Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended December 31, 2015

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programming

1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. It should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. This report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Authority, Mandate and Program Activities

Status of Women Canada (SWC) is a federal government agency that promotes equality for women and their full participation in the economic, social and democratic life of Canada.

SWC works to advance equality for women and to remove barriers to women’s participation in society, putting particular emphasis on three priority areas:

  • Increasing women's economic security and prosperity;
  • encouraging women's leadership and democratic participation; and
  • ending violence against women.

SWC is also responsible for providing strategic policy advice and gender-based analysis support, administering the Women’s Program and promoting commemorative events related to women and girls in Canada. The organization also plays an important role in Canada’s efforts to meet its international obligations on gender equality.

Further details on SWC’s mandate, raison d’être, responsibilities and program activities may be found in the organization’s 2015-16 Report on Plans and Priorities and 2015-16 Main Estimates.

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by SWC management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the agency’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the agency consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2015-16 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The agency uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net increase or decrease in resources available for the year and actual expenditures for the quarter ended December 31, 2015 in comparison to the prior year.

2.1 Significant changes to authorities

As reflected in the Statement of Authorities, as of the third quarter SWC received less budgetary authorities in this fiscal year compared to the previous year. In the first quarter, SWC received $880 thousand for the implementation of the Action Plan to Address Family Violence and Violent Crimes Against Aboriginal Women and Girls, and received the Operating Budget Carry Forward in the second quarter.

In 2015-16, the Women's Program anticipated launching two calls for proposals in order to respond to emerging issues in the areas of both violence and potentially leadership and allow for an expanded reach to potential applicants.

In the spring of 2015, the first call for proposals addressing violence was launched and completed. However due to the Fall 2015 election period, the Women’s Program was not in a position to launch its anticipated second call for proposals. As a result, available grant and contribution funds were not fully committed in fiscal year 2015-16, and a request to reprofile $1,250 thousand over the next two fiscal years was required.

2.2 Significant changes to expenditures

The majority of SWC’s expenditures are for transfer payments and personnel expenditures, which represents 94 percent of the total gross amount spent as of December 31, 2015. Overall, the proportion of SWC’s total budgetary expenditures as of December 31, 2015, has increased by 17% comparable to the expenditures as of December 31, 2014.

Compared to the previous year, the expenditures at the quarter ending December 31, 2015, have increased by $980 thousand (17%), from $5,908 thousand to $6,888 thousand (Figure 1).

This 17 percent increase is primarily due to an increase of $989 thousand in transfer payments due to the fact that projects have payment schedules that vary from year to year.

Figure 1 outlines the total authorities available for use and total expenditures for the third quarter.

Figure 1: (in thousands of dollars)
  2015-2016 2014-2015
Authorities Available $29,725 $30,225
Expenditures $6,888 $5,908
Year-to-date Expenditures $20,116 $17,249

3. Risks and uncertainties

SWC approaches risk as an integral part of its planning process, recognizing the need for strong risk management in all of its operations, as well as at the corporate level. SWC’s corporate risk profile, review of budgetary challenges, management practices and risk mitigation strategies were all monitored on a regular basis by its senior management.

4. Significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in operations, personnel and programs over the last year.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:


Original signed by
Meena Ballantyne
, Deputy Head
Gatineau, Canada
February 16, 2016

Original signed by
Anik Lapointe

Chief Financial Officer

Status of Women Canada
Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
For the quarter ended December 31, 2015

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2015-2016 Fiscal Year 2014-2015
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote * Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end   Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015Footnote * Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Operating expenditures 10,263 2,350 6,708   9,988 2,365 7,169
Vote 5 - Grants and Contributions 18,180 4 231 12 486   19,033 3,242 9,177
Statutory authorities
Employee Benefit Plan 1,282 307 922   1,204 301 903
Total Authorities - Budgetary 29,725 6,888 20,116   30,225 5,908 17,249

Status of Women Canada
Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
For the quarter ended December 31, 2015

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2015-2016 Fiscal year 2014-2015
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015Footnote* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 8,863 2,260 6,640 8,500 2,243 6,850
Transportation and communications 722 100 240 770 166 314
Information 151 36 75 151 39 82
Professional and special services 1,372 217 545 1,317 159 422
Rentals 68 27 90 84 33 75
Repair and maintenance 77 0 1 76 0 1
Utilities, materials and supplies 76 9 14 77 9 18
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 216 8 23 215 17 33
Transfer payments 18,180 4,231 12,486 19,033 3,242 9,177
Other subsidies and payments 0 0 2 2 0 277
Total gross Budgetary expenditures 29,725 6,888 20,116 30,225 5,908 17,249
Less Revenues netted against expenditures - - - - - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 29,725 6,888 20,116 30,225 5,908 17,249
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

1.1 Autorisations, mandat et activités de programme

Condition féminine Canada (CFC) est l’organisme fédéral chargé de promouvoir l’égalité pour les femmes et leur pleine participation à la vie économique, sociale et démocratique du Canada.

CFC travaille à faire progresser l’égalité pour les femmes et à éliminer les obstacles à leur participation à la société. Il concentre ses efforts dans trois axes d’intervention :

CFC a aussi pour responsabilité d’offrir des conseils stratégiques en matière de politiques, d’appuyer l’analyse comparative entre les sexes, d’administrer le Programme de promotion de la femme et de promouvoir la commémoration de dates présentant un intérêt particulier pour les femmes et les filles au Canada. L’organisme joue également un rôle important dans les efforts déployés par le Canada pour remplir ses obligations internationales en matière d’égalité des sexes.

