2006 Recipients

Maureen Kempston Darkes
Toronto, Ontario

Maureen Kempston Darkes is a long-time advocate for women. In 1983, she co-founded the General Motors of Canada National Women's Advisory Council. It serves as a forum for addressing women's concerns about the work-life balance and barriers to their success, and to challenge the corporation to support women's career advancement. Under her leadership, the Council has been instrumental in opening doors for women. A true role model and woman of achievement, Maureen Kempston Darkes is the first woman to serve as President of General Motors of Canada Limited (GMCL). After graduating from the University of Toronto Law School, she joined the GMCL legal team, advancing into increasingly senior positions in the corporation's American and Canadian offices. By the 1990s, she had become GMCL Vice President of Corporate Affairs, a member of the Board of Directors, and General Counsel and Secretary. A dedicated volunteer, she chaired major gifts for the Women's College Hospital Fund-Raising Campaigns and co-chaired the British Columbia Cancer Foundation's Millennium Campaign. In 1997, she received the Order of Ontario and in 2000, the Order of Canada. In 1998, the American Bar Association honoured her with the Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award. In 2005, she received the R.V.A. Jones Canadian Corporate Counsel Award. She hails from Toronto.

Joyce Hancock
Stephenville, Newfoundland and Labrador

Joyce Hancock has spent nearly three decades as an advocate and activist for women's equality, equity and inclusion. A strong proponent of grassroots economic development and social justice, Ms. Hancock served as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Newfoundland and Labrador Advisory Council on the Status of Women from 1996 to 2006. An inspired feminist leader, she also helped organize and co-chaired a national coalition of provincial and territorial Advisory Councils on the Status of Women; helped guide a provincial ministerial committee on violence against women; worked with the Premier's Council on the development of a social audit as well as on integrated social and economic policy and regional decision making; and organized a successful lobby for provincial funding to women's centres. She assisted with the formation of the Newfoundland and Labrador Elizabeth Fry Society and the Women in Resource Development Committee, which works to increase women's participation in resource-based training and employment. Under Ms. Hancock's leadership, the Advisory Council spent 2000 visiting women in communities throughout the province; brought hundreds together in a conference entitled Exploring Common Ground; and coordinated participation by women and women's groups in the World March of Women. She was a founding member of the Bay St. George Women's Council and served as Executive Director of the Council and Coordinator of the Bay St. George Women's Centre in her home community of Stephenville from 1985 to 1996. In 1994, Ms. Hancock was chosen by OXFAM Canada to serve as a peace monitor/election observer in South Africa's first post-apartheid elections. A mother of two adult children, a daughter and a son, she now lives in St. John's.

Doreen McKenzie-Sanders
Vancouver, British Columbia

As an award-winning journalist, educator and publisher, Doreen McKenzie-Sanders, Executive Director of Women in the Lead Inc., has dedicated herself to advancing equality for women. Her focus is the business world, where women hold only 11.2 percent of board-of-director positions in Canada's top 500 companies (Catalyst, 2003). She is also the driving force behind Women in the Lead/Femmes de Tête directory. The third edition has just been published. Women in the Lead Inc. is a unique Canadian non-profit corporation dedicated to creating and promoting this national directory listing the résumés of over 550 women whose professional expertise and experience make them ideal candidates for appointment to corporate boards. Ms. McKenzie-Sanders began her career while still a teenager, writing for The Vancouver Daily Province newspaper. Today, her career spans six decades and includes many milestones, such as being the first woman to publish and edit Business Quarterly, a management magazine formerly published by the Ivey School of Business, and the first woman elected to serve as president of the Business Press Editors Association and as a board member of the Canadian Business Press Association. As an educator, Ms. McKenzie-Sanders created, and for 15 years, taught a course in magazine publishing at The University of Western Ontario, where she was also appointed to the Native Peoples Program in Journalism. For many summers, she taught the Radcliffe Publishing Course, Harvard University. Ms. McKenzie-Sanders has served on the boards of a number of non-profit organizations including the YWCA/YMCA and the Thames Valley Children's Centre. Ms. McKenzie-Sanders, who is a member of the Order of Canada and holds numerous achievement awards, lives in Vancouver.

