Planning and Reporting
For the quarter ended June 30, 2012

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programming

1. Introduction

Status of Women Canada (SWC) is a federal government organization that promotes equality for women and their full participation in the economic, social and democratic life of Canada.

SWC works to advance equality for women and to remove barriers to women's participation in society, putting particular emphasis on three priority areas:

  • increasing women's economic security and prosperity;
  • encouraging women's leadership and democratic participation; and
  • ending violence against women.

SWC is also responsible for providing strategic policy advice and gender-based analysis support, administering the Women's Program and promoting commemorative events related to women and girls in Canada. The organization also plays an important role in Canada's efforts to meet its international obligations on gender equality.

Further details on SWC's mandate, raison d'être, responsibilities and program activities may be found in the organization's 2012-2013 Report on Plans and Priorities and 2012-2013 Main Estimates.

SWC management has prepared this quarterly financial report as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The report, for the quarter ending June 30, 2012, should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.
Basis of Presentation

SWC management has prepared this report using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the spending authorities granted by Parliament and those in the organization's Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the fiscal year 2012-2013. This quarterly financial report has been prepared using a special framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to spending authorities.

All Government of Canada expenditures must be authorized by Parliament. Approvals take the form of annually approved limits or legislation on statutory spending for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant allowing the Government of Canada to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The organization uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the Departmental Performance reporting process. However, the authorities approved by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year-to-date results

Significant Changes to Authorities

SWC saw an increase of less than 1% ($0.2 million) in total authorities available compared to the same quarter in 2011-2012. This increase is largely due to funding received through the government advertising fund to support an internet search optimization strategy for a website, which will provide information about preventing violence against women and girls.

Significant Changes to Expenditures

Total expenditures in the first quarter of 2012-2013 increased by approximately 125% compared to the first quarter ended June 30, 2011.

The significant variance is the result of an increase in the Transfer Payment standard object spending of 541% or (approximately $4.0 million), mostly due to the fact that projects have payment schedules that vary from year to year. SWC forecasts fully expending its transfer payments by the end of the fiscal year.

Spending in the Transportation and Communications standard object has increased by approximately 19% from $48,000 in the first quarter of 2011-2012 to $57,000 in the first quarter of 2012-2013. Total spending in this standard object is expected to be similar to spending in 2011-12 however; timing for various travel commitments such as the Federal-Provincial-Territorial meetings will vary from year to year causing annual fluctuation in quarterly spending.

Spending in the Professional and Special services standard object has decreased by approximately 37% from $98,000 in the first quarter of 2011-2012 to $62,000 in the first quarter of 2012-2013. This decrease is mostly explained by Status of Women Canada having received transfers from its federal partners for the publication of the 6th edition of Women in Canada and on measuring violence.

Annually, the Receiver General for Canada reviews the government-wide chart of accounts. For 2012‑2013, changes made directly impacted expenditures reported within the Rentals and Repair and Maintenance standard objects. Expenditures previously reported within one standard object are now reported within the other standard object. Together, expenditures with the Rentals and Repairs and Maintenance standard objects have increased by approximately 18% from $64,000 in the first quarter of 2011-2012 to $76,000 in the first quarter of 2012-2013. This is mostly due to the requirement for new software licence agreements and an increase in the cost of existing software licence agreements.

As can be seen in Figure 1, SWC spent approximately 23.6% of its authorities in the first quarter of 2012‑2013. This is significantly higher than the first quarter of 2011-2012, when SWC had spent approximately 10.5% of its authorities. As previously mentioned, this significant increase is mostly due to varying payment schedules for transfer payments. It is important to note that planned spending is not evenly distributed throughout the year or from year to year. Special events, international commitments and so on will necessitate varying spending in certain quarters.

Figure 1 – Third Quarter Authorities Available Compared to Expenditures
(in $millions)

Column chart showing 2011-2012 third quarter authorities available compared to expenditures (in $millions)

3. Risks and uncertainties

This quarterly financial report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) released on June 29, 2012.

Budget 2010 announced that departmental operating budgets for the fiscal years 2011-2012 and 2012‑2013 would be frozen at their 2010-2011 levels and organizations would not be funded for new wage increases.  The impact of this freeze continues to be mitigated through targeted reductions in spending in various discretionary activities such as the use of temporary help services and re-engineered processes.

4. Significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in operations, personnel and programs over the last year.

