Planning and Reporting

Evaluation of the Women's Program

Volume I - Final Report



2.0 Program profile

This section of the report provides a detailed profile of the WP, including its mandate and objectives, components, and performance measurement strategy.

2.1 Overview

In its 1970 report, the Royal Commission on the Status of Women acknowledged the special role played by voluntary organizations providing services in their communities. Noting that some federal departments were providing funding to associations, the Commission called on the government to increase financial support to women's associations engaged in projects of public interest, and voluntary associations working in fields of particular concern to women. In response, the WP was created in 1973 within the Department of the Secretary of State.

In 1976, the Government of Canada established SWC as the federal agency "to coordinate policy in respect to the Status of Women and administer related programs."1 SWC's overall goal is to promote gender equality and the full participation of women in the economic, social, cultural, and political life of the country. The organization's current areas of focus are to improve women's economic autonomy and well-being; to eliminate systemic violence against women and children; and to advance women's human rights. Under the responsibility of the Minister for Status of Women, SWC is headed by the Coordinator for the Status of Women and is comprised of seven directorates, including the WP.

The WP was transferred to SWC in 1995 with the intention of providing for "a single access point for Canadians to programs promoting women's equality."2 The WP is currently the largest of SWC's directorates. The WP has a decentralized structure and is delivered via a national office and five regional offices: Atlantic, Quebec/Nunavut, Ontario, Prairies/Northwest Territories, British Columbia/Yukon, and National. There are currently 16 points of service across the country. Refer to Appendix A for the organizational chart of the WP.

2.2 Mandate and objectives

The mandate of the WP is "to support action by women's organizations and other partners seeking to advance equality for women by addressing women's economic, social, political and legal situation." The Program is further framed by the objectives, guiding principles, and areas of focus enumerated in Table 1.

Table 1: Objectives, guiding principles, and areas of focus of the Women's Program

Objectives
  1. To promote policies and programs within key institutions which take account of gender implications, the diversity of women's perspectives and enable women to take part in decision-making processes.

  2. To facilitate the involvement of women's organizations in the public policy process.

  3. To increase public understanding in order to encourage action on women's equality issues.

  4. To enhance the effectiveness of actions undertaken by women's organizations to improve the situation of women.
Guiding principles
  1. To involve those most directly affected by the problems in identifying solutions.

  2. To recognize the interconnectedness of women's equality issues.

  3. To acknowledge the diversity of women and their experiences.

  4. To understand the systemic nature of women's inequality.
Areas of focus
  1. Eliminating systemic violence against women and the girl-child

  2. Improving women's economic status

  3. Achieving social justice
Social change approach

The WP funds initiatives that promote social change through citizen participation. The Program supports collective efforts toward women's equality through a strategic approach to social development that is guided by the values of the WP and emphasizes the following elements:

  • The Program maintains an ongoing dialogue with groups which is open, respectful, informed, sustained, and welcomes a range of viewpoints.

  • Those women most affected by the issues are central to defining the problem and the need for change, and developing the solutions.

  • The social change landscape is dynamic, with players, effective strategies and issues in continual change. Individual women's groups need information and support to connect with others when developing strategies that will have an impact in that changing environment. The Program can assist, facilitate and accompany the group, as appropriate, in this process of reflection and analysis.

  • With women's organizations, the WP plays a role in recognizing issues and opportunities for collective action. Through a process of dialogue, exploration and the contribution of expertise from the groups and from the WP, it is possible to identify the issues, strategies and outcomes where they can work together.

  • The Program has a range of resources it can make available to groups, including ideas and suggestions, tools and materials, connections to other groups, connections to other funders, and funding. Not all of these resources will be appropriate for every group the Program works with.

  • It is important to support a wide range of groups and strategies working for change. Not all strategies or groups supported will reach their original objective as the process of change is not necessarily sequential and linear.

  • The Program encourages and supports connection and collaboration among groups who are working for change, learning within and among groups, and making adjustments to strategies as needed to make progress towards outcomes.

  • The Program works with existing women's groups to support them to adopt increasingly effective strategies, with new or emerging women's organizations seeking change, and with organizations which the Program may not have historically funded but which offer effective avenues for policy and institutional change for women's equality.

