Planning and Reporting

Evaluation of the Women's Program

Volume I - Final Report



1.0 Introduction

The Women's Program (WP) is a grants and contributions program that was founded in 1973 in response to a recommendation of the Royal Commission on the Status of Women. Originally administered by the former Department of the Secretary of State, the WP has been housed within Status of Women Canada (SWC) since 1995. Its mandate is "to support action by women's organizations and other partners seeking to advance equality for women by addressing women's economic, social, political and legal situation,"thus contributing to SWC's overall goal of promoting gender equality and the full participation of women in the economic, social, cultural, and political life of Canada.

The WP provides both funding and technical assistance to women's groups and other equality-seeking organizations. Its annual grant and contribution budget is approximately $11 million, which included, from 2000 to 2005, approximately $2 million annually from the federal government's Agenda for Gender Equality (AGE).

1.1 Purpose of the evaluation

In order to fulfil Treasury Board Secretariat reporting requirements for federal grants and contributions programs, SWC engaged PRA Inc. to conduct a summative evaluation of the WP. Its purpose is to examine the design and delivery, impact, cost-effectiveness/alternatives, and relevance of the WP. As this evaluation is being undertaken in the context of a federal government-wide Expenditure Review exercise, it is also designed to address questions of public accountability and alignment with the priorities of Canadians. This report presents the evaluation findings, offers conclusions, and provides recommendations.

1.2 Outline of the report

This report is divided into several sections. Section 2.0 briefly describes the origins of the WP and provides a program profile. Section 3.0 describes the methodology used to carry out the evaluation, while Section 4.0 presents the evaluation findings. Section 5.0 concludes and provides recommendations.

Four appendices follow the main body of the report. Appendix A presents an organizational chart, Appendix B a detailed logic model. Appendix C contains the evaluation framework, and Appendix D the data collection instruments. Interim reports summarizing the results of individual data collection activities are bound separately in Volume II.

Planification et rapports

Évaluation du Programme de promotion de la femme



Évaluation du Programme de promotion de la femme

Volume I - Rapport final

1.0 Introduction

Le Programme de promotion de la femme (PPF) est un programme de subventions et de contributions qui a été créé en 1973 en réponse à une recommandation de la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme. D'abord administré par l'ancien ministère du Secrétariat d'État, le PPF fait partie de Condition féminine Canada (CFC) depuis 1995. Il a pour mandat d'« appuyer les interventions faites par des groupes de femmes et d'autres partenaires qui militent en faveur de l'égalité des femmes, en se penchant sur la situation économique, sociale, politique et juridique des femmes ». Il contribue ainsi à l'atteinte de l'objectif général de CFC, qui est de promouvoir l'égalité entre les sexes et d'assurer la pleine participation des femmes à la vie économique, sociale, culturelle et politique du Canada.

Le PPF fournit une aide financière et technique aux groupes de femmes et à d'autres organisations qui oeuvrent pour l'égalité des femmes. Son budget annuel pour les subventions et les contributions est d'environ onze millions de dollars, ce qui, de 2000 à 2005, comprenait environ deux millions par année au titre du Programme d'action pour l'égalité entre les sexes (PAES) du gouvernement fédéral.

1.1 But de l'évaluation

Afin de satisfaire aux exigences du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor relatives à l'établissement de rapports par les programmes fédéraux de subventions et de contributions, CFC a retenu les services de PRA Inc. pour l'évaluation sommative de la conception et de la prestation, de l'incidence, de la rentabilité et de la pertinence du PPF ainsi que des solutions de rechange à ce dernier. Cette évaluation étant mise en oeuvre dans le contexte de l'examen des dépenses effectué à l'échelle du gouvernement fédéral, elle vise également à aborder les questions liées à la responsabilité envers le public et à l'harmonisation avec les priorités des Canadiennes et des Canadiens. Le rapport présente les constatations de l'évaluation et formule des conclusions ainsi que des recommandations.

1.2 Aperçu du rapport

Le rapport est divisé en plusieurs sections. La section 2.0 présente les origines du PPF ainsi que son profil, la méthodologie d'évaluation est décrite à la section 3.0, tandis que l'on trouve les constatations de l'évaluation à la section 4.0. La section 5.0 comprend une conclusion et des recommandations.

Le corps principal du rapport est suivi de quatre annexes. L'annexe A présente un organigramme; l'annexe B, un modèle logique détaillé; l'annexe C contient le cadre d'évaluation et l'annexe D, les instruments de collecte de données. Des rapports provisoires résumant les résultats distincts des activités de collecte de données sont présentés séparément dans le Volume II.