2007 Recipients

Dr. Mildred Burns
Montréal, Quebec

In her 25 years as a professor of educational administration at McGill University, Dr. Mildred Burns worked tirelessly to inspire students, men as well as women, to see beyond self-imposed limits and to promote women's full participation in senior educational roles. An inspired leader and mentor, Dr. Burns is widely appreciated as a connector of people with professional as well as personal opportunities. Among her many accomplishments, Dr. Burns helped win the right for staff and professionals at McGill to work beyond the age of 65. Retiring in 1994 at the age of 75, Dr. Burns continues her active participation in the Delta Kappa Gamma Society to ensure that women have access to the range of educational programs, from literacy to undergraduate and graduate programs, and the support they need to reach their full potential.

Shari Graydon
Kingston, Ontario

Shari Graydon is a tireless advocate for social justice, a passionate teacher and a prolific writer on the topic of women and the media. From 1992 to 2000, she served as President of MediaWatch, Canada's foremost proponent for gender equality in the media, using her leadership skills, sense of humour and communications expertise to promote awareness of media sexism and its impacts to tens of thousands of Canadians. As President of the Women's Future Fund, the first and only national women's fundraising federation in Canada, Ms. Graydon worked to increase collaboration among - and the profile of - national equality-seeking women's organizations, to ensure that all women and girls enjoy the full range of rights and opportunities that Canada offers. The author of numerous articles and two award-winning media literacy books, Ms. Graydon initiated the Annual Persons Day Reception on Parliament Hill.

Élaine Hémond
Québec City

Élaine Hémond is an inspired leader and a devoted advocate for women's equitable representation in government. A co-founder, former president and now Director of Femmes, politique et démocratie, Ms. Hémond has for almost 10 years instilled her passion in this organization dedicated to citizenship and democratic engagement. Using a variety of popular education methods and the partnership of politicians of both sexes and all political viewpoints, this group has helped open the corridors of power to many Quebec women. Thanks to the efforts of Femmes, politique et démocratie, women are increasingly aware of both their rights as well as their responsibilities for participating in decision-making processes that affect society, now and in the future. A brilliant researcher and journalist, Ms. Hémond is also an award-winning video producer. Her work has had a significant and lasting impact on the lives of Quebec women and men as well as on Canadian politics at all levels.

Wendy Robbins
Fredericton, New Brunswick

Dr. Wendy Robbins is a pioneer in the field of women's studies. A distinguished academic with a long list of accomplishments, she started publishing feminist literary criticism in the 1970s and co-founded the University of New Brunswick's Women's Studies Interdisciplinary Program in 1986. From 1992 to 1995, Dr. Robbins served as Director of Research for the Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women, where her tireless commitment and her deep-seated understanding of the socio-economic and legal issues affecting women led to significant advancements. Dr. Robbins also co-founded PAR-L, one of the world's first online feminist discussion lists. In addition, her efforts helped bring pay equity to the provincial civil service and improve access to Canada Research Chairs for women, Aboriginal people, visible minorities and persons with disabilities. Since 2001, Dr. Robbins has compiled the annual Ivory Towers: Feminist and Equity Audits.

Muriel Smith
Winnipeg, Manitoba

For almost half a century, Muriel Smith has worked tirelessly to bring about women's full participation in Canadian society. An inspired teacher and mentor, Ms. Smith was elected to the Manitoba Legislature in 1981 and went on to become the first woman in Canada to be named Deputy Premier. She also served in a number of Cabinet posts, including Minister Responsible for the Status of Women. Ms. Smith ushered in the first pay equity legislation in Canada, helped establish a network of women's shelters and a zero-tolerance domestic violence policy in the judicial system, developed a model childcare program, a comprehensive system of community supports for differently abled people, and dramatically increased women's representation in government. As current Vice-President of the National Council of Women of Canada and Legislation Director of the Canadian Federation of University Women, Ms. Smith remains active and steadfast in her vision.