  • The Program invests in exploratory, developmental or experimental approaches, in order to help identify effective new strategies.
Women's Program Management Decision, December 16, 2004
Status of Women Canada
2.3 Program components

The WP consists of two components: technical assistance and financial assistance.

2.3.1 Technical assistance

Through the technical assistance component, the WP provides various forms of non-financial assistance to women's groups and other equality-seeking organizations. Examples include assistance with developing proposals for WP funding, developing action strategies, resolving operational concerns, and reporting on the status of funded initiatives, as well as referrals to other sources of funding and opportunities to network and partner with other organizations. Other forms of technical assistance are also available to governmental and non-funded non-governmental organizations, such as sharing information about key women's groups and other equality-seeking organizations working on similar issues.

2.3.2 Financial assistance

The WP also provides financial assistance in the form of grants and contributions. Prior to 1998, financial assistance was available in two forms: program (or core) funding and project funding. In 1996, the WP held consultations with women's groups and other equality-seeking organizations. During these consultations, these organizations emphasized the importance of WP funding for their efforts to advance women's equality and recommended, among other things, the continuation of program funding and an increase in the Program's overall budget.3 However, following these consultations, the WP implemented several changes to its funding mechanisms in 1998.

  • Initiative funding replaced project and program funding - Initiative funding was intended to make the WP more equitable, flexible, and accountable. It supports "change-oriented strategies addressing one or more of the Women's Program objectives and areas of focus, which occur within a specified time period and which have clearly articulated plans to achieve results."4

  • Funding for initiatives up to 18 months in duration was made available - Prior to 1998, project funding had been available for up to 12 months only.

  • Multi-year funding was made available - Multi-year funding supports initiatives focusing on institutional or public policy change that are up to three years in duration. Prior to 1998, multi-year funding was not available.

Also in 1998, the WP made the guidelines for assessing applications available to potential applicants.

Women's groups and other non-profit voluntary organizations committed to equality for women in Canadian society are eligible for funding from the WP, provided that they demonstrate that:

  • Their principles, objectives, and activities support the attainment of women's equality as defined in the United Nations Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (UNCEDAW), the Beijing Plan of Action, the AGE, and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

  • They operate democratically or on an otherwise participatory basis.

  • The results of the funded initiative will be accessible to other organizations and the public.

  • The initiative falls within the mandate of the WP and addresses one or more of its objectives and areas of focus.

  • The initiative involves women who are affected in all aspects.

  • They have identified other sources of financial or in-kind support.5

However, only women's groups can be funded under objectives #2 and #4 (see Table 1).

Organizations seeking multi-year funding must also demonstrate their experience and capacity related to planning and implementing long-term initiatives, and address the institutional or policy change objectives of the WP.

The WP does not fund initiatives that provide direct social or health services; are emotional, spiritual, personal or professional development; or have already taken place or are taking place outside of Canada. Funding cannot exceed $2 million per grant or contribution and does not cover the total costs of a given initiative. Eligible costs include salaries, professional fees, facilities, supplies, travel within Canada and publicity, and exclude capital expenditures, expenses incurred before the funding decision is made, and travel or other expenses incurred outside of Canada.6

Program Officers distribute a variety of "tip sheets" and provide information sessions for organizations regarding the application process, the design of outcome-based initiatives, and the development of a budget.7 Officers can assist directly in the preparation of applications and proposals, for example, by assisting organizations to focus their initiatives and to identify objectives and expected outcomes. Once an application is deemed complete, the approval process is usually completed within 12 weeks. A portion of the funds is paid at the time of the approval, while the remainder is linked to deliverables over the course of the initiative, including but not limited to the interim and final reports.

2.4 Funding

With approximately $14 million in annual spending and 50 FTEs,8 the WP represents roughly 58% of SWC's spending and 38% of its staff (full-time equivalent basis).9 In 2003-2004, the WP funded 159 initiatives, spending roughly $11 million on grants and contributions,10 $2.8 million on salaries and $562,000 on overhead and management costs.11 The amount of individual grants varied widely, from $1,600 to $339,049. Total grant and contribution funding for the WP fluctuated from $10.2 million in 2001-2002 (funded 175 initiatives), increasing to $12.2 million in 2002-2003 (funded 178 initiatives) and falling back to $11 million in 2003-2004 - the last year for which detailed information is available. The grant and contribution budget is allocated to regions and the national office, which then make funding recommendations based on their strategic plan and public assessment guidelines. All funding recommendations must be approved by the Minister for the Status of Women.