Jan Reimer
Edmonton, Alberta

Throughout her long and distinguished career, Jan Reimer has worked tirelessly to promote safe communities and ensure the well-being of society's most vulnerable members – seniors, youth and women in abusive relationships. Since 2002, she has served as provincial coordinator of the Alberta Council of Women's Shelters (ACWS), which represents 41 women's shelters across the province. Ms. Reimer has helped propel the organization into a leadership role on issues of family violence in Alberta and enhanced awareness and support for ACWS through her innovative approaches to advocacy. Prior to ACWS, she worked as a consultant, developing, among other things, the Senior FriendlyTM Program, now being implemented across Canada. Ms. Reimer has also worked diligently to support First Nations shelters in Alberta in developing a strategy to address the large disparity in funding between First Nations shelters and provincially funded shelters. An alderman for nine years, Ms. Reimer went on to serve as Mayor of the City of Edmonton from 1989 to 1995. During her two terms in office, she undertook a number of strategic initiatives, including: the Mayor's Task Force on Safer Cities, a Youth Advisory Committee, a diversity initiative, an economic development strategy, the Mayor's Task Force on Investment in the Arts and equitable hiring practices. Ms. Reimer lives in Edmonton.

Seema Shah (Youth Award)
Markham, Ontario

Recipient of the 2006 Youth Award, Seema Shah has dedicated herself to advancing gender equality by advocating for women with disabilities, and women who have experienced various forms of abuse. Ms. Shah has represented disabled and abused women in their claims to the Social Benefits Tribunal and Criminal Injuries Compensation Board, and provides victim witness assistance to women. She has engaged in various legislative reform and public education efforts in areas of health law, policing and mental health to improve the quality of life for these women. Presently a third year student at Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto, in 2001, Ms. Shah coordinated fundraising for the Riverdale Immigrant Women's Centre. She helped to plan the 2002 International Women's Health Meeting. In 2003-2004, as chair of McMaster University's Gender Equality Committee, Ms. Shah directed the White Ribbon Campaign to end violence against women. In 2005-2006, through her work with Probono Students Canada, she created a ground-breaking legal information booklet to help Afghan women access legal advice on issues such as domestic abuse, divorce and child custody. A recipient of numerous academic and community achievement awards, Ms. Shah lives in Markham.

Charlotte Thibault
Montréal, Quebec

For over 25 years, Charlotte Thibault has worked both in volunteer and paid work to advance equality, and to build bridges between the women of Quebec, and women in the rest of Canada and around the world. Through her dynamic leadership on the board of directors and as co-president of the Canadian Women's Foundation, Ms. Thibault was instrumental in building the organization and establishing its solid reputation as the only national public foundation dedicated to women and girls. She has also served as executive director of the Association des collaboratrices et partenaires en affaires and the Fédération des femmes du Qué;bec. As a volunteer, she has dedicated her expertise and vision to the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women, the Canadian Feminist Alliance for International Action and the World March of Women, to name only a few of the organizations that have benefited from her contributions. She has trained people in Canada and internationally in the use of gender-based analysis and has advocated its use. Ms. Thibault played a significant role in representing Canada in the international women's movement from the preparations for the Fourth World Conference on Women, held in Beijing, China in 1995, to its follow up and beyond. Ms. Thibault lives in Montréal.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2006

Maureen Kempston Darkes
Toronto (Ontario)

Maureen Kempston Darkes se consacre depuis longtemps à la cause des femmes. En 1983, elle a participé à la fondation du General Motors of Canada National Women's Advisory Council (GMC NWAC), un forum où l'on aborde les préoccupations des femmes concernant l'équilibre entre la vie professionnelle et la vie familiale et les obstacles à la réussite, et où l'on encourage l'entreprise à appuyer l'avancement professionnel des femmes. Sous sa direction, le GMC NWAC a joué un rôle essentiel en offrant de nouvelles perspectives aux femmes. Reconnue pour ses réalisations, qui en font un modèle, Maureen Kempston Darkes est la première femme à occuper la présidence de General Motors of Canada Limited (GMCL). Après l'obtention d'un diplôme en droit de l'Université de Toronto, elle s'est jointe aux services juridiques de GMCL et a ensuite occupé des postes de plus en plus importants dans l'entreprise, aux États-Unis et au Canada. Pendant les années 990, elle a occupé les postes de vice-présidente des Affaires générales, de membre du conseil de direction et d'avocate générale et secrétaire. Cette bénévole dévouée a présidé l'équipe responsable des donateurs majeurs dans le cadre de campagnes de financement du Women's College Hospital, et a coprésidé la campagne « Millenium » de la British Columbia Cancer Foundation. En 1997, elle a reçu l'Ordre de l'Ontario et en 2000, l'Ordre du Canada. En 1998, l'American Bar Association lui a décerné la distinction honorifique « Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award ». En 2005, elle a reçu le R.V.A. Jones Canadian Corporate Counsel Award. Elle vit à Toronto.

