Glossary

Federal Strategy on Gender-based Violence

Ableism refers to a set of prejudicial and discriminatory beliefs and behaviours that assigns inferior worth to people living with developmental, emotional, physical, or mental disabilities.

Biphobia is a set of negative beliefs, attitudes, and behaviours towards bisexuality and bisexual people. It can take the form of negative stereotypes, intolerance and discrimination towards these individuals.

Classism is a set of negative beliefs, attitudes, and behaviours that facilitate the systematic devaluation, exploitation, and exclusion of people viewed as being from a lower social standing or class.

Culturally safe approaches are those that recognize and challenge unequal power relations between service providers and survivors by building equitable, two-way relationships characterized by respect, shared responsibility, and cultural exchange. Survivors must have their culture, values, and preferences taken into account in the provision of services.

Family violence is any form of abuse or neglect that a child or adult experiences from a family member, or from someone with whom they have an intimate relationship. It is an abuse of power by one person to hurt and control someone who trusts and depends on them.

Gender refers to culturally defined identities and roles associated with males/masculinity and females/femininity. While many people confuse a person’s gender identity with their biological sex, it is clear that people’s gender identity, and the public presentation (behaviour and appearance) of that identity (gender expression), is not fundamentally linked with bodily differences between males and females (or with their sexual desires for that matter). How a person understands and expresses themselves in relation to these differences actually exists on a spectrum of gender identification. Some people strongly identify with the gender traditionally associated with their biological sex—cisgendered people. Other people’s self-identity is more strongly linked to that traditionally associated with the “opposite” sex or the sex they were not assigned at birth. Some people feel that their gender is some mix of male and female, and still others feel that they do not have a gender identity. Transgender acts as an umbrella term covering people with diverse gender identities and expressions. A range of other terms have been used to describe various positions on the gender spectrum—non-binary gender, gender-queer, gender variant, gender non-conforming, gender neutral, agender, etc.

Gender-based violence is violence perpetrated against someone based on their gender expression, gender identity, or perceived gender. It takes many forms, including physical, economic, sexual, psychological, and emotional.

Homophobia refers to a range of negative attitudes, beliefs, and behaviours directed towards people perceived as LGBTQ2, with resulting systemic effects of prejudice, discrimination, and violence. See also: transphobia, biphobia.

Intersex is defined by the Intersex Society of North America as “a general term used for a variety of conditions in which a person is born with a reproductive or sexual anatomy that doesn’t seem to fit the typical definitions of female or male.”

Intimate partner violence (sometimes referred to as domestic violence) is physical, sexual, or psychological harm that happens in intimate relationships, including marriages, common-law partnerships, or dating relationships. Neglect and harassment are also forms of intimate partner violence. It can take place while the relationship is ongoing or after it has ended. Such violence can occur in opposite- or same-sex relationships, and can be one-sided or involve both partners.

LGBTQ2 is an acronym referring to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex and two-spirit people.

Racism is the systemic subordination, oppression, and exploitation of specific groups of people based on perceived physical (e.g. skin colour) and/or cultural characteristics. Racism is rooted in beliefs and behaviours which assume the biological or cultural superiority of one racial group over others, resulting in power and privilege for the dominant group and unequal treatment and limited opportunities for oppressed groups.

Transphobia refers to negative attitudes and feelings towards transgender or non-binary gender individuals, and resulting systemic effects of prejudice, discrimination, and violence.

Trauma-informed approaches are those that take into account the lasting effects trauma has on survivors and tailors information, resources, and services to avoid re-traumatizing them.

Two-Spirit (or Two-Spirited) is a contemporary term used by some Indigenous people in North America to refer to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and gender-non-conforming people in their communities.

Date modified:

Glossaire

Stratégie fédérale contre la violence fondée sur le sexe

Allosexuel, allosexuelle – Générique qui englobe les personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles, transgenres, intersexuées et d’autres qui n’adhèrent pas à la division binaire traditionnelle du genre, de son expression et des sexualités.

Approche respectueuse de la culture – Approches qui reconnaissent et transforment les relations de pouvoir inégales entre les prestataires de services et les personnes survivantes en relations équitables caractérisées par le respect, la responsabilité partagée et l’échange culturel. La culture, les valeurs et les préférences des personnes survivantes doivent être prises en compte dans la prestation des services.

Approche tenant compte des traumatismes – Approches qui tiennent compte des effets permanents des traumatismes sur les personnes survivantes et à l’intérieur desquelles l’information, les ressources et les services sont adaptés pour éviter d’en causer de nouveaux.