2.5 AGE funding

In 2000, the Government of Canada implemented the five-year Agenda for Gender Equality (AGE) initiative, whose objectives are to accelerate the implementation of gender-based analysis in public policy decision-making; to engage Canadians in the policy process; to meet Canada's international and treaty obligations and sustain Canada's status as a global leader on gender equality issues; and to enhance voluntary sector participation in support of achieving gender equality.12 The WP has received approximately $10 million in AGE funds over five years beginning in 2000-2001 (roughly half of the total $20.5 million for this initiative).13 The Program has used those funds to support community-based initiatives at the local, regional, and national levels for two primary purposes: to support new and emerging issues, and to support new organizations. Currently, some $2.5 million per year in AGE funds flow to the WP.14 The AGE administrative data were summarized in a separate report on the AGE component of the WP, along with case studies of two AGE-funded initiatives (see Volume II).

2.6 Performance measurement

In April 2003, the WP implemented a new outcome-based approach with an emphasis on highlighting the results achieved by each initiative funded. An important element of the new approach was a full accountability framework, including a logic model detailing the WP's objectives, outcomes, and performance indicators. The WP logic model appears in Appendix B.
Other elements of the new outcome-based approach include a Risk-based Audit Framework, the Women's Program Procedures Manual, a performance measurement strategy, and a new suite of instruments: a new Application Form and Guide to the Application Form, as well as Interim Report, Final Report and Close-Out Assessment forms (prior to the introduction of these standard forms, different forms were in use in various regions across the country). The new instruments are intended to form the basis for developing outcome-based initiatives, for ongoing performance monitoring and for reporting on results.


1 Status of Women Canada 2004-05 Estimates: A report on plans and priorities, p.5, Status of Women Canada.

2 Women's Program: Accountability Framework, p.1, Status of Women Canada.

3 Report on consultations held March-May 1996 and follow-up action plan, November 1996, Status of Women Canada.

4 Women's Program: Accountability Framework, p.2.

5 Women's Program Funding Guidelines, p. 8, Status of Women Canada. http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/funding/wpguide_e.html (last updated in 2003).

6 Terms and Conditions - Women's Program, pp.2-3, Status of Women Canada.

7 Women's Program Toolkit, November 2003, Catalyst Research and Communications.

8 Departmental Performance Report 2003-04: Status of Women Canada, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, pp.28-29. Administrative data from Status of Women Canada (P. McInnis, June 6, 2005).

9 Status of Women Canada 2004-05 Estimates: A report on plans and priorities, pp.24, 26-27.

10 Women's Program: Accountability Framework, p.3.

11 Administrative data provided by Status of Women Canada (P. McInnis, June 6, 2005).

12 Evaluation Framework: Agenda for Gender Equality, pp. 1-3, November 2004, Status of Women Canada.

13 Status of Women Canada 2004-05 Estimates: A report on plans and priorities, p.27.

14 Ibid.

Planification et rapports

Évaluation du Programme de promotion de la femme



Évaluation du Programme de promotion de la femme

Volume I - Rapport final

2.0 Profil du Programme

Cette section présente un profil détaillé du Programme de promotion de la femme (PPF), y compris son mandat et ses objectifs, ses éléments et sa stratégie pour la mesure du rendement.

2.1 Aperçu

Dans son rapport de 1970, la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme reconnaissait le rôle spécial joué par les organismes bénévoles qui fournissent des services aux collectivités. Remarquant que certains ministères fédéraux finançaient des associations, la Commission a demandé au gouvernement d'augmenter l'aide financière accordée aux groupes de femmes qui avaient mis sur pied des projets d'intérêt public et les associations bénévoles qui oeuvraient dans des domaines présentant un intérêt particulier pour les femmes. C'est en réponse à la demande de la Commission que le PPF a été créé en 1973 au sein du ministère du Secrétariat d'État.

Trois ans plus tard, le gouvernement du Canada établissait Condition féminine Canada (CFC) en tant qu'organisme fédéral chargé de « coordonner les politiques relatives à la situation de la femme et de gérer les programmes qui s'y rapportent1 ». L'objectif général de CFC est de promouvoir l'égalité entre les sexes et d'assurer la pleine participation des femmes à la vie économique, sociale, culturelle et politique du pays. L'organisme vise actuellement l'amélioration du bien-être et de l'autonomie économique des femmes, l'élimination de la violence systémique à l'endroit des femmes et des enfants et la promotion des droits fondamentaux des femmes. Sous la responsabilité de la ministre d'État à la Condition féminine, CFC est dirigée par la coordonnatrice de la Condition féminine et comprend sept directions, dont le PPF.

Le PPF a été transféré à CFC en 1995 dans l'intention de fournir « aux Canadiens un point d'accès unique aux programmes destinés à promouvoir l'égalité des femmes2 ». Le PPF est actuellement la plus grande direction de CFC. Sa structure est décentralisée, et il est exécuté par un bureau national et cinq bureaux régionaux, soit ceux de l'Atlantique, du Québec/Nunavut, de l'Ontario, des Prairies/Territoires du Nord-Ouest et de la Colombie-Britannique/Yukon. Il existe actuellement seize points de service dans l'ensemble du Canada. L'organigramme du PPF figure à l'annexe A.

2.2 Mandat et objectifs

Le PPF a pour mandat « d'appuyer les interventions faites par des groupes de femmes et d'autres partenaires qui militent en faveur de l'égalité des femmes, en se penchant sur la situation économique, sociale, politique et juridique des femmes ». Le Programme est de plus encadré par les objectifs, principes directeurs et domaines cibles énumérés dans le Tableau 1.

Tableau 1 : Objectifs, principes directeurs et domaines cibles du Programme de promotion de la femme

Objectifs

  1. Favoriser, au sein d'institutions clés, des politiques et des programmes qui tiennent compte des répercussions différentes sur les femmes et sur les hommes ainsi que de la diversité des points de vue des femmes et qui permettent aux femmes d'avoir accès aux processus décisionnels.

  2. Faciliter la participation des groupes de femmes au processus d'élaboration des politiques gouvernementales.

  3. Améliorer la compréhension, par le public, des enjeux liés à l'égalité des femmes dans le but d'encourager l'action.

  4. Accroître l'efficacité des mesures prises par des groupes de femmes pour améliorer la situation des femmes.

Principes directeurs

  1. Faire participer à la recherche de solutions les personnes les plus directement touchées par les problèmes.

  2. Reconnaître l'interdépendance des enjeux liés à l'égalité des femmes.

  3. Reconnaître la diversité des femmes et de leur expérience.

  4. Comprendre la nature systémique de l'inégalité des femmes.

Domaines cibles

  1. Élimination de la violence systémique à l'endroit des femmes et des filles.

  2. Amélioration de la situation économique des femmes.

  3. Concrétisation de la justice sociale.
Approche de changement social

Le PPF finance des initiatives qui encouragent les changements sociaux grâce à la participation des citoyennes et des citoyens. Il appuie les efforts collectifs déployés pour l'égalité des femmes en adoptant une approche stratégique de développement social orientée par ses valeurs qui met l'accent sur les éléments suivants :

  • Le Programme entretient avec les groupes un dialogue ouvert, respectueux, éclairé, soutenu et favorable à une gamme de points de vue.

  • Les femmes les plus touchées par les enjeux ont un rôle central à jouer dans la définition du problème, dans la mise en évidence de l'importance du changement ainsi que dans l'élaboration de solutions.

  • Le changement social s'inscrit dans un contexte dynamique dont les intervenantes et les intervenants, les stratégies et les enjeux évoluent sans cesse. Les groupes de femmes ont besoin d'information et de soutien pour communiquer avec d'autres groupes lorsqu'ils élaborent des stratégies qui auront une incidence dans ce contexte changeant. Le PPF peut les aider et les accompagner, au besoin, dans ce processus de réflexion et d'analyse.