5. Budget 2012 Implementation

No budgetary reductions have resulted from Budget 2012

 

Approved by:

Suzanne Clément
Coordinator, Status of Women Canada
Ottawa, Canada

Johanne Tremblay
A/Chief Financial Officer


 



August 22, 2012



Status of Women Canada
Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
For the quarter ended June 30, 2012
(in thousand of dollars)
  Fiscal year 2012-2013 Fiscal year 2011-2012
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013* Used during the quarter ended
June 30, 2012
Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ended March 31, 2012* Used during the quarter ended
June 30, 2011
Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 30 - Operating expenditures 9,496 1,966 1,966 9,270 2,059 2,059
Vote 35 - Grants and Contributions 18,950 4,720 4,720 18,950 736 736
Statutory authorities            
Employee Benefit Plan 1,226 306 306 1,253 313 313
Total budgetary authorities 29,672 5,218 12,238 29,473 3,108 3,108

* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter end



Status of Women Canada
Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
For the quarter ended June 30, 2012
(in thousand of dollars)
  Fiscal year 2012-2013 Fiscal year 2011-2012
  Planned Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned Expenditures for the year ended March 31, 2012* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-
end
Expenditures            
Personnel 8,190 2,062 2,062 8,216 2,147 2,147
Transportation and communications 639 57 57 638 48 48
Information 382 8 8 136 8 8
Professional and special services 1,055 62 62 1,055 98 98
Rentals 53 69 69 55 8 8
Repair and maintenance 89 7 7 85 56 56
Utilities, materials and supplies 83 5 5 81 4 4
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 227 2 2 203 3 3
Transfer payments 18,950 4,720 4,720 18,950 736 736
Other subsidies and payments 4 - - 24 0 0
Total net budgetary expenditures 29,672 6,992 6,992 29,473 3,108 3,108

Note: Totals may not add and may not agree with details provided in other public documents due to rounding.

*Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter end

Planification et rapports
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Condition féminine Canada est l’organisme fédéral chargé de promouvoir l’égalité des sexes et la pleine participation des femmes à la vie économique, sociale et démocratique du Canada.

Condition féminine Canada travaille à faire progresser l’égalité pour les femmes et à éliminer les obstacles à leur participation à la société. Il concentre ses efforts dans trois axes d’intervention :

  • Améliorer la sécurité et la prospérité économiques des femmes;
  • Encourager les femmes à occuper des postes de responsabilité et à participer à la vie démocratique;
  • Éliminer la violence faite aux femmes.

Condition féminine Canada a aussi pour responsabilité d’offrir des conseils stratégiques en matière de politique, d’appuyer l’analyse comparative entre les sexes, d’administrer le Programme de promotion de la femme et de promouvoir la commémoration de dates présentant un intérêt particulier pour les femmes et les filles au Canada. L’organisme joue également un rôle important dans les efforts déployés par le Canada pour remplir ses obligations internationales en matière d’égalité des sexes.

On trouvera des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, la raison d’être, les responsabilités et les activités de programme de Condition féminine Canada dans son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et son Budget principal des dépenses pour 2012-2013.

La direction de Condition féminine Canada a préparé le présent rapport financier trimestriel conformément à l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport porte sur le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012, et devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.
Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction de Condition féminine Canada a préparé ce rapport en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement, de même que celles figurant dans le Budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses de l’organisme pour l’exercice 2012‑2013. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard des autorisations de dépenser.

Toutes les dépenses du gouvernement du Canada doivent être autorisées par le Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles ou de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d’une élection générale, l’article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à lancer un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement du Canada à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l’exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

L’organisme utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, c’est encore la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses qui est utilisée pour les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Changements importants aux autorisations

Condition féminine Canada a enregistré une augmentation de moins de 1 % (0,2 million de dollars) des autorisations totales disponibles par rapport au même trimestre de 2011‑2012. Cette augmentation s’explique en grande partie par les sommes reçues du fonds de publicité du gouvernement dans le but d’appuyer une stratégie d’optimisation d’un site Web pour les moteurs de recherche. Le site Web en question fournira des renseignements sur la prévention de la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles.

Changements importants aux dépenses

Le total des dépenses pour le premier trimestre de l’exercice 2012‑2013 a augmenté d’environ 125 % par rapport au premier trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011.

L’écart important s’explique par une augmentation de 541 % des dépenses liées à l’article courant Paiements de transfert (montant de 4 000 000 $ arrondi), principalement attribuable au fait que le calendrier de paiement des projets change d’une année à l’autre. Condition féminine Canada prévoit verser complètement ses paiements de transfert d’ici la fin de l’exercice.

Les dépenses liées à l’article courant Transports et communications ont augmenté d’environ 19 %, passant de 48 000 $ (montant arrondi) pendant le premier trimestre de 2011-2012 à 57 000 $ (montant arrondi) pendant le premier trimestre de 2012-2013. On prévoit que les dépenses totales liées à cet article courant seront semblables à celles de l’exercice 2011-2012; toutefois, le calendrier des divers engagements relatifs aux déplacements, comme les réunions fédérales-provinciales-territoriales, change d’une année à l’autre, ce qui cause une fluctuation annuelle des dépenses trimestrielles.

