2009 Recipients

Jeannette Corbiere Lavell

Well-known role model and advocate for Aboriginal women, Jeannette Corbiere Lavell is a fluent speaker and teacher of Ojibway language and culture and a member of the Anishinabek Nation. In 1970, Jeannette married a non-Aboriginal man, resulting in loss of her Indian status. In a landmark court challenge, she fought to regain her status, losing the final case by a single vote in the Supreme Court of Canada. Jeannette was instrumental in founding the Ontario Native Women's Association, the Native Women's Association of Canada and Indigenous Women of the Americas. With Bill C-31's passage in 1985, Jeannette's status was reinstated, along with that of her three children, to the Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve. In 2002, she received the Anishinabek Nation Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2008, she became the first Anishinabek Nation Commissioner on Citizenship. Jeannette sits on the boards of Debajehmujig Theatre Group and the Ronathahonni Cultural Centre, and on the National Aboriginal Health Organization executive. Jeannette lives in Wikwemikong, Ontario.

Daphne E. Dumont

Daphne Dumont earned her law degree at Oxford University in 1976, becoming the first woman admitted to study law at any of the Oxford men's colleges. She became the third woman president of the Canadian Bar Association (CBA), and its first-ever president from Prince Edward Island. Daphne is a founding member of the Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF). She has devoted countless hours to volunteering for community groups, including the Community Legal Information Association and the Canadian Federation of University Women, providing advice on family law, legal aid and access to justice. From 1991 to 1993, she served on the National Task Force on Gender Equality in the Legal Profession, chaired by Supreme Court Justice Bertha Wilson. In 2006, Daphne won the CBA's Touchstones Award for promoting equality in the Canadian legal profession. She recently completed five years of service on a CIDA-funded development project to introduce civil legal aid to rural China. Daphne lives in Charlottetown.

Bev LeFrancois

In 1970, school teacher, mother of four and activist Bev LeFrancois joined the peace and women's movement. Over the years, she has helped establish community, women's and rape crisis centres, and shelters for battered women. Bev has advocated for women's rights in such areas as the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms equality clause, the Rape Shield Law and Matrimonial Property Laws, to name just a few. Bev is a founding member of many women's organizations - for example, the Port Coquitlam and Area Women's Centre (1975), Women of Halton Action Movement (1980), Canadians In Support of Afghan Women (1998) and Advancement of Women Halton (2008). All of the organizations Bev helped to establish are still in operation. From 1989 to 2003, Bev served as Executive Director of the Halton Rape Crisis Centre, and the Sexual Assault and Violence Intervention Services of Halton. Bev and her husband Jim live in Oakville, Ontario.

Karen Messing

An academic, researcher, author and scientist, Karen Messing has worked for over 30 years with unions and women's groups to promote equality for women in the work force, developing public policies and practices that support working women. She brings creative thinking and a high level of scientific rigour to the work of addressing the health and well-being of women, as well as finding innovative approaches to ergonomics and occupational health. Karen co-founded the university-union partnership L'invisible qui fait mal (The Invisible that Hurts) to ensure women workers' needs are recognized in addressing occupational health and safety risks. She is the current chair of the Gender and Work Technical Committee of the International Ergonomics Association. Karen also authored the World Health Organization's fact sheet and booklet on gender and occupational health. Through her dedicated efforts, Karen has increased opportunities for women, helping to ensure women's workplace needs are considered so they can access all jobs without endangering their health. Karen lives in Montréal.

Mary Scott

Mary Scott has a long history in advancing equality for women, with a particular focus on Aboriginal women. Early on in the Internet age, Mary became skilled in using internet technology, reaching out to share her expertise with others by teaching, relaying communication to networks and creating web pages for many women's organizations. An active member of the United Nations Platform for Action Committee (UNPAC) and co-founder of the Manitoba Chapter of the United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM), Mary attended the Fourth World Conference on Women, held in Beijing in 1995. From there, she kept women in Canada apprised of developments at the Conference, providing a vital service for information-sharing and networking. She later developed an ongoing electronic newsletter on what's happening for women, globally and domestically. Mary was also instrumental in the success of an Oral History Project and the Babs Friesen Councils of Women Archival Project. Mary lives in Winnipeg.

