Montreal Regional Meeting
(August 15, 2016)

On August 15, 2016, the Honourable Patty Hajdu, Minister of Status of Women, hosted a regional roundtable in Montreal, Quebec. The roundtable was part of a broader engagement process to engage stakeholders across the country to inform the development of a federal strategy on gender-based violence. See http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/violence/strategy-strategie/index-en.html for more information about the engagement process.

The roundtable brought some 15 stakeholders together to discuss gender-based violence issues that are specific to the region. Participants included representatives of universities and non-governmental organizations who work to support women with disabilities, homeless women, female sex workers, members of the LGBTQQI2S community, sexual assault survivors, and newcomer, migrant and immigrant women, as well as organizations with expertise in women’s health and cyber violence.

Anju Dhillon (Parliamentary Secretary for Status of Women and Liberal MP for Dorval-Lachine), Francis Scarpaleggia (Liberal MP for Lac-Saint-Louis), Eva Nassif (Member of the Standing Committee on the Status of Women and Liberal MP for Vimy) and Alexandra Mendès (Liberal MP for Brossard–Saint-Lambert) were also in attendance.

Highlights

A few highlights of the roundtable discussion are provided here. This summary should not be interpreted as a comprehensive account of the discussion, nor is it meant to suggest that there was consensus among the participants on the points outlined below.

Some of the regional considerations raised by participants:

  • A step backward for women and young girls, who are not as knowledgeable about healthy relationships and their rights.
  • Normalization of hypersexualization, pornographization, prostitution and cyber violence, encouraged by a lack of knowledge about digital technology among service providers and the general public.
  • Lack of a holistic strategy at the federal level for fighting violence against women that is aligned with the provinces’ and territories’ efforts and takes account the pervasiveness of patriarchy and other factors that make women vulnerable.
  • Need to change mentalities and provide fair access to services for women, in all their diversity, across the country.
  • Lack of access to social housing, emergency shelters, and first- and second-stage services for victims of violence.
  • Lack of resources dedicated to research and joint action on violence against women in light of the complexity of spousal abuse and the significant number of intersecting factors.

Participants shared insights about the needs and experiences of specific populations at risk of gender-based violence. In their opinion, the following steps must be taken:

  • Recognize prostitution as a form of violence against women, who are at greater risk of several forms of violence and social exclusion. Continue to target demand and fully decriminalize the work of sex workers.
  • Support new immigrant populations and inform them about the laws and resources available to them in Canada, because many incidents of violence against immigrants go unreported. Provide fair access to services geared to these victims.
  • Take account of LGBTQQI2S individuals (e.g., lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, queer, intersex and two-spirited individuals), who are often invisible or whose points of view are not always considered in this area. Include them in data collection, interventions and wording.
  • Protect intersex children and put a stop to genital surgery and hormone therapy imposed by the medical system. Let children decide on their own identity upon reaching adulthood.
  • Acknowledge violence against women and believe victims, regardless of the type of population or violence, particularly cyber violence, trafficking, violence based on sexual orientation and gender identity, violence between same-sex partners, violence against women refugees, violence against women with disabilities, etc.
  • Recognize that the marginalization of Aboriginal peoples makes them more vulnerable to violence.
  • Review immigration laws and revise all aspects that make women immigrants and refugees vulnerable to violence and exploitation.
  • Acknowledge spousal abuse in the workplace and provide resources for victims.

Shortcomings were identified, leading to the following recommendations:

  • Lack of training of service providers, especially in the areas of justice and immigration in relation to violence against women, which has an impact on how victims are treated and how decisions concerning them are made. Train service providers to take gender-based violence into account in order to prevent revictimization.
  • Significant delay in the judicial processing of domestic violence cases and difficulty securing convictions for perpetrators of various forms of violence against women.
  • Need to educate the public and service providers on cyber violence and the use of new technologies so that they can act effectively. Conduct more research into cyber violence to guide legislation- and policy-making efforts, educate service providers and the general public, and provide means of prevention. Get academics and service providers on the ground to work together to develop a better understanding of cyber violence and create suitable solutions.
  • Complex criteria for government funding that encourage ad hoc, project-based funding and require organizations working in the field to constantly reinvent their practices rather than pursuing those that are already working.
  • Lack of data on violence against women and LGBTQQI2S individuals. Need to collect more data and use the available data more effectively, especially data gathered during the census.
  • Exclusion of victims due to a rigid definition of who is a woman and of violence against women.
  • Stop demonizing attackers through our language and talk more about rehabilitation.

