1995 Recipients

Marthe Asselin Vaillancourt
Jonquière, Québec

She has made the prevention of violence against women, children and the elderly an active crusade for more than 20 years as an educator, researcher, advocate and grassroots activist. She was co-chair of the Canadian Panel on Violence Against Women, and is director of the Centre d'aide aux victimes d'actes criminels, which grew out of a pilot project she conceived with the Quebec Provincial Police to deal with violence against women.

Dr. May Cohen
Burlington, Ontario

A leading proponent of the need to consider gender issues in medicine, she has repeatedly challenged the medical profession on the way it deals with the health concerns of female patients and the role played by women physicians. Currently Associate Dean of Health Sciences at McMaster University, she is recognized for her keen interest in women's health issues and for her work to promote gender equality in the medical profession.

Ruth Flowers
Makkovik, Labrador

Deeply committed to achieving positive change in the lives of women, she has given voice to the needs and aspirations of the women of the north shore of Labrador. As the first woman mayor of her community, and as founding president of Inuit Women of the Torngats, she has sought to protect women victimized by violence, to involve women in economic development and to promote the traditional culture of Inuit women.

Sheila Kingham
Victoria, British Columbia

A steadfast supporter of rural women, her efforts to advance women's political, social and economic equality have been characterized by her ability to encourage and empower others. As rural coordinator for the Manitoba Action Committee on the Status of Women, she brought the women's movement to rural communities, giving women the means and the encouragement to take collective action to realize their goals.

Carolyn G. Thomas
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

A motivator and leader in efforts to broaden opportunities for black women in employment, business, organizations and the community, her efforts as a human rights activist helped lead to the establishment of the Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission. She is a founder of the Mary Preston Historical Society, dedicated to raising awareness of the historical and contemporary contributions of women.

Alice E. Tyler
Edmonton, Alberta

She has dedicated her artistic talent to the advancement of women, seeking, wherever possible, to portray their contribution to society. A central focus of her life's work through art has been the portrayal of the Famous Five women who championed the Persons Case, and her promotion of what they stood for in their advocacy of the rights of women.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 1995

Marthe Asselin Vaillancourt
Jonquière (Québec)

Depuis plus de vingt ans, elle milite activement pour la prévention de la violence faite aux femmes, aux enfants et aux personnes âgées, en sa qualité d'éducatrice, de chercheure, de défenseure et d'activiste communautaire. Elle a été coprésidente du Comité canadien sur la violence faite aux femmes et elle est directrice du Centre d'aide aux victimes d'actes criminels, qui est né d'un projet pilote qu'elle a mis sur pied de concert avec la Sûreté du Québec pour lutter contre la violence envers les femmes.

Dre May Cohen
Burlington (Ontario)

Promotrice de premier plan de la nécessité de se pencher sur les questions spécifiques aux sexes en médecine, le Dre Cohen a maintes fois contesté la façon dont la profession médicale traite les problèmes de santé des patientes et le rôle que jouent les femmes médecins. Elle est actuellement vice-doyenne des sciences de la santé à l'Université McMaster. Elle se distingue par le vif intérê;t qu'elle porte aux questions de santé des femmes et par ses efforts visant à favoriser l'égalité des sexes dans le milieu médical.

Ruth Flowers
Makkovik (Labrador)

Fermement résolue à améliorer la qualité de vie des femmes, elle exprime les besoins et les aspirations des femmes de la côte nord du Labrador. En tant que première femme maire de sa collectivité, et de présidente fondatrice d'« Inuit Women of the Torngats », elle s'évertue à protéger les femmes victimes de violence, à faire participer les femmes au développement économique et à promouvoir la culture traditionnelle des femmes inuites.

Sheila Kingham
Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)

Elle est une ardente protectrice des femmes des régions rurales, et les efforts qu'elle déploie pour obtenir l'égalité politique, sociale et économique des femmes sont caractérisés par son aptitude à encourager et à responsabiliser les autres. En sa qualité de coordonnatrice rurale du Comité d'action du Manitoba sur la situation de la femme, elle a donné naissance au mouvement des femmes dans les collectivités rurales, de façon à doter les femmes du courage et des moyens voulus pour travailler collectivement à l'atteinte de leurs buts.

Carolyn G. Thomas
Dartmouth (Nouvelle-écosse)

Motivatrice et chef de file des efforts visant à accroître les possibilités offertes aux femmes de race noire dans le secteur de l'emploi, en affaires, au sein d'organisations et dans la collectivité, cette championne des droits de la personne a contribué à l'établissement de la Commission des droits de la personne de la Nouvelle-écosse. Elle est l'une des fondatrices de la Société historique Mary Preston, vouée à la mise en valeur des contributions historiques et contemporaines des femmes.

Alice E. Tyler
Edmonton (Alberta)

Elle consacre son talent artistique à l'avancement des femmes en s'évertuant, dans la mesure du possible, à représenter leur contribution à la société. L'un des thèmes centraux de son oeuvre a été de faire le portrait des cinq femmes célèbres qui se sont faites les championnes de l'affaire « personne », et de promouvoir les idéaux qu'elles poursuivaient en défendant les droits des femmes.

Date de modification :