1981 Recipients

Barbara Cadbury
Oakville, Ontario

Barbara Cadbury has done extensive work in the field of family planning in the Caribbean, the United States, Asia and Canada. She lobbied for changes to Canada's Criminal Code regarding contraception. In 1969, changes were made to the Criminal Code in this regard.

Agnes Davidson
Regina, Saskatchewan

Agnes Davidson has been a pioneer in the development of the status of women in Canada for more than 60 years. She was responsible for the creation of the Regina Status of Women and was a member of the Committee which set up the Saskatchewan Action Committee on the Status of Women. She worked with the Council of Women locally, provincially and nationally and with the University Women's Club of Regina for more than 50 years. She has been actively involved in many other voluntary organizations.

Muriel Duckworth
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Muriel Duckworth has had more than 50 years of involvement with status of women issues. She has played a major role in the creation of more than twelve voluntary organizations. They include the Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women and Sport and the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women. She has served on the executive of many organizations including Voice of Women Canada.

Florence Fernet Martel
Montreal, Quebec

Florence Fernet Martel worked tirelessly as Secretary of La Ligue pour les droits de la femme to obtain the right to vote for women in Quebec. She was a co-founder and first Vice-President of the University Women's Club of Montreal and a member of many other voluntary organizations.

Cornelia Wood
Stony Plain, Alberta

Cornelia Wood has worked with the Women's Institutes for several decades. A former member of Alberta's Legislative Assembly, she represented the Stony Plain Constituency for 22 years, a longer period of service than that done by any other woman.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1981

Barbara Cadbury
Oakville (Ontario)

Barbara Cadbury a longuement oeuvré dans le domaine de la planification des naissances dans les Antilles, aux États-Unis, en Asie et au Canada. Elle a mené campagne pour faire adopter des changements au Code criminel en matière de contraception. En 1969, des modifications ont été apportées au Code criminel sur ce point.

Agnes Davidson
Regina (Saskatchewan)

Agnes Davidson a été l'une des pionnières de la promotion de la condition féminine au Canada : elle y a travaillé pendant plus de 60 ans. On lui doit la création de l'organisme Situation de la femme de Regina et elle a fait partie du comité qui a mis sur pied le Comité d'action de la Saskatchewan sur la situation de la femme. Elle a oeuvré au sein du Conseil des femmes sur le plan local, provincial et national et au sein du Cercle des diplômées des universités de Regina pendant plus de 50 ans. Elle a joué un rôle actif dans de nombreux autres organismes bénévoles.

Muriel Duckworth
Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Muriel Duckworth s'est occupée pendant plus de 50 ans des questions touchant la situation de la femme. Elle a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la création de plus de douze organismes bénévoles, notamment l'Association canadienne pour l'avancement des femmes et du sport et l'Institut canadien de recherches pour l'avancement de la femme. Elle a été membre du bureau de direction de nombreux organismes, entre autres La Voix des femmes.

Florence Fernet Martel
Montréal (Québec)

Florence Fernet Martel n'a pas ménagé ses efforts, dans son poste de secrétaire de la Ligue pour les droits de la femme, en vue d'obtenir le droit de vote pour les femmes du Québec. Elle a été co-fondatrice et première vice-présidente du Cercle des femmes universitaires de Montréal et membre de nombreux organismes bénévoles.

Cornelia Wood
Stony Plain (Alberta)

Cornelia Wood a oeuvré au sein des Instituts féminins du Canada pendant plusieurs décennies. Ex-députée à l'Assemblée législative de l'Alberta, elle a représenté la circonscription de Stony Plain pendant 22 ans, plus longtemps qu'aucune autre femme.

Date de modification :