Building on what works, participants suggested:

  • Focus more on prevention, which costs much less than responding to incidents, particularly by educating girls and boys about gender equality, healthy relationships and violence against women, including prostitution.
  • Work in interdisciplinary cooperation and collaboration with various organizations that have expertise on issues affecting women who experience violence, in all their full diversity, as well as the risk factors for violence (poverty, drug addiction, homelessness, disabilities, etc.).

Overall, participants stressed that the federal strategy should recognize the following:

  • Vulnerable populations have specific needs.
  • Community strengths and expertise should be leveraged to determine which solutions are the most effective, and the community should play a role in their implementation.
  • Partnerships play a key role in bringing about change.
  • Men and boys should play a bigger part in the solutions to be developed.
Date modified:

Réunion régionale de Montréal
(15 août 2016)

Le 15 août 2016, l’honorable Patty Hajdu, ministre de la Condition féminine, a tenu une table ronde à Montréal (Québec). Cette table ronde faisait partie d'un vaste processus de dialogue avec les parties intéressées au pays, processus qui a pour but d'éclairer l'élaboration de la stratégie fédérale contre la violence fondée sur le sexe.  Pour plus de renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez vous rendre à l'adresse suivante : http://www.swc-cfc.gc.ca/violence/strategy-strategie/index-fr.html.

Cette table ronde sur la VFS s’est concentrée sur les enjeux propres à la région. Une quinzaine de personnes y ont participé. Provenant d’organismes non gouvernementaux ou d’universités, ces personnes travaillaient dans les domaines suivants : soutien aux femmes handicapées, aux itinérantes, aux travailleuses du sexe, aux membres des communautés LGBTQQI2S, aux nouvelles arrivantes, migrantes ou immigrantes; aux survivantes d’agressions sexuelles; ainsi que des organisations ayant une expertise en santé des femmes et cyberviolence.

Anju Dhillon (secrétaire parlementaire à la condition féminine et députée libérale de Dorval-Lachine), Francis Scarpaleggia (député libéral de Lac-Saint-Louis), Eva Nassif (membre du comité permanent de la condition féminine et députée libérale de Vimy), Alexandra Mendès (députée libérale de Brossard-Saint-Lambert) étaient également présents.

Faits saillants

On trouvera ci-dessous quelques faits saillants des discussions. S’agissant d’un résumé, il ne rend bien sûr pas compte de tous les propos; il n’y avait pas forcément consensus sur les points recensés ci-dessous :

Voici quelques-unes des considérations régionales qui ont été soulevées par les personnes présentes :

  • Recul chez femmes et jeunes filles qui ont des connaissances limitées quant aux relations saines et à leurs droits.
  • Normalisation de l’hypersexualisation, de la pornographie, de la prostitution et de la cyberviolence, laquelle est favorisée par un manque de connaissances de la population et des intervenants dans le domaine des technologies numériques.
  • Absence de stratégie fédérale holistique de lutte à la violence faite aux femmes qui soit harmonisée avec le travail des provinces et territoires et qui prenne en compte les emprises du patriarcat et les différents facteurs de vulnérabilité des femmes.
  • Nécessité de changer les mentalités et d’assurer un niveau équitable d’accès aux services aux femmes dans leur diversité à travers le pays.
  • Manque d’accès au logement social et à des refuges de crise, aux services de premières et de deuxième étape pour les victimes de violence
  • Manque de ressources dédiées à la recherche et la concertation sur le sujet de la violence faite aux femmes, vu la complexité de la problématique de violence conjugale et les multiples facteurs interreliés.