On trouvera des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, la raison d’être, les responsabilités et les activités de programme de Condition féminine Canada dans son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et son Budget principal des dépenses pour 2015-2016.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction de CFC a préparé le présent rapport trimestriel en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement, de même que celles utilisées par l’organisme conformément au Budget principal des dépenses et aux budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l’exercice 2015-2016. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé au moyen d’un référentiel d’information financière à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le Parlement doit donner son autorisation avant que le gouvernement puisse engager des dépenses. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles approuvées par l’intermédiaire de lois de crédits ou par l’entremise de dispositions législatives sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

L’organisme utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, c’est encore la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses qui est utilisée pour les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement.

2. Points saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La présente section met en évidence les postes importants ayant contribué à l’augmentation ou à la diminution nette des ressources disponibles pour l’exercice et les dépenses réelles pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2015 par rapport à celles de l’exercice précédent.

2.1 Changements importants aux autorisations

Comme l’indique l’état des autorisations, CFC a reçu moins d’autorisations budgétaires pour le troisième trimestre du présent exercice rapport à celles de la période correspondante de l’exercice précédent. Pour le premier trimestre, CFC a reçu 880 000 $ pour la mise en œuvre des mesures du Plan d’action pour contrer la violence familiale et les crimes violents à l’endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones et le report de fonds du budget de fonctionnement dans le deuxième trimestre.

En 2015-2016, espérant rejoindre un plus grand nombre de demandeurs potentiels, le Programme de promotion de la femme avait prévu lancer deux appels de propositions afin de trouver des solutions aux nouveaux enjeux concernant l’élimination de la violence faite aux femmes et, éventuellement, l’accès des femmes au pouvoir.

Un premier appel de propositions sur la violence a été lancé et mené à terme au printemps de 2015. Toutefois, la campagne électorale de l’automne 2015 a empêché le Programme de lancer le deuxième appel prévu. Les sommes inscrites au budget de subventions et de contributions n’ont donc pas été engagées en totalité au cours de l’exercice 2015-2016, ce qui a amené CFC à demander le report d’une somme de 1 250 000 $ sur les deux prochains exercices financiers.

2.2 Changements importants aux dépenses

La majorité des dépenses de CFC se composent de paiements de transfert et de dépenses relatives au personnel; ensemble, ceux-ci comptent pour 94 % du montant brut total dépensé au 31 décembre 2015.

Dans l’ensemble, les dépenses budgétaires totales de CFC au 31 décembre 2015 avaient augmenté de 17 % comparativement aux dépenses déclarées au 31 décembre 2014.

Comparativement à l’année précédente, les dépenses du trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015 ont augmenté de 980 000 $ (17 %), passant de 5 908 000 $ à 6 888 000 $ (Tableau 1).

Cette augmentation de 17 % est avant tout attribuable à une augmentation des paiements de transfert de 989 000 $ et s’explique par le fait que les calendriers de paiement des projets varient d’une année à l’autre.

La Figure 1 présente les autorisations totales pouvant être utilisées, les dépenses totales pour le premier trimestre.

Figure 1 (en milliers de dollars)
  2015-2016 2014-2015
Autorisations totales disponibles 29 725 $ 30 225 $
Dépenses totales 6 888 $ 5 908 $
Dépenses cumulées 20 116 $ 17 249 $

3. Risques et incertitudes

CFC aborde les risques comme faisant partie intégrante de son processus de planification, reconnaissant ainsi le besoin d’une solide gestion des risques dans l’ensemble de son fonctionnement, ainsi qu’à l’échelle organisationnelle. La haute direction de CFC a régulièrement procédé au contrôle du profil de risque organisationnel, à l’examen des défis budgétaires, des pratiques de gestion et des stratégies d’atténuation des risques.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les opérations, le personnel et les programmes n’ont pas connu de modifications importantes au cours de la dernière année.

Approuvé par :


Original signé par
Meena Ballantyne
, Administratrice générale
Gatineau, Canada
Le 16 février 2016

Original signé par
Anik Lapointe

Dirigeante principale des finances

Condition féminine Canada
état des autorisations (non vérifié)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2014-2015
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre   Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 10 263 2 350 6 708   9 988 2 365 7 169
Crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions 18 180 4 231 12 486   19 033 3 242 9 177
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employées et employés 1 282 307 922   1 204 301 903
Autorisations budgétaires totales 29 725 6 888 20 116   30 225 5 908 17 249

Condition féminine Canada
Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2015

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2014-2015
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page * Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé
le 31 décembre 2015
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2015Note de bas de page *
Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 8 863 2 260 6 640 8 500 2 243 6 850
Transports et communications 722 100 240 770 166 314
Information 151 36 75 151 39 82
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 372 217 545 1 317 159 422
Location 68 27 90 84 33 75
Services de réparation et d'entretien 77 0 1 76 0 1
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 76 9 14 77 9 18
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 216 8 23 215 17 33
Paiements de transfert 18 180 4 231 12 486 19 033 3 242 9 177
Autres subventions et paiements 0 0 2 2 0 277
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 29 725 6 888 20 116 30 225 5 908 17 249
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses - - - - - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 29 725 6 888 20 116 30 225 5 908 17 249
Date de modification: