2010 Recipients

Marie Louise Fish

Marie Louise Fish is a trailblazer for women in non-traditional roles, particularly in the Canadian Forces, where her career began in 1974. Her military career reflects many women's "firsts," including being the first woman: to serve as a naval officer at sea, as part of a pilot project to employ women in previously all-male naval units; to qualify and serve as a ship's diving officer; and to participate in the Canadian contingent in the rigorous annual 160-kilometre, four-day Nijmegen March, in commemoration of the liberation of the Netherlands. Ms. Fish served at sea at a time when there were very few women in the Canadian Navy, and underwent arduous training alongside her male counterparts. Upon retirement from the military, Ms. Fish entered the field of security administration, becoming the first woman to serve as president of the Ontario Association of College and University Security Administrators. At the Royal Military College, and at Queen's and Trent universities, Ms. Fish developed policies and practices to enhance women's safety, and increased the representation of women on security staff. Ms. Fish lives in Elgin, Ontario.

Lucille Harper

Lucille Harper is an articulate proponent of and long-time advocate for social justice and women's equality. As Executive Director of the Antigonish Women's Resource Centre since 1988, she has assisted thousands of adolescent girls and women with issues related to poverty, violence, social exclusion, health education and training. In Antigonish, she has been instrumental in establishing a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Program, Sexual Assault Response Team, school-based Healthy Relationships Program and women's health centre. She works with her community and with organizations across Nova Scotia to improve the economic, social and political situation of women. Ms. Harper helped to found many key organizations, and remains active with Women's Centres Connect! – Nova Scotia Association of Women's Centres, Feminists of Just and Equitable Public Policy, and the Women's Action Coalition of Nova Scotia, to name a few. On a national level, Ms. Harper has contributed to the work of the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women. Ms. Harper lives in Pomquet, Nova Scotia, with her life partner, and has three adult children.

Kerline Joseph

A federal public servant with Service Canada, Kerline Joseph holds a doctorate in law. Her dedication to community service goes back to the early 1990s, when a trip to Africa made her aware of the injustices most women face. She then resolved to dedicate herself to fighting discrimination against women. Ms. Joseph was the assistant to the Special Rapporteur of the African Commission, and worked to support the Protocol on the Rights of Women in Africa to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights, a legal instrument aimed at protecting women across the continent. In 2005, Ms. Joseph created the organization Voix sans frontiers [Voices without borders], of which she is president. The organization addresses the isolation of immigrant women in Canada, helps them with skills development, and provides them with information about their rights and responsibilities in this country. Ms. Joseph was a 2005 nominee for the John Humphrey Freedom Award from the International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development. Ms. Joseph lives in Delson, Quebec.

Anne Michaud

Anne Michaud has played an active role in the women's movement since the 1970s and is a passionate advocate for women's rights and personal safety. In 1981, she was among the pioneers behind simultaneous "Take Back the Night" demonstrations in cities across the country, events that continue to this day. As part of her responsibilities while working for the City of Montréal, Ms. Michaud worked in conjunction with city stakeholders to develop practices that have made Montréal a leader in urban safety for women. Ms. Michaud was a member of the Canadian delegation to the 1996 United Nations City Summit in Istanbul, where she took part in negotiations on gender equality issues in the context of local governance. In 2002, she co-created Women in Cities International, a network that promotes the dissemination of knowledge and best practices regarding women's safety and gender equality in urban settings. That initiative was recognized by the United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM) for its leadership among non-governmental networks working to end violence against women. Ms. Michaud lives in Montréal, Quebec.

Barbara Mowat

Dedicated to empowering women to succeed in business, Barbara Mowat is a trade and international business development specialist. Ms. Mowat is President of Impact Communications Ltd. She founded and published Home Business Report, Canada's first magazine for micro-enterprises. She created the Uniquely Programs that assisted 12,000 Canadian entrepreneurs, the majority of whom are women, in accessing increased markets throughout Canada and on four continents. She is the Women Presidents' Organization Chapter Chair in Vancouver, serving women presidents and CEOs of major companies. Ms. Mowat promotes business development at many levels and was one of the original advisory board members for the Global Banking Alliance for Women. She is a WEConnect Canada certified woman business owner, serves on the Global Membership Circle for the Cherie Blair Foundation for Women and was winner of the 1993 Canadian Businesswoman of the Year Award for Impact on the Local Economy. Ms. Mowat's international work supports women entrepreneurs in developing countries. She led a special United Nations project to support businesswomen in Afghanistan. Ms. Mowat lives in Abbotsford, British Columbia.

Date modified:

Lauréates de 2010

Marie Louise Fish

Entrée dans les Forces canadiennes en 1974, Marie Louise Fish a ouvert l'accès des femmes à plusieurs domaines traditionnellement masculins. Sa carrière est une suite de « premières féminines » : première officière de marine; première femme à servir en mer, dans le cadre d'un projet-pilote visant à expérimenter la mixité dans les unités navales; première à servir au sein de l'équipe de plongée d'un navire et à faire partie du contingent canadien à la marche de Nimègue - rigoureuse marche annuelle de 160 kilomètres s'étalant sur quatre jours et commémorant la libération des Pays-Bas. Mme Fish a servi en mer à une époque où les femmes étaient encore rares dans la Marine canadienne. à titre d'officière d'approvisionnement de navire, elle a suivi un entraînement ardu aux côtés de ses homologues masculins. à sa retraite de l'armée, elle a entrepris une carrière en administration de la sécurité. Elle a été la première femme à présider l'Association des chefs de sécurité dans les collèges et universités de l'Ontario. Au Collège militaire royal, à l'Université Queen's et à l'Université Trent, Mme Fish a implanté des politiques et des pratiques améliorant la sécurité des femmes et a augmenté leur représentation au sein du personnel de sécurité. Mme Fish vit à Elgin, en Ontario.