Les personnes présentes ont échangé au sujet des besoins et du vécu de populations particulièrement vulnérables à la VFS. Selon elles, il faut :

  • Reconnaître la prostitution comme une forme de violence faite aux femmes, qui sont plus à risque de subir plusieurs formes de violence et d’exclusion sociale. Continuer à s’attaquer à la demande et décriminaliser complètement les travailleuses du sexe.
  • Soutenir les nouvelles populations immigrantes et les renseigner sur les lois et les ressources mises à leur disposition au pays, car bon nombre de cas de violence contre des immigrantes ne sont pas signalés. Assurer un accès équitable aux services adaptés pour ces victimes.
  • Veiller à tenir compte des personnes allosexuelles (p. ex. : lesbiennes, gais, personnes bisexuelles, transgenres, de genre non conforme ou en questionnement quant à leur orientation sexuelle ou identité de genre ou bispirituelles), souvent rendues invisibles ou dont le point de vue n’est pas toujours pris en compte dans ce domaine. Les inclure dans la collecte de données, les interventions et le langage utilisé.
  • Protéger les enfants intersexes et faire cesser les chirurgies génitales et l’hormonothérapie forcées par le système médical. Laisser aux enfants le choix de décider de leur identité à l’âge adulte.
  • Reconnaitre la violence faite aux femmes et croire les victimes, peu importe la population dont elles sont issues, ou le type de violence qu’elles subissent, notamment la cyberviolence, la traite, la violence basée sur l’orientation sexuelle et l’identité de genre, la violence entre conjoints de même sexe, la violence faite aux réfugiées, la violence vécue par les femmes ayant un handicap, etc.
  • Reconnaître que la marginalisation des Autochtones accroît leur vulnérabilité à la violence.
  • Analyser les lois sur l’immigration et réviser tous les aspects qui rendent les femmes immigrantes et réfugiées vulnérables à la violence et à l’exploitation.
  • Reconnaître la violence conjugale en milieu de travail et prévoir de ressources pour les victimes.

Des lacunes ont été cernées et on a recommandé certaines mesures pour y remédier :

  • Manque de formation des intervenants surtout dans le domaine de la justice et de l’immigration quant à la violence faite aux femmes, ce qui a un impact dans le traitement des victimes et la prise de décision à leur égard. Former les intervenants pour qu’ils tiennent compte de la violence liée au genre afin d’empêcher la revictimisation.
  • Délai important dans le traitement judiciaire des cas de violence conjugale et difficulté à faire condamner les agresseurs de diverses formes de violence faite aux femmes.
  • Besoin d’éduquer la population et les intervenants sur l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies et la cyberviolence afin qu’ils soient en mesure d’intervenir efficacement. Faire plus de recherche sur la cyberviolence pour guider l'élaboration de politiques, de lois, éduquer les intervenants et la population sur le sujet et de prévoir des mesures de prévention. Amener les intervenants terrain et les universitaires à travailler ensemble pour développer une meilleure compréhension du phénomène et l’élaboration de solutions adaptées.
  • Critères complexes de financement gouvernemental qui favorisent le financement ponctuel par projets, en plus d’exiger des organismes terrain qu’ils réinventent continuellement leurs façons de faire plutôt que de continuer avec ce qui fonctionne déjà.
  • Manque de données sur la violence faite aux femmes et aux personnes allosexuelles. Besoin de collecter davantage de données et de mieux utiliser les données disponibles notamment recueillies du recensement.
  • Exclusion des victimes à cause d’une définition rigide de ce qu’est une femme et de la violence faite aux femmes.
  • Cesser de démoniser les agresseurs dans le langage et parler davantage de réhabilitation.

Des suggestions des participantes et participants pour tirer parti de ce qui fonctionne déjà :

  • Mettre davantage l’accent sur la prévention, qui coûte beaucoup moins cher que l’intervention, notamment en éduquant les filles et les garçons sur les rapports égalitaires entre les sexes, les saines relations et la violence faite aux femmes, en y incluant la prostitution.
  • Travailler en concertation et collaboration interdisciplinaire avec les divers organismes qui ont une expertise sur les enjeux qui touchent les femmes victimes de violence dans leur diversité ainsi que les différents facteurs de risque à la violence (pauvreté, dépendances aux drogues, itinérance, handicap, etc.).

Dans l'ensemble, les personnes présentes ont souligné que la stratégie fédérale devrait tenir compte des aspects suivants :

  • les populations vulnérables ont des besoins particuliers;
  • les forces et connaissances des collectivités devraient servir à déterminer quelles solutions sont les plus efficaces et le milieu communautaire devrait être impliqué dans leur mise en œuvre;
  • le travail en partenariat joue un rôle de premier plan pour effectuer des changements;
  • inclure davantage les garçons et les hommes dans l’élaboration des solutions.
Date de modification :