Viviana Astudillo-Clavijo (Youth Award)
Toronto, Ontario

Viviana Astudillo-Clavijo is a devoted community volunteer, inspired mentor and gifted artist whose work addresses the challenges facing girls and young women in today's society. A passionate student advocate, Ms. Astudillo-Clavijo is described as both humble and wise beyond her years. Her colourful artwork has helped promote messages of peace, compassion and empowerment to young girls and has already won recognition and numerous local, national and international awards for this dynamic young woman. An active member of Empowered Students Partnerships, a student-led joint venture with the Toronto Police, Ms. Astudillo-Clavijo has worked tirelessly to promote school safety and end female bullying. Her artwork has appeared on murals, postcards, school yearbooks and the UNICEF Calendar, among others.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2007

Mildred Burns
Montréal (Québec)

Au cours de ses 25 ans de carrière comme professeure d'administration de l'enseignement à l'Université McGill, Mildred Burns a été une précieuse source d'inspiration pour les étudiantes et étudiants, les invitant à repousser les limites pour mieux voir grand. Elle a travaillé sans relâche à promouvoir la pleine participation des femmes aux postes supérieurs de l'enseignement. Chef de file et mentor, Mme Burns a toujours été très appréciée pour ses qualités de rassembleuse, sachant réunir les gens autour de projets professionnels ou personnels communs. Elle a également aidé le personnel et le corps universitaire de McGill à obtenir le droit de travailler au-delà de l'âge de 65 ans. Mme Burns, qui a pris sa retraite en 1994 à 75 ans, continue de participer activement à la Delta Kappa Gamma Society, pour promouvoir l'accès des femmes à l'ensemble des programmes d'éducation, depuis l'alphabétisation jusqu'aux divers cycles universitaires, et au soutien dont elles ont besoin pour atteindre leur plein potentiel.

Shari Graydon
Kingston (Ontario)

Défenseure indéfectible de la justice sociale et enseignante passionnée, Shari Graydon a beaucoup écrit sur les femmes et les médias. De 1992 à 2000, elle a été présidente de l'organisme « évaluation-médias », principal promoteur, au Canada, de l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes dans les médias. Elle a alors mis à profit ses compétences de chef de file, son sens de l'humour et son expertise en communications afin d'accroître la sensibilisation au sexisme dans les médias ainsi qu'à ses répercussions sur des dizaines de milliers de Canadiennes et de Canadiens. à titre de présidente de l'organisme « Les Fonds pour l'avenir des femmes », première et seule fédération nationale de femmes qui s'occupent de collecte de fonds, Mme Graydon s'est efforcée d'accroître la collaboration entre les groupes de femmes nationaux œuvrant pour l'égalité - et de rehausser leur profil - afin que toutes les femmes et les filles profitent des droits et des possibilités qu'offre le Canada. Auteure de nombreux articles et de deux livres primés d'initiation aux médias, Mme Graydon a instauré la réception annuelle de la Journée de l'affaire « personne », laquelle se tient sur la Colline du Parlement.

Élaine Hémond
Cap Rouge (Québec)

Élaine Hémond est une dirigeante inspirée et l'une des porte-étendards de la représentation équitable des femmes dans les gouvernements. Cofondatrice, présidente puis directrice du Groupe Femmes, Politique et Démocratie, elle a, depuis près de dix ans, insufflé sa passion à cet organisme dédié à la formation citoyenne et à l'engagement démocratique. Misant sur l'andragogie et, surtout, sur le partenariat de femmes et d'hommes politiques de tous les horizons, ce groupe a contribué à ouvrir les portes du pouvoir à de nombreuses Québécoises. Grâce aux actions du Groupe Femmes, Politique et Démocratie, les femmes sont de plus en plus conscientes non seulement de leur droit, mais aussi de leur devoir de participer à toutes les décisions qui ont une incidence sur le présent et le futur de la société. Chercheuse et journaliste brillante, Mme Hémond est aussi une productrice vidéo reconnue. Ses travaux ont eu une influence considérable et durable sur la vie des Québécoises et des Québécois, ainsi que sur la politique canadienne, et ce, à tous les niveaux.

Wendy Robbins
Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Wendy Robbins est une pionnière dans le domaine des études féministes. Universitaire distinguée ayant à son actif une longue liste de réalisations, elle a commencé à publier des critiques littéraires féministes au cours des années 1970. Elle a aussi été cofondatrice, en 1986, du Programme interdisciplinaire d'études sur les femmes de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. De 1992 à 1995, Mme Robbins a été directrice de la recherche pour le Conseil consultatif canadien sur la situation de la femme, au sein duquel son engagement indéfectible et sa profonde compréhension des questions socio-économiques et juridiques qui touchent les femmes ont été à l'origine de progrès considérables. Elle a aussi été cofondatrice de PAR-L, l'une des premières listes de discussion féministe en ligne au monde. En outre, ses efforts ont contribué à l'instauration de l'équité salariale au sein de la fonction publique provinciale et à l'amélioration de l'accès aux chaires de recherche du Canada aux femmes, aux personnes autochtones, aux membres de minorités visibles et aux personnes ayant une déficience. Depuis 2001, Mme Robbins compile le document annuel intitulé Tours d'ivoire - Vérifications féministes.

Muriel Smith
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Depuis près d'un demi-siècle, Muriel Smith travaille sans relâche à la promotion de la pleine participation des femmes à la société canadienne. Enseignante et conseillère inspirée, Mme Smith a été élue à l'Assemblée législative du Manitoba en 1981 et elle est devenue la première femme au Canada à être nommée vice-première ministre. Elle a aussi occupé un certain nombre de postes au sein du Cabinet, dont celui de ministre responsable de la Condition féminine. Mme Smith a été à l'origine de la première mesure législative au Canada sur l'équité salariale, elle a contribué à la création d'un réseau de centres d'hébergement pour les femmes et à l'instauration, dans le système judiciaire, d'une politique de tolérance zéro à l'égard de la violence familiale. Elle a conçu un programme modèle de services de garde d'enfants, ainsi qu'un vaste système de mesures de soutien communautaire pour les personnes ayant une déficience. En outre, elle a accru considérablement la représentation des femmes au sein du gouvernement. à titre de vice-présidente actuelle du Conseil national des femmes du Canada et de directrice de la législation de la Fédération canadienne des femmes diplômées des universités, Mme Smith demeure active et elle maintient le cap sur sa vision.

Viviana Astudillo-Clavijo (Prix jeunesse)
Toronto (Ontario)

Bénévole dévouée au sein de la collectivité, mentor tout autant qu'artiste douée, Viviana Astudillo-Clavijo s'intéresse aux défis auxquels sont confrontées les filles et les jeunes femmes dans la société actuelle. Humble mais avertie malgré son jeune âge, dit-on, Mme Astudillo-Clavijo est aussi une défenseure passionnée des étudiantes et des étudients. Ses œuvres d'art aux couleurs vives sont porteuses de messages de paix, de compassion et d'autonomisation des jeunes filles et ont déjà valu une reconnaissance et de nombreux prix à cette jeune créatrice dynamique, ici comme à l'étranger. Elles ont fait l'objet de pièces murales, de cartes postales et ont été reproduites notamment dans des annuaires scolaires et des calendriers de l'UNICEF. Membre actif d'élèves Super Partenaires, un projet de partenariat dirigé par des étudiants qui regroupe le service de police de Toronto ainsi que d'autres partenaires, Mme Astudillo-Clavijo s'est appliquée sans relâche à promouvoir la sécurité dans les écoles et à mettre fin à l'intimidation des filles et des jeunes femmes.

Date de modification :