Joyce Hancock
Stephenville (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Joyce Hancock oeuvre depuis près de trois décennies pour l'inclusion, l'équité et l'égalité pour les femmes. Fervente défenseuse du développement économique communautaire et de la justice sociale, Mme Hancock a occupé les fonctions de présidente et de directrice générale du conseil consultatif de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador sur la condition féminine de 1996 à 2006. En meneuse éclairée, elle a également aidé à mettre sur pied la coalition nationale des conseils consultatifs provinciaux et territoriaux sur la condition féminine, une coalition qu'elle a d'ailleurs coprésidée; elle a orienté le comité ministériel de sa province sur la violence faite aux femmes; elle a participé aux efforts du conseil du premier ministre en vue de mettre au point un bilan social et d'intégrer les considérations sociales à la politique économique et aux décisions régionales dans ce domaine; enfin, elle a orchestré les pressions en faveur d'un financement provincial des centres pour femmes. Mme Hancock a également joué un rôle dans la création de la Société Elizabeth Fry de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et du Women in Resource Development Committee, un comité ayant pour mandat d'accroître la présence des femmes dans les programmes de formation et les emplois du secteur primaire. En l'an 2000, sous sa gouverne, le comité consultatif est parti à la rencontre des Terre-Neuviennes et des Labradoriennes dans leurs collectivités, il en a aussi réuni quelques centaines pour une conférence intitulée Exploring Common Ground et, enfin, il a coordonné la participation des femmes et des groupes de femmes de la province à la Marche mondiale des femmes. Mme Hancock était parmi les membres fondatrices du Bay St. George Women's Council, organisme dont elle a subséquemment été secrétaire générale. Elle a aussi été coordonnatrice du Bay St. George Women's Centre de Stephenville, son lieu de naissance, de 1985 à 1996. En 1994, OXFAM Canada lui a confié le rôle de surveillante de la paix et d'observatrice électorale lors des premières élections après-apartheid en Afrique du Sud. Mme Hancock a un fils et une fille d'âge adulte et vit aujourd'hui à St. John's.

Doreen McKenzie-Sanders
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Journaliste, éducatrice et éditrice primée, Doreen McKenzie-Sanders, directrice générale de Women in the Lead Inc., s'emploie à promouvoir l'égalité pour les femmes. Son secteur d'intervention est l e monde des affaires, où les femmes ne représentent que 11,2 p. 100 des membres des conseils d'administration des 500 premières entreprises canadiennes (Catalyst, 2003). C'est aussi sous sa direction qu'a été publié le répertoire Femmes de Tête/ Women in the Lead, dont la troisième édition vient de paraître. Women in the Lead Inc. est une société canadienne sans but lucratif unique dédiée à la création et la promotion de ce répertoire national contenant le curriculum vitae de plus de 550 femmes qui possèdent l'expertise et l'expérience professionnelles voulues pour siéger à des conseils d'administration. Mme McKenzie-Sanders a commencé sa carrière comme rédactrice au Vancouver Daily Province lorsqu'elle était encore adolescente. Sa carrière couvre aujourd'hui six décennies et englobe de multiples réalisations : elle a notamment été la première femme à publier et éditer Business Quarterly, une revue de gestion autrefois publiée par l'Ivey School of Business, ainsi que la première femme à être élue présidente de la Business Press Editors Association et membre du conseil d'administration de la Canadian Business Press Association. En tant qu'éducatrice, Mme McKenzie-Sanders a créé et enseigné pendant 15 ans un cours en édition de magazines à l'Université Western Ontario, où elle a aussi travaillé au programme autochtone en journalisme. Elle a passé de nombreux étés à enseigner le cours d'édition de Radcliffe à l'Université Harvard. Mme McKenzie-Sanders a siégé au conseil d'administration de plusieurs organismes sans but lucratif, dont le YWCA/YMCA et le Thames Valley Children's Centre. Mme McKenzie, qui est membre de l'Ordre du Canada et lauréate de nombreux prix d'excellence, habite à Vancouver.