YOUTH AWARD - Pauline Fogarty

Dedicated to engaging youth and empowering young women, Pauline Fogarty became involved in social activism at a young age. She has served with the Regional Multicultural Youth Centre in Thunder Bay since 1998. Pauline has represented the Centre at conferences across Canada, served as youth council president for two years, designed a girl's collective, served as fundraising officer and marketing assistant, and started Health Engaging Youth, a program involving youth in the mental health system. Pauline is also involved in environmental activism, youth engagement and First Nation's advocacy, as well as anti-racism, safety, anti-smoking, gender issues and technology. She works for St. Joseph's Health Centre as a Recreation Student and volunteers at the Canadian Mental Health Association for the Minding Our Bodies program, a two-year project (2008-2010) to increase capacity in Ontario's community mental health system, to promote active living and to create new opportunities for physical activity for people with serious mental illness. Pauline lives in Thunder Bay.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2009

Jeannette Corbiere Lavell

Jeannette Corbiere Lavell, une militante bien connue de la cause des femmes autochtones, fait figure de modèle de ôle. Membre de la nation Anishinabek, elle parle couramment l'ojibwé en plus d'enseigner la langue et la culture ojibwée. En 1970, Mme Corbiere Lavell a épousé un non-Autochtone, perdant ainsi son statut d'Indienne. À l'issue d'une contestation judiciaire historique visant à retrouver son statut, elle a perdu par une seule voix son ultime recours devant la Cour suprême du Canada. Jeannette Corbiere Lavell a joué un ôle déterminant dans la fondation de l'Ontario Native Women's Association, de l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada et d'Indigenous Women of the Americas. Grâce à l'adoption du projet de loi C-31 en 1985, ses trois enfants et elle ont retrouvé leur statut au sein de la réserve indienne non cédée de Wikwemikong. En 2002, Mme Corbiere Lavell a reçu l'Anishinabek Nation Lifetime Achievement Award et en 2008, elle est devenue la première commissaire à la citoyenneté de la Nation Anishinabek. Elle siège aux conseils d'administration du Debajehmujig Theatre Group et du Ronathahonni Cultural Centre de même qu'au bureau de l'Organisation nationale de la santé autochtone. Jeannette Corbiere Lavell vit à Wikwemikong, en Ontario.

Daphne E. Dumont

Daphne Dumont a obtenu son diplôme en droit de l'Université Oxford en 1976, après avoir été la première femme de l'histoire admise en droit dans l'un des établissements d'enseignement d'Oxford réservés aux hommes. Elle a été la troisième femme et la toute première personne venant de l'Île-du-Prince-édouard à présider l'Association du Barreau canadien (ABC). Mme Dumont est l'une des fondatrices du Fonds d'action et d'éducation juridiques pour les femmes (FAEJ). Elle a consacré d'innombrables heures de bénévolat à des groupes communautaires, dont la Community Legal Information Association et la Fédération canadienne des femmes diplômées des universités, donnant des conseils en droit de la famille, en aide juridique et sur l'accès à la justice. De 1991 à 1993, elle a siégé au Groupe de travail sur l'égalité des sexes dans la profession juridique, un groupe de travail pancanadien présidé par Bertha Wilson, juge de la Cour suprême. En 2006, Mme Dumont a remporté le prix « Les assises » pour la promotion de l'égalité dans la profession juridique. Elle a récemment terminé, dans le cadre d'un projet de développement de l'ACDI, un mandat de cinq ans dans le but d'établir un système d'aide juridique en matière civile en Chine rurale. Daphne Dumont vit à Charlottetown.

Bev LeFrancois

En 1970, Bev LeFrancois, une enseignante, mère de quatre enfants et activiste, se joignait au mouvement pour la paix et au mouvement des femmes. Au fil des ans, elle a participé à la mise sur pied de centres communautaires, de centres pour femmes et de centres d'aide aux victimes d'agression sexuelle, ainsi que de refuges pour femmes battues. Mme LeFrancois a milité pour les droits des femmes dans des dossiers tels que la clause des droits à l'égalité de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, les lois sur la protection des victimes de viol et les lois sur les biens matrimoniaux, pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns. Elle a contribué à la fondation de nombreux organismes de femmes, dont le Port Coquitlam and Area Women's Centre (1975), le Women of Halton Action Movement (1980), Canadians In Support of Afghan Women (1998) et Advancement of Women Halton (2008). Tous les organismes qu'elle a contribué à fonder sont encore actifs. De 1989 à 2003, elle a été directrice générale du Halton Rape Crisis Centre et des Sexual Assault and Violence Intervention Services of Halton. Bev LeFrancois et son époux Jim vivent à Oakville, en Ontario.

Karen Messing

Universitaire, chercheuse, auteure et scientifique, Karen Messing a travaillé pendant plus de 30 ans auprès des syndicats et des groupes de femmes afin de promouvoir l'égalité des femmes sur le marché du travail, élaborant pour ce faire des politiques publiques et des pratiques visant à appuyer les travailleuses. C'est avec créativité et une grande rigueur scientifique qu'elle s'efforce d'améliorer la santé et le bien-être des femmes et de trouver de nouvelles approches en matière d'ergonomie et de santé au travail. Mme Messing a cofondé le partenariat université-syndicat L'invisible qui fait mal pour veiller à ce qu'on tienne compte des besoins des travailleuses dans l'analyse des risques pour la santé et la sécurité au travail. Elle est la présidente en exercice du comité technique sur le genre et le travail de l'Association internationale d'ergonomie. Mme Messing a également signé le feuillet de renseignements et le guide sur le genre et la santé au travail de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé. Grâce à son dévouement, elle a multiplié les possibilités qui s'offrent aux femmes. En effet, elle a contribué à la prise en compte des besoins des femmes en milieu de travail, afin que celles-ci puissent avoir accès à tous les emplois sans mettre leur santé en danger. Karen Messing vit à Montréal.

Mary Scott

Mary Scott travaille depuis longtemps à la promotion de l'égalité des femmes, plus particulièrement des femmes autochtones. à l'avènement d'Internet, elle a rapidement maîtrisé cette nouvelle technologie et a partagé son savoir-faire avec autrui en enseignant, en relayant de l'information à des réseaux et en créant des pages Web pour de nombreux groupes de femmes. Membre active du United Nations Platform for Action Committee (UNPAC) et cofondatrice de la section manitobaine du Fonds de développement des Nations Unies pour la femme (UNIFEM), Mme Scott a assisté à la Quatrième Conférence mondiale sur les femmes, tenue à Beijing en 1995. Elle a informé les Canadiennes du déroulement de la Conférence au moyen d'un service crucial d'échange d'information et de réseautage. Par la suite, elle a créé un bulletin d'information électronique permanent portant sur l'actualité féminine mondiale et nationale. Mme Scott a également joué un ôle de premier plan dans le succès de l'Oral History Project et du Babs Friesen Councils of Women Archival Project. Mary Scott vit à Winnipeg.

PRIX JEUNESSE - Pauline Fogarty

Championne de la mobilisation jeunesse et de l'autonomisation des jeunes femmes, Pauline Fogarty a commencé à faire du militantisme social à un jeune âge. Elle travaille au Regional Multicultural Youth Centre de Thunder Bay depuis 1998. Mme Fogarty a représenté l'organisme à des conférences au Canada, en plus d'y créer un collectif de filles ainsi que le programme Health Engaging Youth, à l'intention des jeunes au sein du système de santé mentale. De plus, Pauline Fogarty a été agente en collecte de fonds, adjointe au marketing et présidente du conseil jeunesse de l'organisme pendant deux ans. Mme Fogarty est également engagée dans les domaines de l'écologisme, de la participation des jeunes, de la défense des Premières nations, de la lutte contre le racisme, de la sécurité, de la lutte contre le tabagisme, des enjeux liés à l'égalité des sexes et de la technologie. Elle travaille à titre d'étudiante salariée en loisirs pour le St. Joseph's Health Centre et fait du bénévolat pour le programme Minding Our Bodies de l'Association canadienne pour la santé mentale. Ce projet de deux ans (2008-2010) vise à renforcer les capacités du système ontarien communautaire de santé mentale, à promouvoir la vie active et à créer de nouvelles possibilités d'activité physique pour les personnes atteintes d'une grave maladie mentale. Pauline Fogarty vit à Thunder Bay.

Date de modification :