Biphobie – Désigne un ensemble de croyances, d’attitudes et de comportements négatifs visant la bisexualité et les personnes bisexuelles. La biphobie peut prendre la forme de stéréotypes négatifs, d’intolérance et de discrimination envers les personnes concernées.

Bispirituel – Terme contemporain utilisé dans certaines cultures autochtones de l’Amérique du Nord pour désigner les personnes allosexuelles dans leur communauté.

Capacitisme – Désigne un ensemble de croyances et de comportements nocifs et discriminatoires qui attribuent une valeur moindre aux personnes handicapées, c'est-à-dire qui vivent avec une déficience physique, intellectuelle ou affective.

Classisme – Désigne un ensemble de croyances, d’attitudes et de comportements propices à la dépréciation, à l’exploitation et à l’exclusion systématiques de personnes que l’on considère d’un rang inférieur dans la hiérarchie sociale.

Genre – Désigne les identités et rôles sexués qui sont associés aux mâles (ou à la masculinité) et aux femelles (ou à la féminité) dans une culture donnée. Le genre (Simone de Beauvoir parlait du sexe social) est souvent confondu avec le sexe qui est, lui, biologique. Cependant, le genre d’une personne — et la manière dont elle choisit de l’exprimer par son comportement et son apparence — ne correspond pas forcément à son sexe, ni même à ses désirs sexuels. En fait, le genre et son expression se situent sur un continuum. Certaines personnes s’identifient fortement au genre traditionnellement associé à leur sexe biologique : ce sont les personnes cisgenres. D’autres s’identifient plutôt au sexe « opposé » à celui qui leur a été assigné à la naissance. Certaines sentent que leur genre est un mélange de « mâle » et de « femelle », et d’autres se sentent sans genre. Le terme transgenre est un générique qui désigne des personnes dont l’identité et l’expression de genre s’écartent des normes sociales. Une gamme de termes sont utilisés pour témoigner de la diversité des identités de genre et de leur expression : non-binaire, LGBTQ, queer, neutrois, agenre, non conforme dans le genre, etc.

Homophobie – Désigne une gamme d’attitudes, de croyances et de comportements négatifs qui visent les personnes considérées comme appartenant à la communauté allosexuelle et qui génèrent des effets systémiques de souffrance, de discrimination et de violence. Voir aussi : transphobie, biphobie.

Intersexué – Défini par la Intersex Society of North America comme un terme général utilisé pour désigner une variété de conditions dans lesquelles une personne est née avec un appareil reproducteur ou une anatomie sexuelle qui ne semble pas correspondre aux définitions typiques de « femelle » ou « mâle ».

Racisme – Subordination, oppression et exploitation systémiques d’un groupe de personnes sur la base de caractéristiques physiques (p. ex. la couleur de la peau) ou culturelle perçues. Le racisme est fondé sur des croyances et des comportements qui assument la supériorité biologique ou culturelle d’un groupe racial par rapport aux autres, ce qui donne du pouvoir et des privilèges au groupe dominant et se traduit par un traitement injuste et des occasions limitées pour les autres.

Transphobie – Désigne des attitudes et sentiments négatifs envers les personnes transgenres ou de genre non binaire, et génère des effets systémiques de souffrance, de discrimination et de violence.

Violence entre partenaires intimes – Dommages corporels, sexuels ou psychologiques qui surviennent dans le cadre de relations intimes, notamment dans le cadre du mariage, de la cohabitation et des fréquentations amoureuses. La négligence et le harcèlement sont aussi des formes de violence entre partenaires intimes. Celle-ci peut se produire pendant la relation ou après une rupture. On peut la rencontrer tant dans les relations hétérosexuelles qu’homosexuelles. La violence peut être perpétrée par un seul des partenaires ou par les deux. Voir aussi : violence familiale

Violence fondée sur le sexe – Toute forme de violence exercée contre une personne en raison de son sexe, de son identité sexuelle, de l’expression de cette identité ou du sexe auquel on l’identifie. La violence fondée sur le sexe prend de nombreuses formes, y compris la violence physique, économique, sexuelle, psychologique et affective.

Violence familiale – Toute forme de mauvais traitement ou de négligence à l’égard d’une personne — enfant ou adulte — de la part d’une ou un membre de sa famille ou de quelqu’un avec qui elle a un lien de confiance ou de dépendance très étroit. Il s’agit d’un abus de pouvoir qui a pour but de la contrôler ou de la blesser.

Date de modification :