It’s Time to Act

Federal Strategy on Gender-based Violence

Recent federal actions

In order to prevent and address gender-based violence (GBV), the Government of Canada recognizes the need for an approach that is comprehensive, inclusive, and based on solid evidence.

In Budget 2016, investments to prevent and address GBV included:

  • funding for shelters and transition housing for individuals fleeing family violence; and
  • The National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls.

Responding to the Unfounded investigation

Following an investigation by the Globe and Mail into the rates of unfounded sexual assault cases in Canada, Statistics Canada has established a standardized process which will allow for the collection and use of quality statistics on unfounded criminal incidents, including sexual assaults. This follows close consultation with the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police. The first results are expected to be published in July 2018.

Changes to the Criminal Code

Legislation introduced by the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada on June 6, 2017, reflects the Government of Canada’s ongoing commitment to ensure that victims of sexual assault and gender-based violence are treated with the utmost compassion and respect. This legislation would make several amendments to clarify and strengthen the sexual assault provisions in the Criminal Code.

Related investments were also made for Family Information Liaison Units in each province and territory and culturally grounded services and supports for family members of missing or murdered Indigenous women.

In 2017, the Government of Canada announced $100.9 million over five years, and $20.7 million per year ongoing, to establish a strategy to address GBV. The Gender-Based Violence Knowledge Centre will be created within Status of Women Canada, to better align existing resources across government to address GBV

Budget 2017 also announced a range of other actions that will help to bolster the impact of the Strategy:

Action Program Budget Objectives
Prevention Urban Programming for Indigenous Peoples $118.5 million over five years Provide support to organizations that offer programs and services to help meet the needs of urban Indigenous Peoples, support their transition to life in an urban centre, or reduce their vulnerability (e.g., help women transition out of shelters, parenting programs).
Support for survivors and their families National Housing Fund $5 billion over 11 years Address critical housing issues, which will prioritize support for populations with distinct needs, including survivors fleeing family violence.
Expand Homelessness Partnering Strategy $2.1 billion over 11 years Includes support for community projects tailored to the needs of homeless women such as survivors fleeing family violence.
Increase mental health supports for First Nations and Inuit communities $204.2 million over five years Deliver better health outcomes for First Nations and Inuit communities.
Proposed changes to the Canada Labour Code   Provide federally regulated workers with new unpaid leave to seek care if they are victims of family violence.
Responsive legal and justice systems Support programming on judicial education, ethics and conduct $2.7 million over five years and $0.5 million per year ongoing Includes gender and diversity training for judges.
Enhance the delivery of immigration and refugee legal aid services $62.9 million over five years, starting in 2017–18, and $11.5 million per year thereafter In partnership with the provinces and territories.
Provide long-term and stable investment in the Indigenous Justice Program $55.5 million over five years, starting in 2017-18 and $11.1 million per year ongoing Provide funding for community-based programs that use restorative justice approaches as an alternative to the mainstream justice system and corrections.
Date modified:

Il est temps de passer à l’action

Stratégie fédérale contre la violence fondée sur le sexe

Mesures fédérales récentes

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît la nécessité d’une approche globale et inclusive, qui repose sur des preuves solides, afin de prévenir et d’éliminer la violence fondée sur le sexe (VFS).

Les investissements annoncés à cette fin dans le budget de 2016 incluaient :

  • le financement de refuges et de logements de transition pour les personnes fuyant la violence familiale;
  • l’Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées.

Dénombrer les affaires non fondées

Suite à une enquête du Globe and Mail sur la proportion d’agressions sexuelles qui sont classées non fondées et à des consultations étroites avec l’Association canadienne des chefs de police, Statistique Canada a établi une procédure pour recueillir des données de qualité sur les allégations d’actes criminels (comme les agressions sexuelles) non fondées. Les premiers résultats devraient être publiés en juillet 2018.

Modifications au Code criminel

Le projet de loi présenté par la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada le 6 juin 2017 démontre que le gouvernement du Canada se soucie des victimes d’agressions sexuelles et de violence fondée sur le sexe, et qu’il veut leur garantir un traitement humain et respectueux. Ce projet de loi vise à clarifier et à renforcer les dispositions du Code relatives aux agressions sexuelles.

Des investissements connexes ont été faits pour qu’il y ait dans chaque province et territoire des unités de liaison avec les familles, de même que pour enraciner dans la culture les mesures de soutien et services offerts à la famille de femmes autochtones disparues ou assassinées.

En 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé un financement de 100,9 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, et de 20,7 millions par an par la suite, pour l’établissement d’une stratégie de lutte contre la VFS. Un centre du savoir sur la violence fondée sur le sexe sera créé à Condition féminine Canada, afin de mieux harmoniser les ressources existantes de lutte contre la VFS à l’échelle du gouvernement.

Le budget de 2017 prévoyait également un éventail d’autres mesures qui aideront à décupler l’effet de la stratégie :

Mesure Programme Budget Objectifs
Prévention Programmes urbains pour les peuples autochtones 118,5 millions de dollars sur cinq ans Offrir un soutien aux organismes offrant des programmes et services qui aident à répondre aux besoins des Autochtones en milieu urbain, appuient leur transition à la vie dans un centre urbain ou réduisent leur vulnérabilité (p. ex., projets qui aident les femmes à quitter les refuges, programmes d’éducation parentale).
Soutien aux personnes survivantes et à leur famille Fonds national pour le logement 5 milliards de dollars sur 11 ans Remédier à de graves problèmes de logement en priorisant les populations qui ont des besoins distincts, notamment les personnes qui fuient la violence familiale.
Élargissement de la Stratégie des partenariats de lutte contre l’itinérance 2,1 milliards de dollars sur 11 ans Soutenir des projets communautaires adaptés aux besoins des femmes sans abri, dont celles qui ont survécu à la violence familiale.
Augmentation du soutien en santé mentale pour les Premières Nations et les communautés inuites 204,2 millions de dollars sur cinq ans Améliorer le bilan de santé des membres des Premières Nations et des communautés inuites.
Modifications proposées du Code canadien du travail   Offrir un congé sans solde aux travailleuses et travailleurs sous réglementation fédérale pour qu’ils puissent chercher de l’aide s’ils sont victimes de violence familiale.
Réactivité du système juridiques et judiciaire Financement pour les programmes de formation et d’éthique à l’intention des juges 2,7 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, et 0,5 million par an par la suite Sensibiliser les juges aux questions de genre et de diversité.
Amélioration des services d’aide juridique pour l’immigration et les personnes réfugiées 62,9 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, à compter de 2017-2018, et 11,5 millions par an par la suite En collaboration avec les provinces et territoires.
Stabilisation des investissements dans le Programme de justice autochtone 55,5 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, à compter de 2017-2018, et 11,1 millions par an par la suite Financer les programmes de justice réparatrice dans les communautés comme solution de rechange au système régulier et à l’incarcération.
Date de modification :