1984 Recipients

Gert Beadle
Thunder Bay, Ontario

Her many years of dedication to her community include being a board member of the Thunder Bay Women's Centre and a founding member of the Northern Women's Credit Union. She was also the first president of Crisis Homes Inc. '76, an organization providing support services to battered women. A writer, and a Collective Member of the Northern Woman's Journal, she has published two volumes of poetry.

Dorothy Livesay
Galiano Island, British Columbia

One of Canada's foremost women poets, she received the Governor General's Medal for Poetry in 1944 and 1947. She is a writer with a feminist perspective and has been Writer in Residence at two Canadian universities. Among her publications are The Unquiet Bed, A Winnipeg Childhood, Right Hand, Left Hand, and The Phases of Love.

Azilda Marchand
L'Ange-Gardien, Quebec

A teacher both at the elementary and high school levels, as well as in adult education, she was President of L'Union catholique des femmes rurales de St-Hyacinthe from 1961 to 1966. She was a founding member of L'Association féminine d'éducation et d'action sociale (AFÉAS) in 1966, and its President from 1970 to 1975. In recognition of her many achievements, the AFÉAS recently created the Prix Azilda Marchand in recognition of her outstanding contributions in the field of social work and women's rights.

Sybil Shack
Winnipeg, Manitoba

As a classroom teacher and elementary and high school principal from 1930 to 1976, she fought successfully for women teachers to be paid at the same rate as men. A member of the Manitoba Law Reform Commission from 1971 to 1979, she presently co-chairs the Legislative Review Committee of the Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties, and is a member of the Advisory Board of the Centre on Aging of the University of Manitoba.

Norah Vernon Toole
Castalia, Grand Manan, New Brunswick

After graduating from McGill University in 1929 with a degree in chemistry, she moved to Fredericton. She was a founding member of the Women's Study Club, which pressed for women's rights in various areas. In 1966, she organized the Fredericton Voice of Women. She is a committed peace activist, and involved with Amnesty International.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1984

Gert Beadle
Thunder Bay (Ontario)

Au cours de ses nombreuses années de dévouement pour sa communauté, elle a été membre exécutif du Centre des femmes et l'une des fondatrices du Northern Women's Credit Union. Elle fut également la première présidente de Crisis Homes Inc. '76, un organisme offrant des services d'assistance aux femmes battues. écrivain et membre collectif du Northern Woman's Journal, elle a publié deux ouvrages de poésie.

Dorothy Livesay
Galiano Island (Colombie-Britannique)

En tant que poète de grande renommée, elle a reçu la Médaille de la Poésie du Gouverneur général en 1944 et 1947. Ses ouvrages ont une perspective féministe. Elle a été écrivain en résidence dans deux universités canadiennes. Parmi ses publications, on note The Unquiet Bed, A Winnipeg Childhood, Right Hand, Left Hand, et The Phases of Love.

Azilda Marchand
L'Ange-Gardien (Québec)

Elle s'est dévouée à l'enseignement primaire, secondaire et pour les adultes. Elle fut dans la région de St-Hyacinthe la Présidente de l'Union catholique des femmes rurales de 1961 à 1966. Elle participa ensuite à la fondation en 1966 de l'AFÉAS (l'Association féminine d'éducation et d'action sociale), et en fut la présidente de 1970 à 1975. L'AFÉAS a créé récemment le Prix Azilda Marchand pour souligner ses nombreuses contributions à l'action sociale.

Sybil Shack
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Comme institutrice et directrice d'école secondaire de 1930 à 1976, elle a combattu avec succès pour obtenir la parité de salaire entre les professeurs masculins et féminins. Membre de la Commission de la réforme du droit du Manitoba de 1971 à 1979, elle co-préside actuellement le Comité de révision législative de l'Association manitobaine pour la défense des droits et libertés. De plus, elle est membre du Conseil consultatif du Centre de gérontologie de l'Université du Manitoba.

Norah Vernon Toole
Castalia, Grand Manan (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Après avoir obtenu un diplôme en chimie de l'Université McGill en 1929, elle a ensuite habité Fredericton. Elle fut un membre fondateur du Women's Study Club, lequel défendait les droits des femmes dans différents domaines. En 1966, elle a organisé la Voix des Femmes de Fredericton. Elle est une pacifiste engagée, et participe aux activités d'Amnesty International.

Date de modification :