Jan Reimer
Edmonton (Alberta)

Au cours de sa longue et illustre carrière, madame Reimer a travaillé sans relâche à promouvoir la sécurité au sein des collectivités et à assurer le bien-être des membres les plus vulnérables de la société - les aînés, les jeunes et les femmes engagées dans une relation marquée par la violence. Depuis 2002, elle agit à titre de coordonnatrice provinciale pour l'Alberta Council of Women's Shelters (ACWS), qui représente 41 refuges pour femmes situés en territoire albertain. Madame Reimer a aidé l'ACWS à s'imposer comme l'un des leaders en ce qui a trait aux enjeux liés à la violence familiale en Alberta et a réussi, grâce à ses approches novatrices en matière de défense des droits, à faire connaître davantage l'ACWS et à améliorer le soutien qui lui est accordé. Avant d'être au service de l'ACWS, madame Reimer a travaillé comme experte-conseil, aidant entre autres à élaborer le Senior FriendlyTM Program, que l'on est actuellement à mettre en oeuvre à l'échelle du pays. Elle a également travaillé activement à aider les responsables des refuges des Premières nations en Alberta à mettre au point une stratégie destinée à réduire les écarts considérables existant entre le financement des refuges des Premières nations et celui des autres refuges subventionnés par la province. Après ses neuf années passées en qualité de conseillère municipale, madame Reimer a occupé le poste de mairesse de la ville d'Edmonton, de 1989 à 1995. Au cours de ses deux mandats, elle a lancé une série d'initiatives stratégiques au nombre desquelles figurent : un groupe d'étude de la mairesse pour une sécurité accrue en milieu urbain, un comité consultatif sur la jeunesse, une initiative sur la diversité, une stratégie de développement économique, un groupe d'étude de la mairesse concernant les investissements dans le domaine des arts, ainsi qu'une initiative liée aux pratiques équitables en matière d'embauche. Madame Reimer vit à Edmonton.

Seema Shah (Prix jeunesse)
Markham (Ontario)

Récipiendaire du prix Jeunesse de la fête du Canada en 2006, Seema Shah se consacre à la promotion de l'égalité entre les sexes en prenant la défense des femmes handicapées et des femmes qui ont subi différentes formes de violence. Madame Shah a représenté des femmes handicapées et des femmes victimes de violence, dans leurs demandes adressées au Tribunal des prestations sociales et à la Commission d'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels, et elle fournit aux femmes des services d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins. Elle a participé à différentes réformes législatives et à des activités d'éducation du public dans les domaines du droit de la santé, du maintien de l'ordre et de la santé mentale afin d'améliorer la qualité de vie de ces femmes. Actuellement étudiante de troisième année à l'Osgoode Hall Law School de Toronto, Madame Shah a coordonné en 2001 une campagne de financement pour le Riverdale Immigrant Women's Centre. Elle a aidé à planifier la Rencontre internationale sur les femmes et la santé de 2002. En 2003-2004, à titre de présidente du Comité sur l'égalité entre les sexes de l'Université McMaster, Madame Shah a dirigé la Campagne du ruban blanc visant à mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes. En 2005-2006, dans le cadre de son travail avec Probono Students Canada, elle a créé une brochure d'information juridique innovatrice afin d'aider les femmes afghanes à avoir accès à des conseils juridiques sur des questions comme la violence familiale, le divorce et la garde d'enfants. Récipiendaire de nombreux prix de reconnaissance communautaire et prix universitaires, Madame Shah vit à Markham.

Charlotte Thibault
Montréal (Québec)

Depuis plus de 25 ans, Charlotte Thibault consacre son travail rémunéré tout autant que ses activités de bénévolat à la promotion de l'égalité pour les femmes et à l'établissement de liens entre les Québécoises et les autres Canadiennes, et les femmes d'ailleurs dans le monde. Grâce au leadership dynamique qu'elle a exercé au conseil d'administration et à titre de coprésidente de la Fondation des femmes canadiennes, Madame Thibault a joué un rôle irremplaçable dans le développement de cet organisme et dans la réputation qu'il s'est créée comme étant la seule fondation publique canadienne consacrée à l'avancement des femmes et des jeunes filles. Elle a également été directrice générale de l'Association des collaboratrices et partenaires en affaires et de la Fédération des femmes du Québec. C'est à titre de bénévole qu'elle a mis ses compétences et sa vision au service de l'Institut canadien de recherches sur les femmes, de l'Alliance canadienne féministe pour l'action internationale et de la Marche mondiale des femmes, pour ne nommer que quelques-unes des organisations qui ont pu bénéficier de ses talents. Elle a formé maintes personnes, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger, à l'analyse comparative entre les sexes, et partout elle a fait la promotion de cette approche. Madame Thibault a joué un rôle important en représentant le Canada au sein du mouvement international des femmes, depuis la préparation de la Quatrième conférence mondiale sur les femmes, tenue à Beijing (Chine) en 1995, jusqu'au suivi de cette rencontre et au-delà. Madame Thibault vit à Montréal.

Date de modification :