1980 Recipients

Germaine Bellemare-Goudreault
Nicolet, Quebec

Germaine Bellemare-Goudreault contributed a great deal to humanitarian and social movements in her own community, in her region and in her province. She promoted the status of women in rural communities and was active in the educational field within Quebec.

Ella Manuel
Bonne Bay, Newfoundland

Ella Manuel is a writer who has written particularly for children aiming to make them conscious of social issues. A writer and researcher for the CBC, she submitted a brief to the Royal Commission on the Status of Women on the loneliness and isolation faced by women of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Elizabeth Monk
Montreal, Quebec

Elizabeth Monk was a tireless champion in the struggle for women's rights, especially in the province of Quebec. In 1942, she and another woman became the first women to win admission to the Bar of Quebec. She was legal counsel for the League for Women's Rights and lobbied for women's franchise which was granted in Quebec in 1940.

Agnes Semmler
Inuvik, Northwest Territories

Agnes Semmler is a pioneer in achieving recognition for native people's involvement in community, regional and national affairs. In 1975 she was the first northern native woman to be appointed Justice of the Peace.

Sophie Steadman
Ottawa, Ontario

Sophie Steadman has devoted all of her life to the improvement of the status of women. She lobbied vigorously for the establishment of the Canadian Human Rights Commission and the Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women. She has served on the executive of a number of national women's organizations.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1980

Germaine Bellemare-Goudreault
Nicolet (Québec)

Germaine Bellemare-Goudreault a fait un apport important aux mouvements humanitaires et sociaux dans sa propre ville, dans sa région et dans sa province. Elle a servi la cause de l'amélioration de la femme dans les collectivités rurales et a oeuvré dans le domaine de l'éducation au Québec.

Ella Manuel
Bonne Bay (Terre-Neuve)

Ella Manuel est un écrivain qui s'est addressée principalement aux enfant, visant à les sensibiliser aux questions sociales. Rédactrice et recherchiste à Radio-Canada, elle a présenté à la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme un mémoire sur la solitude et l'isolement que connaissent les femmes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador.

Elizabeth Monk
Montréal (Québec)

Elizabeth Monk a été une combattante infatigable dans la lutte pour les droits de la femme, en particulier dans la province de Québec. En 1942, elle et une collègue ont été les premières femmes admises au barreau du Québec. Elle a été conseillère juridique de la Ligue pour les droits de la femme et fait pression pour obtenir le droit de vote pour les femmes, qui a été accordé en 1940 dans la province.

Agnes Semmler
Inuvik (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

Agnes Semmler a fait du travail de pionnière pour faire reconnaître la participation des autochtones aux affaires communautaires, régionales et nationales. En 1975, elle a été la première autochtone du Nord nommée juge de paix.

Sophie Steadman
Ottawa (Ontario)

Sophie Steadman a consacré sa vie entière à l'amélioration de la situation de la femme. Elle a exercé de vigoureuses pressions pour la création de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne et du Conseil consultatif canadien de la situation de la femme. Elle a été membre du bureau de direction de divers organismes féminins nationaux.

Date de modification :