned Spending
2018–19
Planned Spending
25,341,251 25,341,251 25,290,890 24,603,890
Human Resources (Full-Time Equivalents [FTEs])
2016–17 2017–18 2018–19
38 38 38
Performance Measurement
Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets Date to Be Achieved
Women and communities have access to supports to address issues relating to equality between women and men. Percentage of projects that generate supports (e.g. resources, tools). 80% March 2017
Communities and stakeholders have access to opportunities to advance equality between women and men Percentage of projects that facilitate opportunities (e.g. partnerships, networks, strategies 80% March 2017

Planning Highlights

In 2016–17, SWC will carry out the following activities to implement the priorities identified in Section I of this report.

Strategic Investments: SWC will continue to invest strategically, focusing on equality for women in areas where there is a clear potential for making a difference in the lives of women and girls in Canada. SWC will support Government priorities by working in collaboration with key stakeholders and taking into consideration the specific ongoing and emerging issues that impact women.

The Agency will continue to support projects that find solutions to systemic barriers women face, focusing on creating levers that enable the conditions for their success. Initiatives will generate progress in each of the three priority areas with an emphasis on leadership. Increasing and strengthening women’s leadership can bring about change and benefits to all SWC priority areas. Initiatives will:

  • seek to end violence against women and girls, including by giving special consideration to projects that target specific issues such as the root causes of violence;
  • identify funding opportunities that support innovative strategies to systematically increase the representation of women in leadership and decision-making roles; and
  • promote economic development / advancement for women and girls and create sustainable opportunities for their economic security and prosperity.

Engagement and Collaboration: The Agency will foster collaboration to help ensure a more coordinated and systematic approach to addressing social issues impacting women in Canada. SWC will identify funding opportunities that facilitate networking among organizations with a shared goal. Initiatives will allow SWC to build partnerships and engage communities and stakeholders working on a common goal to advance gender equality. SWC will also focus on developing and strengthening partnerships where possible, and will work horizontally with federal organizations, other levels of government and key stakeholders. A collaborative approach will help ensure that issues impacting women are widely recognized and addressed, increasing ownership and the likelihood of sustainability of initiatives within communities across Canada.

Knowledge-Brokering: SWC will continue to leverage programming expertise in its three priority areas. Specifically, it will continue to build knowledge of the longstanding and emerging issues impacting women. It will also create opportunities for dialogue and exchange by, for example, piloting an online platform allowing funding recipients and other stakeholders to exchange knowledge and expertise. The focus will be on strengthening SWC capacity to play the role of a knowledge broker by identifying, promoting and creating opportunities for knowledge sharing, in particular, facilitating access to expertise and networking needed by organizations and stakeholders to more effectively advance equality for women.

Internal Services

Description

Internal Services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization, and not those provided to a specific program. The groups of activities are Management and Oversight Services; Communications Services; Legal Services; Human Resources Management Services; Financial Management Services; Information Management Services; Information Technology Services; Real Property Services; Materiel Services; and Acquisition Services.

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2016–17
Main Estimates
2016–17
Planned Spending
2017–18
Planned Spending
2018–19
Planned Spending
4,250,414 4,250,414 4,250,089 4,249,507
Human Resources (FTEs)
2016–17 2017–18 2018–19
42 42 42
Date modified:

Section II : Analyse des programmes par résultat stratégique

Résultat stratégique : Promotion et avancement de l’égalité entre femmes et hommes au Canada

Programme 1.1 Conseils stratégiques, expertise et promotion de l’égalité entre les sexes

Description

Ce programme entreprend des activités de communication visant à faire la promotion des initiatives de l’organisme et de dates commémoratives clés (p. ex., la Journée internationale de la femme, le Mois de l’histoire des femmes, la Journée internationale des filles et la Journée nationale de commémoration et d’action contre la violence faite aux femmes) en vue de mieux faire connaître la situation des femmes au Canada et d’amener la population canadienne à participer aux efforts visant à faire progresser l’égalité entre les sexes.

Pour que les progrès vers l’égalité entre les sexes se poursuivent, le gouvernement exige que les institutions fédérales prennent le genre en considération dans leurs lois, politiques et programmes. Ce programme joue un rôle prépondérant dans le développement de la capacité des organisations fédérales en matière d’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) en leur offrant de l’information, des outils, de la formation, des conseils éclairés et un accès aux réseaux. L’ACS+ éclaire la prise de décisions et augmente la probabilité que les lois, les politiques et les programmes répondent aux besoins de populations de femmes et d’hommes d’horizons divers.

Ce programme joue le rôle de courtier du savoir en étudiant les lacunes et les enjeux en matière d’égalité entre les sexes, en fournissant une analyse stratégique et des conseils et en facilitant la collaboration entre les principales parties intéressées, y compris les organisations fédérales, en vue d’influencer la prise de décisions et de mesures.

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2016–2017
Dépenses prévues
2016–2017
Dépenses prévues
2017–2018
Dépenses prévues
2018–2019
2 144 659 2 144 659 2 144 495 2 144 208
Ressources humaines (équivalents temps plein [ETP])
2016–2017 2017–2018 2018–2019
18 18 18
Mesure du rendement
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cibles Date de réalisation
Les principales parties intéressées disposent de conseils et de renseignements pour s’attaquer aux enjeux liés à l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. (Les principales parties comprennent des organismes fédéraux, les provinces, les territoires, la société civile et le grand public.) Nombre d’interventions menées par CFC qui permettent de fournir des conseils et de l’information en vue de s’attaquer aux enjeux liés à l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Il s’agit souvent d’activités à long terme, pouvant demander beaucoup de préparation et d’importantes ressources humaines et financières. Les activités peuvent inclure : la diffusion de connaissances, la facilitation du dialogue, la direction d’interventions pour concrétiser les priorités de CFC, la prestation de conseils, la collaboration et les relations externes pour faire avancer les priorités de CFC et du gouvernement fédéral. (Par exemple, la prise en charge de la participation du Canada à la session de la Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies exige de six à huit mois de préparation.) 6 Mars 2017
Les responsables du gouvernement fédéral et les principales parties intéressées connaissent mieux l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+). (Les principales parties incluent des organismes fédéraux, les provinces, les territoires, la société civile et le grand public.) Pourcentage des répondantes et répondants qui disent que leur connaissance de l’ACS+ s’est améliorée grâce à la formation ou aux activités sur l’ACS+. 80 % Mars 2017
On tient au Canada des célébrations ou des activités de commémoration visant à promouvoir l’égalité pour les femmes et les filles. Nombre d’événements ou d’activités de célébration et de commémoration tenus par CFC au Canada. 10 Mars 2017

Faits saillants de la planification

En 2016–2017, CFC mènera un certain nombre d’initiatives clés afin de mettre en œuvre les priorités définies dans la Section I du présent rapport :

  • Prévenir et contrer la violence à l’endroit des femmes et des filles : CFC dirigera l’élaboration d’une stratégie fédérale contre la violence fondée sur le sexe après avoir consulté les principaux intervenants et intervenantes dans le dossier, dont le Forum fédéral-provincial-territorial des ministres responsables de la condition féminine. Pour que cette stratégie et les autres efforts déployés tiennent bien compte des besoins de femmes et de filles d’horizons divers, CFC apportera aussi son concours à des partenaires.
  • Prévenir et contrer la violence à l’endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones : CFC appuiera le ministère des Affaires autochtones et du Nord et le ministère de la Justice du Canada durant la conception et la réalisation de l’enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées. Cela comprendra les discussions préalables avec les organismes autochtones, les familles ainsi que les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux afin de délimiter la portée et les paramètres de l’enquête.
  • Renforcer la mise en œuvre de l’ACS+ au sein de l’administration fédérale : Pour mettre en œuvre cette priorité, CFC collaborera avec le Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP), le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) et d’autres parties, y compris d’autres ministères et organismes fédéraux. En réponse aux recommandations énoncées en 2016 par le vérificateur général sur la mise en œuvre de l’ACS, l’organisme formulera un plan stratégique quadriennal pour l’ACS (2016–2020). Ce plan devrait notamment inclure les tâches suivantes pour CFC :
    • Collaborer avec le BCP pour garantir l’application de l’ACS aux propositions soumises au Cabinet;
    • En collaboration avec le SCT, formuler des lignes directrices sur l’application de l’ACS+ à l’intention des évaluatrices et évaluateurs;
    • Continuer à fournir une expertise et des conseils ciblés en matière d’ACS à des organisations fédérales engagées dans la conception d’initiatives clés;
    • Améliorer les mécanismes existants (p. ex., les outils, la formation et les occasions de réseautage) pour développer la capacité d’ACS dans une vaste gamme de secteurs de l’appareil gouvernemental;
    • Formuler une approche plus rigoureuse et y assortir des mécanismes de surveillance et de reddition de comptes pour bien suivre la mise en œuvre de l’ACS et démontrer ses retombées sur les Canadiennes et Canadiens.
  • Augmenter la représentation des femmes aux postes de pouvoir : CFC contribuera à augmenter la représentation des femmes dans tous les postes de responsabilité et de décision, y compris aux postes pourvus par décret, aux postes électifs et au sein des conseils d’administration. Par exemple, il soutiendra les activités de la ministre visant à promouvoir l’accès des femmes au pouvoir et collaborera avec le BCP au progrès de la parité dans les nominations.
  • Promouvoir la prospérité et la sécurité économiques des femmes : CFC tâchera de favoriser la création d’occasions propices au renforcement de la sécurité économique des femmes par des initiatives ciblées, qui s’attaquent à des enjeux tels que l’écart salarial entre les sexes, le recrutement et la rétention de travailleuses dans des secteurs d’emploi majoritairement masculins, et l’accès des entrepreneures au capital.
  • Parallèlement à ces priorités, CFC poursuivra ses activités internationales suivant les engagements qui ressortent à la politique nationale et étrangère du Canada, de même qu’à ses obligations internationales d’avancement de l’égalité entre les sexes (p. ex., celles établies par la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes), et participera à des forums internationaux qui revêtent une importance particulière (p. ex., la Commission de la condition de la femme de l’ONU).

Programme 1.2 : Avancement de l’égalité pour les femmes

Description

Dans le cadre de ce programme, CFC appuie l’action et l’innovation en investissant dans des projets qui conduisent vers l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Il s’agit d’un programme de subventions et contributions pour les organismes canadiens qui mènent à l’échelon communautaire des projets contribuant au progrès de l’égalité dans les collectivités du Canada. Les projets financés sont de portée nationale, régionale ou locale et aident à créer des conditions propices à la réussite des Canadiennes.

Les projets sont axés sur l’amélioration de la situation économique et sociale des femmes et leur participation à la vie démocratique. De nature et portée variées, ils emploient un éventail de méthodes et de stratégies pour répondre aux enjeux complexes qui touchent les femmes. Concrètement, le programme investit dans des projets qui intègrent des considérations liées au genre et qui augmentent ou améliorent l’accès à une gamme de possibilités, de services et de ressources (soutien, information, outils, etc.). Ces projets comptent sur la participation des parties intéressées, comme des groupes de femmes, des organismes communautaires, des institutions publiques et le secteur privé.

Le programme facilite également la collaboration, le réseautage et les partenariats pour promouvoir l’égalité entre les sexes et l’avancement des femmes au Canada. CFC facilite le réseautage, crée au besoin des partenariats pour répondre aux questions transversales touchant les femmes et les filles, échange des connaissances et aide les organismes œuvrant au progrès de l’égalité des sexes à accéder aux connaissances, aux ressources et aux outils.

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2016–2017
Dépenses prévues
2016–2017
Dépenses prévues
2017–2018
Dépenses prévues
2018–2019
25 341 251 25 341 251 25 290 890 24 603 890
Ressources humaines (équivalents temps plein [ETP])
2016–2017 2017–2018 2018–2019
38 38 38
Mesure du rendement
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cibles Date de réalisation
Les femmes et les collectivités peuvent obtenir de l’aide pour traiter des enjeux liés à l’égalité entre les sexes. Pourcentage de projets qui créent des aides (p. ex., des ressources ou des outils). 80 % Mars 2017
Les collectivités et les parties prenantes ont des occasions de faire progresser l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Pourcentage de projets qui créent des possibilités (p. ex., des partenariats, des réseaux ou des stratégies) 80 % Mars 2017

Faits saillants de la planification

En 2016–2017, CFC mènera les activités suivantes en vue de répondre aux priorités cernées dans la Section I du présent rapport.

Investissements stratégiques : CFC continuera d’investir de façon stratégique en se concentrant sur l’accès des femmes à l’égalité dans des domaines où il est manifestement possible d’améliorer la vie des femmes et des filles au Canada. CFC appuiera les priorités gouvernementales en collaborant avec les principales parties prenantes et en tenant compte des enjeux actuels et émergents qui ont des répercussions sur les femmes.

CFC continuera d’appuyer des projets qui visent à éliminer les obstacles systémiques auxquels se butent les femmes. Il privilégiera avant tout les mesures qui permettent la mise en place de conditions propices à leur réussite. Ses initiatives entraîneront des progrès dans les trois domaines prioritaires, et plus particulièrement celui de l’accès au pouvoir. Car, si on parvient à élargir et renforcer l’influence des femmes, il en découlera des changements qui contribueront au progrès dans tous les autres domaines prioritaires de CFC. Les initiatives viseront plus particulièrement à :

  • mettre un terme à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, par exemple en s’attaquant aux causes profondes de cette violence ou à d’autres aspects précis;
  • appuyer financièrement des stratégies novatrices ayant pour objet d’augmenter de façon systématique la représentation des femmes aux postes de responsabilité et de décision;
  • promouvoir l’avancement économique des Canadiennes et créer des débouchés durables, de nature à favoriser leur prospérité et leur sécurité économiques.

Mobilisation et collaboration : Afin d’améliorer la concertation et de favoriser une intervention plus systématique, CFC mettra l’accent sur la collaboration à l’égard des enjeux sociaux qui touchent les femmes. L’organisme repérera les possibilités de financement qui pourraient promouvoir le réseautage parmi les organismes visant un même but. Les initiatives mises en œuvre permettront à CFC d’établir des partenariats et de mobiliser les collectivités et les parties prenantes qui ont pour objectif commun l’avancement de l’égalité entre les sexes. Dans la mesure du possible, CFC tâchera aussi de créer des partenariats ou de renforcer ceux qui existent déjà, et il travaillera de manière transversale avec les principales parties intéressées, y compris d’autres organisations fédérales et d’autres paliers de gouvernement. La concertation l’aidera à faire en sorte que les enjeux ayant des incidences sur les femmes soient largement reconnus, ce qui amènera les collectivités à les prendre en charge et rehaussera les chances que les initiatives entraînent des changements durables d’un bout à l’autre du Canada.

Courtage du savoir : Dans chacun de ses trois domaines prioritaires, CFC continuera de mettre à profit le savoir-faire acquis par ses programmes. Par exemple, il continuera d’enrichir le savoir sur les enjeux émergents ou de longue date qui ont des répercussions sur les femmes. CFC créera des occasions d’échange et de dialogue, par exemple en faisant l’essai d’une plateforme numérique d’échange de connaissances et de savoir-faire pour les bénéficiaires de financement et d’autres intervenants. On cherchera avant tout à renforcer la capacité de CFC d’agir comme courtier du savoir, c’est-à-dire de repérer, créer et promouvoir les occasions et possibilités d’échange de connaissances, en particulier de faciliter l’accès à l’expertise et aux réseaux sur lesquels doivent pouvoir compter les organismes et les parties prenantes pour améliorer l’efficacité des efforts d’avancement de l’égalité entre les sexes.

Services internes

Description

Les services internes sont des groupes d’activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d’une organisation. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l’ensemble d’une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier. Les groupes d’activité sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l’information, services des technologies de l’information, services de gestion des biens immobiliers, services de gestion du matériel et services de gestion des acquisitions.

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2016–2017
Dépenses prévues
2016–2017
Dépenses prévues
2017–2018
Dépenses prévues
2018–2019
4 250 414 4 250 414 4 250 089 4 249 507
Ressources humaines (ETP)
2016–2017 2017–2018 2018–2019
42 42 42
Date de modification :