Les dépenses liées à l’article courant Services professionnels et spéciaux ont diminué d’environ 37 %, passant de 98 000 $ (montant arrondi) pendant le premier trimestre de 2011-2012 à 62 000 $ (montant arrondi) pendant le premier trimestre de 2012-2013. Cette diminution s’explique principalement par le fait que Condition féminine Canada a reçu des transferts de la part de ses partenaires fédéraux pour la publication de la 6e édition de Femmes au Canada et les initiatives visant à mesurer la violence.

Chaque année, le receveur général du Canada examine le Plan comptable à l’échelle de l’administration fédérale. Pour l’exercice 2012‑2013, les changements apportés ont eu des répercussions directes sur les dépenses déclarées dans les articles courants Location et Services de réparation et d’entretien. Certaines dépenses déclarées auparavant sous un article courant sont désormais déclarées sous l’autre. Ensemble, les dépenses liées aux articles courants Location et Services de réparation et d’entretien ont augmenté d’environ 18 %, passant de 64 000 $ (montant arrondi) pendant le premier trimestre de 2011-2012 à 76 000 $ (montant arrondi) pendant le premier trimestre de 2012-2013. Ceci s’explique principalement par la nécessité de conclure de nouveaux contrats de licence d’utilisation de logiciels et par l’augmentation du coût des contrats de licence d’utilisation de logiciels actuels.

Comme le montre la figure 1, Condition féminine Canada a dépensé environ 23,6 % de ses autorisations au cours du premier trimestre de 2012-2013. Ce pourcentage est considérablement supérieur à celui du premier trimestre de 2011-2012, au cours duquel l’organisme avait dépensé environ 10,5 % de ses autorisations. Comme il a été indiqué précédemment, cette importante augmentation est surtout attribuable à la variation du calendrier des paiements de transfert. Il importe de noter que les dépenses prévues ne sont pas réparties également sur toute l’année ou de la même manière d’une année à l’autre. En raison d’activités spéciales, d’engagements internationaux et d’activités connexes, les niveaux de dépense varieront selon les trimestres.
Figure 1 – Autorisations disponibles pendant le premier trimestre par rapport aux dépenses (en million de dollars)

Diagramme de colonne montrant les autorités disponibles pendant le troisième trimestre par rapport aux dépenses (en million de dollars)

3. Risques et incertitudes

Ce rapport financier trimestriel présente les résultats de l’exercice courant par rapport au Budget principal des dépenses et au Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) déposé le 29 juin 2012.

Le budget de 2010 prévoyait que les budgets de fonctionnement des ministères et organismes pour les exercices 2011‑2012 et 2012‑2013 seraient bloqués aux niveaux de 2010‑2011 et ne seraient pas augmentés pour couvrir une nouvelle hausse salariale. L’effet de ce gel continue d’être atténué par des réductions ciblées des dépenses liées à diverses activités discrétionnaires, par exemple le recours à des services de travail temporaire et les restructurations.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les opérations, le personnel et les programmes n’ont pas connu de modifications importantes au cours de la dernière année.

5. Mise en œuvre du Budget 2012

Aucune réduction budgétaire ne découle du Budget 2012

 

Approuvé par :

Suzanne Clément

Coordonnatrice, Condition féminine Canada
Ottawa, Canada

Johanne Tremblay

Dirigeante principale des finances par int.


 



Le 22 août 2012




Condition féminine Canada
État des autorisations (non vérifié)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012
(en milliers de dollars)
  Exercice 2012-2013 Exercice 2011-2012
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 30 - Dépenses de fonctionnement 9 496 1 966 1 966 9 270 2 059 2 059
Crédit 35 - Subventions et contributions 18 950 4 720 4 720 18 950 736 736
Autorisations législatives budgétaires            
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employées et employés 1 226 306 306 1 253 313 313
Autorisations budgétaires totales 30 798 6 992 6 992 29 473 3 108 3 108

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Condition féminine Canada
Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012
(en milliers de dollars)
  Exercice 2012-2013 Exercice 2011-2012
  Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses            
Personnel 8 190 2 062 2 062 8 216 2 147 2 147
Transports et communications 639 57 57 638 48 48
Information 382 8 8 136 8 8
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 055 62 62 1 055 98 98
Location 53 69 69 55 8 8
Services de réparation et d'entretien 89 7 7 85 56 56
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 83 5 5 81 4 4
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 227 2 2 203 3 3
Paiements de transfert 18 950 4 720 4 720 18 950 736 736
Autres subventions et paiements 4 - - 24 0 0
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 29 672 6 992 6 992 29 473 3 108 3 108

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.