It's Time to Recognize

Federal Strategy on Gender-based Violence

What is gender-based violence?

Everyone has the right to live a life free from violence. But there are many Canadians across the country who continue to face violence every day simply because of their gender expression, gender identity or perceived gender.

This is gender-based violence (GBV) This kind of violence can take many forms: cyber, physical, sexual, psychological, emotional, and economic. Neglect and harassment are also forms of GBV. Violence can have negative effects that span generations, and this often leads to cycles of violence and abuse within families and sometimes whole communities. GBV holds us all back.

What is the difference between sex and gender?

Sex refers to the biological and physiological characteristics that define males, females and intersex persons.

Gender refers to the roles and behaviours that society associates with being female or male. Rigid gender norms can result in stereotyping and curb our expectations of both women and men. A society’s understanding of gender changes over time and varies from culture to culture.

Costs of GBV

  • Violence can have lifelong impacts on an individual’s physical, mental, sexual and reproductive health. Impacts can include physical injury and death, disabilities – including depression and post-traumatic stress disorder – as well as sexually transmitted infections, unintended pregnancy, miscarriage, substance use, absence from school or work, job loss and social solation.Footnote 1
  • More broadly, the economic costs of intimate partner violence against Canadian women are valued at $4.8 billion annually. The economic costs of sexual assault/other sexual offences against Canadian women are estimated to be $3.6 billion annually.footnote 2
Date modified:

Il est temps d’ouvrir les yeux

Stratégie fédérale contre la violence fondée sur le sexe

Qu’est-ce que la violence fondée sur le sexe?

Tout le monde a le droit de vivre une vie sans violence. Or, tous les jours, un grand nombre de personnes au Canada sont encore victimes de violence du seul fait de leur identité sexuelle, de la manière dont elles expriment cette identité (c.-à-d., leur genre) ou dont elle est perçue. C’est ce que l’on appelle la violence fondée sur le sexe (VFS).

Cette violence peut prendre diverses formes : virtuelle, physique, sexuelle, psychologique, émotionnelle ou économique. La négligence et le harcèlement sont aussi des formes de VFS. Les effets de la violence peuvent traverser les générations, alimentant un cycle de violence et de maltraitance au sein des familles ou des communautés. Toute la société pâtit de la VFS.

Quelle est la différence entre le sexe et le genre?

Le sexe renvoie aux caractéristiques biologiques et physiologiques qui distinguent l’homme, la femme et les personnes intersexuées.

Le genre désigne les rôles et comportements qu’on associe au fait d’être un homme ou une femme dans une société donnée. Plus sa définition est rigide, plus il risque d’engendrer des stéréotypes restreignant le champ de ce qu’on peut attendre des deux sexes. La compréhension du genre dans une société varie selon l’époque et la culture.

Coûts de la VFS

  • Les effets de la violence sur la santé physique, mentale, sexuelle et génésique des victimes peuvent durer toute une vie. Ils incluent : les blessures physiques, la mort, les incapacités (y compris la dépression et l’état de stress post-traumatique), ainsi que les infections transmissibles sexuellement, les grossesses inattendues, les fausses couches, l’alcoolisme, la toxicomanie, l’absentéisme au travail ou à l’école, la perte d’emploi et l’isolement socialNote de bas de page 1 .
  • On estime que les coûts économiques de la violence entre partenaires intimes dirigée contre des femmes au Canada se chiffrent, au total, à 4,8 milliards de dollars par année; ceux des agressions sexuelles et autres infractions d’ordre sexuel contre des Canadiennes atteindraient 3,6 milliards de dollars par annéeNOte de bas de page 2 .
Date de modification :