  • Le PPF aide les groupes de femmes à reconnaître les enjeux et les possibilités d'intervention collective. Grâce au dialogue, à l'exploration et à l'expertise des groupes et du Programme, il est possible de définir les enjeux, stratégies et résultats au regard desquels la collaboration est possible.

  • Le PPF dispose d'une gamme de ressources qu'il peut mettre à la disposition des groupes, notamment des idées et des suggestions, des outils, du matériel, des liens vers d'autres groupes, vers d'autres bailleurs de fonds et vers des sources de financement. Ces ressources ne conviennent pas toutes à chacun des groupes avec lesquels le Programme travaille.

  • Il est important d'appuyer une vaste gamme de groupes et de stratégies qui visent le changement. Les stratégies et les groupes qui reçoivent un appui n'atteindront pas tous leur objectif original, puisque le processus de changement n'est pas nécessairement séquentiel et linéaire.

  • Le PPF encourage et appuie la création de liens et la collaboration entre les groupes qui oeuvrent pour le changement, l'apprentissage au sein des groupes et entre eux et, au besoin, la modification des stratégies pour se rapprocher des objectifs.

  • Le PPF collabore avec des groupes de femmes qui existent déjà afin de les aider à adopter des stratégies de plus en plus efficaces, avec de nouveaux groupes de femmes qui oeuvrent pour le changement ainsi qu'avec des organismes qu'il n'a peut-être pas financés dans le passé, mais qui proposent de nouvelles façons de favoriser l'évolution des politiques et des institutions en faveur de l'égalité des femmes.

  • Le PPF investit dans des méthodes exploratoires ou expérimentales dans le but de trouver de nouvelles stratégies efficaces.
Décision de l'équipe de direction du Programme de promotion de la femme,
Condition féminine Canada, le 16 décembre 2004.
2.3 Éléments du Programme

Le PPF est formé de deux éléments clés : l'aide technique et l'aide financière.

2.3.1 Aide technique

Par l'intermédiaire de son élément d'aide technique, le PPF fournit différentes formes d'aide non financière à des groupes de femmes ainsi qu'à d'autres organisations qui militent pour l'égalité des femmes. Par exemple, le PPF fournit une aide à l'élaboration de propositions et de stratégies d'action visant à obtenir des fonds, au règlement de problèmes opérationnels et à l'établissement de rapports sur l'état des initiatives subventionnées et il aiguille les groupes concernés vers d'autres sources de financement et d'autres possibilités de réseautage et de partenariat. Le PPF fournit également de l'aide technique sous d'autres formes à des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux non subventionnés, par exemple, en mettant en commun l'information concernant des groupes de femmes clés et d'autres organisations qui oeuvrent pour l'égalité des femmes et dont le travail porte sur des enjeux similaires.

2.3.2 Aide financière

Le PPF fournit également une aide financière sous forme de subventions et de contributions. Avant 1998, deux types d'aide financière étaient offerts : le financement de programme (ou de base) et le financement de projet. Le PPF a tenu en 1996 des consultations auprès des groupes de femmes et d'autres organisations qui oeuvrent pour l'égalité des femmes. Ces groupes et organisations ont alors souligné l'importance du financement du PPF aux fins de leurs efforts de promotion de l'égalité des femmes et ont notamment recommandé le maintien du financement de programme et l'augmentation du budget global du Programme3. Cependant, en 1998, à la suite de ces consultations, le PPF a apporté plusieurs changements à ses mécanismes de financement.

  • Le financement d'initiative a remplacé le financement de programme et de projet - L'adoption du financement d'initiative visait à accroître l'équité, la souplesse et la responsabilité du PPF. Il appuie « des stratégies orientées vers le changement, qui cadrent avec un ou plusieurs des objectifs et des domaines cibles du PPF, qui seront réalisées au cours d'une période de temps déterminée et qui seront accompagnées de plans d'action clairement articulés dans le but d'obtenir des résultats4 ».

  • Des fonds ont été prévus pour le financement d'initiative pouvant durer jusqu'à 18 mois - Avant 1998, le financement de projet ne pouvait être accordé que pour un maximum de 12 mois.

