Future-Oriented Statement of Operations
2015-2016 (Unaudited)

Status of Women Canada

Statement of Management Responsibility

Responsibility for the compilation, content, and presentation of the accompanying future-oriented statement of operations for the years ending March 31, 2015 and 2016 rests with departmental management.

Management is responsible for the information contained in the future-oriented statement of operation and for the process of developing assumptions. Assumptions and estimates are based upon information available and known to management as at December 31, 2014, reflect the plans described in the Report on Plans and Priorities and reflect current business and economic conditions, and assume a continuation of current governmental priorities and consistency in departmental mandate and strategic objectives. Much of the future-oriented financial information is based on these assumptions, best estimates, and judgment and gives due consideration to materiality. At the time of preparation of the statement, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. However, as with all such assumptions, there is a measure of uncertainty surrounding them. This uncertainty increases as the forecast horizon extends.

The actual results achieved for the fiscal years covered in the accompanying future-oriented financial information will vary from the information presented and the variations may be material.

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operation for Status of Women has not been audited.

Meena Ballantyne
Deputy Head
Status of Women Canada
Gatineau, Canada

Anik Lapointe
Chief Financial Officer

February 25, 2015

Status of Women Canada
Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)
For the Year Ending March 31
(in thousands of dollars) Estimated Results
2015-16
Planned Results
2016-17
Expenses
Leadership, expertise and advice $ 2,505 $ 2,468
Advancing equality for women 24,348 22,971
Internal services 4,461 5,549
Total expenses $ 31,314 $ 30,988
     
Revenues - -
Net cost of operations $ 31,314 $ 30,988

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statements of Operations (Unaudited)

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal year 2014–15 is based on actual results as at November 30st 2014 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2015-16 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  • The department’s activities will remain substantially the same as for the previous year;
  • Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.

These assumptions are adopted as at January 9, 2015.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2014-15 and for 2015-16, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations the Status of Women Canada has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include:

  • The timing and amount of acquisitions and disposals of property, plant and equipment may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.
  • Implementation of new collective agreements.
  • Further changes to the operating budget through additional new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the Status of Women Canada will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared using Government’s accounting policies in effect for the 2014-15 fiscal year which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the Department operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered including services provided without charges for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker’s compensation which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave as well as severance benefits are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or fulfilled the terms of a contractual transfer agreement or, in the case of transactions which do not form part of an existing program, when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statement. Transfer payments that become repayable as a result of conditions specified in the contribution agreement that have come into being are recorded as a reduction to transfer payment expense and as a receivable.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

The Department is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the Department do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the Department has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities
(in thousands of dollars) Estimated
2014-15
Planned
2015-16
Net cost of operations $ 31,314 $ 30,988
Adjustment for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Amortization of tangible capitals assets (90) (70)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (1,446) (1,435)
(Increase) decrease in vacation pay and compensatory leave (80) 35
Increase in employee future benefits (91) 25
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (1,707) (1,445)
 
Adjustment for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting appropriations:
Acquisition of tangible assets - -
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities - -
Requested authorities $ 29,607 $ 29,543
b) Authorities requested
(in thousands of dollars) Estimated Results
2014-15
Planned Results
2015-16
Authorities requested:
Vote 25 – Operating expenditures $ 9,370 $ 9,364
Vote 30 – Grants and Contributions 19,033 18,950
Statutory amounts 1,204 1,229
Requested authorities $ 29,607 $ 29,543
Date modified:

État des résultats prospectifs
2015-16 (non-audité)

Condition féminine Canada

Déclaration de responsabilité de la direction

La responsabilité de la compilation, du contenu et de la présentation de l’information financière prospective accompagnant les résultats des exercices qui prendront fin les 31 mars 2015 et 2016 repose entièrement sur la direction de l'organisme.

La direction est responsable des renseignements contenus dans le présent état des résultats prospectif et de la formulation des hypothèses sous-jacentes. Les hypothèses et les estimations sont fondées sur l’information disponible et connue de la direction au 20 décembre 2014; elles tiennent compte du Rapport sur les plans et les priorités, de la conjoncture économique et du contexte opérationnel; enfin, elles présupposent que les priorités gouvernementales, ainsi que le mandat et les objectifs stratégiques de l'organisme demeureront les mêmes. Une grande partie de l’information financière prospective repose sur ces hypothèses, sur les meilleures estimations possibles et sur le jugement de la direction, et elle tient compte comme il se doit de facteurs comme l’importance relative. Au moment de la préparation du présent état financier, la direction considère que les estimations et les hypothèses sont raisonnables. Cependant, comme toutes les hypothèses, celles-ci comportent une part d’incertitude qui croît à mesure que l’horizon prévisionnel s’allonge. Cependant, comme toutes les hypothèses, celles-ci comportent une part d’incertitude qui croît à mesure que l’horizon prévisionnel s’allonge.

Les résultats réels des exercices visés par l’information financière prospective varieront par rapport à l’information présentée, et les écarts pourraient être importants.

L’état des résultats prospectifs de Condition féminine Canada n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification.

Meena Ballantyne
Coordonnatrice / Chef d’organisme
Condition féminine Canada
Gatineau, Canada

Anik Lapointe
Dirigeante principale des finances

Le 25 février 2015

Condition féminine Canada
état des résultats prospectif (non audité)
Pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars
(en milliers de dollars) Résultats Estimatifs
2014-2015
Résultats prévus
2015-2016
Charges
Impulsion, savoir-faire et conseils 2 505 $ 2 468 $
Avancement de l’égalité pour les femmes 24 348 22 971
Services internes 4 461 5 549
Coût de fonctionnement net 31 314 30 988
     
Revenues - -
Coût de fonctionnement net 31 314 $ 30 988 $

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Notes complémentaires à l’état des résultats prospectifs (non audité)

1. Méthodes et hypothèses importantes

L’état des résultats prospectifs a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs de l’exercice 2014-2015 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 30 novembre 2014 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions des résultats prévus ont été faites pour l’exercice 2015-2016.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 9 janvier 2015.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2014–2015 et pour 2015–2016, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l’écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de l’état des résultats prospectifs, Condition féminine Canada a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les hypothèses sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’état des résultats prospectif et l’état des résultats historique sont entre autres 

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités sera présenté, Condition féminine Canada ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement en vigueur pour l’exercice financier 2014-2015, lesquelles s’appuient sur les Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement du gouvernement sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d’accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d’emploi sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi.

Les paiements de transfert sont passés en charges dès que le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d’admissibilité ou qu’il a rempli les conditions de l’accord de transfert ou, dans le cas d’opérations qui ne font pas partie d’un programme existant, dès que le gouvernement annonce une décision d’effectuer un transfert ponctuel, pour autant que la loi habilitante ou l’autorisation de paiement soit approuvée par le Parlement avant l’achèvement de l’état financier. Les paiements de transfert qui deviennent remboursables lors de l’entrée en vigueur de conditions spécifiées dans l’accord de contribution sont comptabilisés en réduction des charges de transfert et comme montant à recevoir.

Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d’actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses, des provisions pour moins-value de prêts, de placements et d’avances ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l’événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable des répercussions peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Le ministère est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au ministère ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires approuvés au cours d’un exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du ministère diffèrent suivant qu’ils sont calculés selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées
(en milliers de dollars) Estimatif
2014-2015
Prévu
2015-2016
Coût de fonctionnement net 31 314 $ 30 988 $
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (90) (70)
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères gouvernementaux (1 446) (1 435)
Augmentation des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires (80) 35
Augmentation des avantages sociaux futurs (91) 25
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (1 707) (1 445)
 
Rajustement pour les postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles - -
Total des postes qui n’ont pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations - -
Autorisations demandées 29 607 $ 29 543 $
b) Autorisations demandées
(en milliers de dollars) Estimatif
2014-2015
Prévu
2015-2016
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 25 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 9 370 $ 9 364 $
Crédit 30 – Subventions et contributions 19 033 18 950
Montant des autorisations législatives 1 204 1 229
Autorisations demandées 29 607 $ 29 543 $
Date de modification: