Planning and Reporting
For the quarter ended December 31, 2011

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programming

1. Introduction

Status of Women Canada (SWC) is a federal government organization that promotes equality for women and their full participation in the economic, social and democratic life of Canada.

SWC works to advance equality for women and to remove barriers to women's participation in society, putting particular emphasis on three priority areas:

  • increasing women's economic security and prosperity;
  • encouraging women's leadership and democratic participation; and
  • ending violence against women.

SWC is also responsible for providing strategic policy advice and gender-based analysis support, administering the Women's Program and promoting commemorative events related to women and girls in Canada. The organization also plays an important role in Canada's efforts to meet its international obligations.

Further details on SWC's mandate, raison d'être, responsibilities and program activities may be found in the organization's 2011-2012 Report on Plans and Priorities and 2011-2012 Main Estimates.

SWC management has prepared this quarterly financial report as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The report, for the quarter ending December 31, 2011, should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Basis of Presentation

SWC management has prepared this report using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the spending authorities granted by Parliament and those in the organization's Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the fiscal year 2011-2012. This quarterly financial report has been prepared using a special framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to spending authorities.

All Government of Canada expenditures must be authorized by Parliament. Approvals take the form of annually approved limits or legislation on statutory spending for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant allowing the Government of Canada to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The organization uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the Departmental Performance reporting process. However, the authorities approved by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year-to-date results

Significant Changes to Authorities
First Quarter Changes:

SWC saw a decrease of approximately 4% ($1.4 million) in total authorities available compared to the same quarter in 2010-2011. This decrease is largely due to the exhaustion of the $1.0 million in re-profiled contribution funding from the Women's Partnership Fund for 2008-2009.

SWC also contributed $0.4 million (representing a reduction of approximately 14% in the operating budget) in response to government-wide exercises to reduce departmental spending; the reduction mostly impacted the budget available for the Minister's Office.

Second Quarter Changes:

SWC's authorities have increased in comparison to the first quarter ended June 30, 2011, as SWC received its 2010-2011 carry-forward of approximately $0.5 million.

Third Quarter Changes:

SWC's authorities have increased in comparison to the second quarter ended September 30, 2011 as SWC received a reimbursement from TBS for severance cash-outs taken by staff as per renegotiated collective agreements and for other paylist requirements.

Significant Changes to Expenditures

Expenditures in the third quarter increased by approximately 7% compared to the third quarter from the previous year. The variance is mostly the result of an increase in transfer payment spending of approximately 11% or $251K. Expenditures in the third quarter increased by approximately 33% compared to the second quarter of 2011-2012. The variance is also mostly the result of an increase in transfer payment spending of approximately 109% or $1,330K over that period. The increase in transfer payment spending is mostly due to the fact that more projects were approved during this quarter compared to the same period last fiscal year as well as last quarter. In addition, payment schedules vary from year to year.

For the first quarter of 2011-2012, federal organizations were resourced through Governor General Special Warrants, and due to uncertainty surrounding the release of Full Supply, SWC limited expenditures in certain areas. In the ongoing spirit of restraint, SWC continued to limit spending in all but two non-personnel area: rentals spending increased approximately 32% and acquisitions of machinery and equipment increased by approximately 111% compared to the same quarter of 2010-11.

Figure 1 shows the organization's Authorities and Actual Expenditures for the quarters ended December 31, 2010, and December 31, 2011. The bar graph also shows year-to-date expenditures at the end of the quarter for both 2010 and 2011. Spending on December 31, 2011, is in line with the third quarter of 2010-2011; however, planned spending is not evenly distributed throughout the year. Special events, international commitments and other related activities will necessitate varying levels of spending in certain quarters.

Figure 1 – Third Quarter Authorities Available Compared to Expenditures (in $millions)

Column chart showing 2011-2012 third quarter authorities available compared to expenditures (in $millions)

3. Risks and uncertainties

This quarterly financial report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates released on June 27, 2011 and funding received through Treasury Board Central Votes such as the 2010-2011 carry forward.

Budget 2010 announced that departmental operating budgets for the fiscal years 2011-2012 and 2012-2013 would be frozen at their 2010-2011 levels and organizations would not be funded for new wage increases. The impact of this freeze is mitigated through targeted reductions in spending in various discretionary activities such as the use of temporary help services and re-engineered processes.

4. Significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in operations, personnel and programs over the last year.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Suzanne Clément
Coordinator, Status of Women Canada
Ottawa, Canada

Johanne Tremblay
A/Chief Financial Officer


 



February 9, 2012




Status of Women Canada
Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
For the quarter ended December 31, 2011
(in thousand of dollars)
  Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-
end
Total available for use for the year ended March 31, 2011* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-
end
Operating expenditures 10,595 2,378 6,827 9,718 2,301 6,566
Grants and Contributions 18,950 2,545 4,496 19,950 2,294 4,211
Statutory authorities            
Employee Benefit Plan 1,253 295 915 1,170 293 879
Minister of State - Motor car allowance - - - 2 - -
Total budgetary authorities 30,798 5,218 12,238 30,840 4,888 11,656

* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter end

Status of Women Canada
Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
For the quarter ended December 31, 2011
(in thousand of dollars)
  Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
  Planned Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012* Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-
end
Planned Expenditures for the year ended March 31, 2011* Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-
end
Expenditures            
Personnel 9,055 2,336 6,881 8,057 2,141 6,399
Transportation and communications 773 139 246 629 142 299
Information 164 5 24 234 24 48
Professional and special services 1,278 160 466 1,252 259 548
Rentals 66 12 31 57 9 31
Repair and maintenance 103 - 57 108 4 54
Utilities, materials and supplies 98 9 19 74 9 27
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 246 12 18 455 6 38
Transfer payments 18,950 2,545 4,496 19,950 2,294 4,211
Other subsidies and payments 65 - - 24 - 1
Total net budgetary expenditures 30,798 5,218 12,238 30,840 4,888 11,656

*Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter end

Planification et rapports
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Condition féminine Canada est l'organisme fédéral chargé de promouvoir l'égalité des sexes et la pleine participation des femmes à la vie économique, sociale et démocratique du Canada.

Condition féminine Canada travaille à faire progresser l'égalité pour les femmes et à éliminer les obstacles à la participation des femmes à la société. Il concentre ses efforts dans trois axes d'intervention :

  • Améliorer la sécurité et la prospérité économiques des femmes;
  • Encourager les femmes à occuper des postes de responsabilité et à participer à la vie démocratique;
  • Éliminer la violence faite aux femmes.

Condition féminine Canada a aussi pour responsabilité d'offrir des conseils stratégiques en matière de politique, d'appuyer l'analyse comparative entre les sexes, d'administrer le Programme de promotion de la femme et de promouvoir la commémoration d'événements présentant un intérêt particulier pour les femmes et les filles au Canada. L'organisme joue également un rôle important dans les efforts déployés par le Canada pour remplir ses obligations internationales.

On trouvera des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, la raison d'être, les responsabilités et les activités de programme de Condition féminine Canada dans son Rapport sur les plans et priorités 2011-2012 et dans son Budget principal des dépenses 2011-2012.

La direction de Condition féminine Canada a préparé le présent rapport financier trimestriel conformément à l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport porte sur le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011, et devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses. Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction de Condition féminine Canada a préparé ce rapport en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement, de même que celles figurant dans le Budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses de l'organisme pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard des autorisations de dépenser.

Toutes les dépenses du gouvernement du Canada doivent être autorisées par le Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles ou de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à lancer un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement du Canada à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

L'organisme utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, c'est encore la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses qui est utilisée pour les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Changements importants aux autorisations
Changements au cours du premier trimestre

Condition féminine Canada a enregistré une diminution d'environ 4 % (1,4 million de dollars) des autorités totales disponibles par rapport au même trimestre de 2010-2011. Cette diminution s'explique en grande partie par la fin du report d'un million de dollars des contributions du Fonds de partenariat pour les femmes de 2008-2009.

Condition féminine Canada a également réduit ses dépenses de 0,4 million de dollars (ce qui représente une réduction d'environ 14 % du budget de fonctionnement) en guise de participation à l'effort déployé dans l'ensemble du gouvernement pour réduire les dépenses ministérielles. Cette réduction a surtout touché le budget mis à la disposition du Cabinet de la ministre.

Changements au cours du deuxième trimestre

Les autorisations de CFC ont augmenté comparativement au premier trimestre, terminé le 30 juin 2011, puisque CFC a reçu les fonds reportés de 2010-2011, soit environ 0,5 million de dollars.

Changements au cours du troisième trimestre

Les autorisations de Condition féminine Canada ont augmenté comparativement au deuxième trimestre, terminé le 30 septembre 2011, étant donné que Condition féminine Canada a un reçu un remboursement du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor relativement à des indemnités de départ versées à des membres du personnel conformément aux conventions collectives et à d'autres exigences liées à l'administration de la paie.

Changements importants aux dépenses

Au cours du troisième trimestre, les dépenses ont augmenté d'environ 7 % par rapport au troisième trimestre de l'exercice précédent. Cet écart s'explique surtout par une augmentation d'environ 11 %, ou 251 000 $, des paiements de transfert. Les dépenses au cours du troisième trimestre ont été supérieures d'environ 33 % à celles du deuxième trimestre de 2011-2012. Là encore, l'écart est principalement attribuable à une hausse d'environ 109 %, ou 1 330 000 $, des paiements de transfert. L'augmentation des paiements de transfert est due surtout à l'augmentation du nombre de projets approuvés au cours de ce trimestre comparativement à la même période au cours de l'exercice et du trimestre précédents. De plus, les calendriers de paiement varient d'une année à l'autre.

Pendant le premier trimestre de 2011-2012, les organismes fédéraux ont été approvisionnés en vertu de mandats spéciaux du gouverneur général; en raison de l'incertitude entourant les échéanciers de déblocage des crédits, Condition féminine Canada a limité ses dépenses dans certains domaines. Conformément à l'esprit de rigueur qui prévaut actuellement, Condition féminine Canada a continué de limiter ses dépenses dans tous les domaines sauf deux, qui n'est pas lié au personnel : les dépenses liées aux services de location ont augmenté d'environ 32 % et les dépenses liées à l’acquisition de matériel et d'outillage ont augmenté d'environ 111 % comparativement au même trimestre en 2010-2011.

La figure 1 montre les autorisations et les dépenses réelles de l'organisme pour les trimestres terminés le 31 décembre 2010 et le 31 décembre 2011. Le diagramme à barres montre aussi les dépenses cumulatives à la fin du trimestre, tant en 2010 qu'en 2011. En date du 31 décembre 2011, les dépenses étaient comparables à celles du troisième trimestre de 2010-2011. Toutefois, les dépenses prévues ne sont pas réparties uniformément sur toute l'année. En raison d'événements spéciaux, d'engagements internationaux et d'activités connexes, les niveaux de dépense varient selon les trimestres.

Figure 1 – Autorités disponibles pendant le troisième trimestre par rapport aux dépenses (en million de dollars)

Diagramme de colonne montrant les autorités disponibles pendant le troisième trimestre par rapport aux dépenses (en million de dollars)

3. Risques et incertitudes

Ce rapport financier trimestriel présente les résultats de l'exercice courant par rapport au Budget principal des dépenses déposé le 27 juin 2011 et des fonds reçus, ainsi que les fonds provenant des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor, le report de 2010-2011 par exemple.

Le budget de 2010 prévoyait que les budgets de fonctionnement ministériels des exercices 2011-2012 et 2012-2013 seraient bloqués aux niveaux de 2010-2011 et que les budgets des organismes ne seraient pas augmentés pour couvrir une nouvelle hausse salariale. L'effet de ce gel est atténué par des réductions ciblées des dépenses liées à diverses activités discrétionnaires, par exemple le recours à des services de travail temporaire et les restructurations.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les opérations, le personnel et les programmes n'ont pas connu de modifications importantes au cours de la dernière année.

Approbation des hautes fonctionnaires

Approuvé par :

Suzanne Clément

Coordonnatrice, Condition féminine Canada
Ottawa, Canada

Johanne Tremblay

Dirigeante principale des finances par int.


 



Le 9 février 2012




Condition féminine Canada
État des autorisations (non vérifié)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011
(en milliers de dollars)
  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2011* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses de fonctionnement 10 595 2 378 6 827 9 718 2 301 6 566
Subventions et contributions 18 950 2 545 4 496 19 950 2 294 4 211
Autorisations législatives budgétaires            
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employées et employés 1 253 295 915 1 170 293 879
Ministre d'État – Allocation pour automobile - - - 2 - -
Autorisations budgétaires totales 30 798 5 218 12 238 30 840 4 888 11 656

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Condition féminine Canada
Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011
(en milliers de dollars)
  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
  Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011* Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses            
Personnel 9 055 2 336 6 881 8 057 2 141 6 399
Transports et communications 773 139 246 629 142 299
Information 164 5 24 234 24 48
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 278 160 466 1 252 259 548
Location 66 12 31 57 9 31
Services de réparation et d'entretien 103 - 57 108 4 54
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 98 9 19 74 9 27
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 246 12 18 455 6 38
Paiements de transfert 18 950 2 545 4 496 19 950 2 294 4 211
Autres subventions et paiements 65 - - 24 - 1
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 30 798 5 218 12 238 30 840 4 888 11 656

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.