  • Le financement pluriannuel a été instauré - Le financement pluriannuel appuie des initiatives d'une durée maximale de trois ans qui mettent l'accent sur le changement institutionnel ou le changement des politiques gouvernementales. Avant 1998, ce type de financement n'était pas offert.

Également en 1998, le PPF a mis à la disposition des groupes demandeurs éventuels les lignes directrices pour l'évaluation des demandes.

Les groupes de femmes et autres organisations bénévoles sans but lucratif dont l'objectif est de favoriser l'égalité des femmes au sein de la société canadienne sont admissibles au financement du PPF dans la mesure où chaque groupe ou organisation fait la preuve :

  • que ses principes, ses objectifs et ses activités favorisent l'égalité des femmes en conformité avec la Convention des Nations Unies sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes, le Programme d'action de Beijing, le Plan fédéral pour l'égalité entre les sexes et la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés;

  • que son fonctionnement est démocratique ou participatif;

  • que les résultats de toute initiative financée seront mis à la disposition du public et des autres organisations;

  • que son initiative s'inscrit dans le mandat du PPF et vise un ou plusieurs des objectifs et des domaines cibles du Programme;

  • que l'initiative fait appel à la participation de femmes touchées par la question, à toutes les étapes;

  • que d'autres sources possibles d'aide, financière ou autre, ont été désignées5.

Toutefois, seuls les groupes de femmes peuvent être financés au titre des objectifs un et quatre (voir le Tableau 1).

Les groupes qui souhaitent obtenir un financement pluriannuel doivent également montrer qu'ils ont l'expérience de la planification et de la mise en oeuvre d'initiatives à long terme ainsi que la capacité requise à cet égard et qu'ils visent les objectifs du PPF en matière de changement institutionnel et de politiques gouvernementales.

Le PPF ne finance pas d'initiatives qui prévoient la prestation de services sociaux ou de santé directs; qui portent sur l'épanouissement affectif ou spirituel ou encore sur le perfectionnement personnel ou professionnel et, enfin, les initiatives déjà menées à terme ou qui se déroulent à l'extérieur du Canada. Le financement accordé ne peut pas être supérieur à deux millions de dollars par subvention ou contribution et ne peut pas couvrir l'ensemble des coûts de l'initiative. Les coûts admissibles comprennent les salaires, les honoraires professionnels, les installations, les fournitures, les déplacements au Canada et la publicité. Sont exclus les dépenses d'immobilisations, les coûts engagés avant l'approbation du financement de l'initiative et les dépenses liées aux déplacements ou engagées à l'extérieur du Canada6.

Les agentes et agents de programme distribuent différentes « feuilles de conseils » et organisent des séances d'information à l'intention des groupes sur le processus de présentation d'une demande, la conception d'initiatives axées sur les résultats, l'élaboration d'un budget, etc.7 Les agentes et agents peuvent contribuer directement à l'élaboration des demandes et des propositions en aidant, par exemple, les groupes à cibler leurs initiatives et à en définir les objectifs ainsi que les résultats attendus. Une fois la demande jugée complète, le processus d'approbation peut prendre jusqu'à 12 semaines. Un pourcentage important des fonds est versé au moment de l'approbation et le reste est lié à des produits livrables à différents moments de l'initiative, y compris, mais non exclusivement, les rapports provisoire et final.

2.4 Financement

Les dépenses du PPF, qui s'établissent à environ 14 millions de dollars par année, et ses 50 ETP8 représentent approximativement 58 p. 100 de l'ensemble des dépenses de CFC et 38 p. 100 de son personnel (équivalents temps plein)9. En 2003-2004, le PPF a financé 159 initiatives, dépensant environ 11 millions de dollars en subventions et contributions10, 2,8 millions en salaires et 562 000 $ en coûts indirects et en frais de gestion11. Le montant de chacune des subventions varie énormément, de 1 600 $ à 339 049 $. Le financement total du programme de subventions et de contributions du PPF fluctue, de 10,2 millions en 2001-2002 (175 initiatives financées), à 12,2 millions en 2002-2003 (178 initiatives financées), pour redescendre à 11 millions en 2003-2004, dernière année pour laquelle des données détaillées sont fournies. Le budget des subventions et contributions est octroyé aux bureaux régionaux et au bureau national, qui font alors des recommandations de financement en s'appuyant sur leur plan stratégique et sur les lignes directrices publiques relatives aux évaluations. Toutes les recommandations de financement doivent être approuvées par la ministre responsable de la Condition féminine.

2.5 Financement du PAES

En 2000, le gouvernement du Canada a mis en oeuvre le Programme d'action pour l'égalité entre les sexes (PAES), dont les objectifs sont d'accélérer l'application de l'analyse comparative entre les sexes dans le processus décisionnel lié aux politiques gouvernementales; d'amener les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à participer au processus d'élaboration des politiques; de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada et ses obligations en vertu de traités ainsi que d'aider le Canada à conserver son statut de chef de file mondial en matière d'égalité entre les sexes12. Le PPF a reçu sur cinq ans environ 10 millions du PAES, à partir de 2000-2001 (environ la moitié des fonds de cette initiative de 20,5 millions de dollars)13. Ces fonds ont été utilisés pour le financement d'initiatives axées sur la collectivité aux échelons local, régional et national. Deux grands objectifs étaient visés : appuyer les enjeux nouveaux et émergents et venir en aide à de nouveaux groupes. À l'heure actuelle, le PPF reçoit quelque 2,5 millions de dollars par année au titre du PAES14. Les données administratives du PAES ont été résumées dans un rapport distinct sur cet élément du PPF, avec les études de cas de deux des initiatives financées grâce au PAES (voir le Volume II).

2.6 Mesure du rendement

En avril 2003, le PPF a mis en oeuvre une nouvelle approche axée sur les résultats qui met l'accent sur les résultats obtenus par chacune des initiatives financées. Un cadre de responsabilisation intégral, qui comprend un modèle logique explicitant les objectifs, résultats attendus et indicateurs de rendement, est un élément important de la nouvelle approche. Le modèle logique de PPF est présenté à l'annexe B.

La nouvelle approche axée sur les résultats comprend également un cadre de vérification fondé sur les risques, le Manuel des procédures du Programme de promotion de la femme, une stratégie de mesure du rendement et un nouvel ensemble d'instruments : le nouveau formulaire de demande et le Guide du formulaire de demande ainsi que les modèles de rapport provisoire et final et le formulaire d'évaluation finale (avant l'adoption de ces instruments normalisés, les régions utilisaient des formulaires différents). Les nouveaux instruments ont été conçus pour servir de point de départ à l'élaboration d'initiatives axées sur les résultats, pour le suivi continu du rendement et l'établissement de rapports sur les résultats.


1 Budget des dépenses 2004-2005 : Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de Condition féminine Canada, Condition féminine Canada, p. 5.

2 Cadre de responsabilisation du Programme de promotion de la femme, Condition féminine Canada, p. 1.

3 Rapport sur les consultations tenues de mars à mai 1996 et Plan de suivi stratégique, Condition féminine Canada, novembre 1996.

4 Cadre de responsabilisation du Programme de promotion de la femme, p. 2.

5 Lignes directrices en matière de financement du Programme de promotion de la femme, Condition féminine Canada http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/funding/wpguide_f.html, p. 8, (dernière mise à jour en 2003).

6 Conditions du Programme de promotion de la femme, Condition féminine Canada, p. 2-3.

7 Trousse d'outils du Programme de promotion de la femme, Catalyst Research and Communications, novembre 2003.

8 Rapport sur le rendement ministériel 2003-2004 : Condition féminine Canada, Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, p. 28-29. Données administratives de Condition féminine Canada (P. McInnis, le 6 juin 2005).

9 Budget des dépenses 2004-2005 : Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de Condition féminine Canada, Condition féminine Canada, p. 24, 26-27.

10 Cadre de responsabilisation du Programme de promotion de la femme, p. 3.

11 Données administratives fournies par Condition féminine Canada (P. McInnis, le 6 juin 2005).

12 Cadre d'évaluation du Programme d'action pour l'égalité entre les sexes, Condition féminine Canada, novembre 2004, p. 1-3.

13 Budget des dépenses 2004-2005 : Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de Condition féminine Canada, p. 27.

14 Ibid