Lucille Harper

Lucille Harper défend éloquemment, et de longue date, la justice sociale et l'égalité des sexes. En tant que directrice générale de l'Antigonish Women's Resource Centre, elle a aidé des milliers d'adolescentes et de femmes depuis 1988 - femmes aux prises avec la pauvreté, la violence et l'exclusion sociale ou ayant besoin d'éducation en matière de santé. Elle a joué un rôle dans nombre d'initiatives : dans l'établissement d'un programme d'examen des victimes d'agression sexuelle, dispensé par des infirmières; ainsi que dans la création d'une équipe d'intervention auprès des victimes d'agression sexuelle, d'un centre de santé des femmes et d'un programme faisant la promotion de saines relations en milieu scolaire. Avec sa collectivité et des organismes partout en Nouvelle-écosse, elle a œuvré pour l'amélioration de la situation socioéconomique et politique des femmes, participant à la fondation d‘organismes clés. Elle demeure active dans plusieurs, dont : Women's Centres Connect! - l'association des centres de femmes de la Nouvelle-écosse, la Feminists for Just and Equitable Public Policy Association et la Coalition des femmes d'action de la Nouvelle-écosse. Au niveau national, Mme Harper a contribué au travail de l'Institut canadien de recherches sur les femmes. Mère de trois enfants maintenant adultes, elle vit avec son compagnon de vie à Pomquet, en Nouvelle-écosse.

Kerline Joseph

Kerlin Joseph est détentrice d'un doctorat en droit et travaille comme fonctionnaire à Service Canada. Son dévouement au service communautaire trouve sa source au début des années 1990. Elle fait à ce moment-là un voyage en Afrique, voyage qui lui a ouvert les yeux aux injustices que subissaient la plupart des Africaines et a suscité en elle un désir d'agir. Elle a ainsi décidé de se consacrer à la lutte contre la discrimination faite aux femmes. Mme Joseph a été l'assistante du Rapporteur spécial à la Commission africaine. Elle a également œuvré au développement et à l'adoption du Protocole à la Charte africaine des droits de l'Homme et des peuples relatif aux droits des femmes, un instrument juridique visant à protéger les femmes de tout le continent. En 2005, Mme Joseph a créé l'organisme Voix sans frontières, dont elle est la présidente. Cet organisme lutte contre l'isolement des immigrantes au Canada en les aidant à parfaire leurs compétences tout en les renseignant sur leurs droits et leurs responsabilités au Canada. En 2005, Mme Joseph a été candidate pour le prix John Humphrey Liberté décerné par Droits et Démocratie. Mme Joseph vit à Delson, au Québec.

Anne Michaud

Anne Michaud contribue activement à l'avancement de la cause des femmes depuis les années 1970 et défend avec passion leurs droits et leur sécurité personnelle. En 1981, elle inaugure la tenue simultanée, dans diverses villes canadiennes, des manifestations « La rue, la nuit, femmes sans peur » (Take Back The Night) qui ont toujours lieu en 2010. Pendant son mandat à la Ville de Montréal, Mme Michaud a travaillé en partenariat avec les acteurs montréalais au développement de pratiques qui ont positionné   Montréal comme chef de file en matière de sécurité des femmes en milieu urbain. En 1996, à titre de membre de la délégation canadienne au Sommet des villes des Nations Unies, à Istanbul, Mme Michaud a participé aux négociations concernant l'égalité entre les sexes dans le contexte de la gouvernance locale. En 2002, elle a cofondé « Femmes et villes international », un réseau de diffusion des connaissances et des pratiques en matière de sécurité des femmes et d'égalité des sexes en contexte urbain. Cette initiative a été reconnue par le Fonds des Nations Unies pour les Femmes (UNIFEM) pour son leadership parmi les réseaux non gouvernementaux œuvrant à éliminer la violence faite aux femmes. Mme Michaud vit à Montréal, au Québec.

Barbara Mowat

Barbara Mowat est une spécialiste du commerce et du développement international des affaires qui s'emploie à donner aux femmes les moyens de réussir en affaires. Mme Mowat est présidente d'Impact Communications Ltd. Elle a fondé et publié Home Business Report, le premier magazine canadien destiné aux micro-entreprises. Elle a créé les Uniquely Programs, qui ont aidé 12 000 entreprises canadiennes, la majorité appartenant à des femmes, à élargir leurs débouchés au Canada et sur les quatre continents. Elle préside la section vancouvéroise de la Women Presidents' Organization, un organisme au service des présidentes et des premières dirigeantes de grandes sociétés. Mme Mowat a œuvré de multiples façons au développement commercial, y compris en qualité de membre du premier conseil consultatif de la Global Banking Alliance for Women. Elle est propriétaire d'une entreprise certifiée « à propriété féminine » par WEConnect Canada, siège au Global Membership Circle de la Fondation Cherie Blair pour les femmes et a reçu en 1993 le Prix canadien de l'entrepreneuriat féminin dans la catégorie Impact, pour ses retombées sur l'économie locale. Le travail de Mme Mowat sur la scène internationale stimule l'entrepreneuriat féminin dans les pays en développement, notamment en Afghanistan, où elle a dirigé un projet spécial des Nations Unies. Mme Mowat vit à Abbotsford, en Colombie-Britannique.

Date de modification :