Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended December 31, 2016

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programming

1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. It should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. This report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Authority, Mandate and Program Activities

Status of Women Canada (SWC) is a federal government agency that promotes equality for women and their full participation in the economic, social and democratic life of Canada.

SWC works to advance equality for women and to remove barriers to women’s participation in society, putting particular emphasis on three priority areas:

SWC is also responsible for providing strategic policy advice and gender-based analysis support, administering the Women’s Program and promoting commemorative events related to women and girls in Canada. The organization also plays an important role in Canada’s efforts to meet its international obligations on gender equality.

Further details on SWC’s mandate, raison d’être, responsibilities and program activities may be found in the organization’s 2016-17 Report on Plans and Priorities and 2016-17 Main Estimates.

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by SWC management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the agency’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the agency consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2016-17 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The agency uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net increase or decrease in resources available for the year and actual expenditures for the quarter ended December 31, 2016 in comparison to the prior year.

2.1 Significant changes to authorities

As reflected in the Statement of Authorities, in the third quarter SWC received additional budgetary authorities in this fiscal year compared to the previous year. Since the first quarter, SWC received additional budgetary authorities for the implementation of the Action Plan to Address Family Violence and Violent Crime Against Aboriginal Women and Girls initiatives ($1.3M) and a reprofile of funds from 2015-16 to 2016-17 related to the Women's Program Grants and Contribution ($0.7M). In this quarter, SWC received additional funding ($4.2M) to increase capacity at Status of Women Canada as announced in Budget 2016.

2.2 Significant changes to expenditures

Overall, the proportion of SWC’s total budgetary expenditures as of December 31, 2016 ($19.4M) has decreased by 4% comparable to the year-to-date expenditures as of December 31, 2015 ($20.1M).

The expenditures at the quarter ending December 31, 2016 compared to the same quarter in the previous year have increased by $0.8 M from $6.9M to $7.7M (Figure 1). This increase is primarily due to an increase of $0.4M in transfer payments due to project payment schedules that vary from year to year, an increase of $0.2M in personnel costs, an increase of $0.1M for transportation and communications and, an increase of $0.1M for professional and special services.

The majority of the expenditures are for transfer payments and personnel expenditures, which represents 92 percent of the total gross amount spent as of December 31, 2016.

Figure 1 outlines the total authorities available for use and total expenditures for the third quarter.

Figure 1: (in thousands)
  2016-2017 2015-2016
Authorities Available 36,385 29,725
Expenditures 7,729 6,888
Year-to-date Expenditures 19,357 20,116

3. Risks and uncertainties

SWC approaches risk as an integral part of its planning process, recognizing the need for strong risk management in all of its operations, as well as at the corporate level. SWC’s corporate risk profile, review of budgetary challenges, management practices and risk mitigation strategies were all monitored on a regular basis by its senior management.

4. Significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

The agency now has a dedicated Minister for Status of Women as a result of the 2015 federal election. This has a significant impact on internal services operations and personnel in order to provide support to the Minister’s office directly when in the past these services were provided by another department. Budget 2016 announced total investments of $23.3M over five years, starting in 2016-17 to increase capacity at Status of Women Canada.

Funding would be used to expand the Agency’s regional presence across Canada to support local organizations working on women’s issues and gender equality. Proposed funding would also ensure more consistent gender-based analysis across the federal government for more informed decision-making, and would support the creation of a dedicated research and evaluation unit within the Agency to provide evidence-based, innovative research with respect to women’s issues.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by Senior Officials:

Approved by:

Meena Ballantyne, Deputy Head
Gatineau, Canada

February 21, 2017

Anik Lapointe
Chief Financial Officer


Status of Women Canada
Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
For the quarter ended December 31, 2016

(in thousand of dollars) Fiscal Year 2016-2017 Fiscal Year 2015-2016
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote * Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end   Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote * Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 - Operating expenditures 14,154 2,746 8,364   10,263 2,350 6,708
Vote 5 - Grants and Contributions 20,630 4,657 10,014   18,180 4,231 12,486
Statutory authorities
Employee Benefit Plan 1,601 326 979   1,282 307 922
Total - Budgetary 36,385 7,729 19,357   29,725 6,888 20,116

Status of Women Canada
Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
For the quarter ended December 31, 2016

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2016-2017 Fiscal year 2015-2016
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 10,666 2,425 7,607 8,863 2,260 6,640
Transportation and communications 811 219 536 722 100 240
Information 469 59 135 151 36 75
Professional and special services 2,450 337 781 1,372 217 545
Rentals 77 23 89 68 27 90
Repair and maintenance 77 1 1 77 0 1
Utilities, materials and supplies 91 6 24 76 9 14
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,113 2 170 216 8 23
Transfer payments 20,630 4,657 10,014 18,180 4,231 12,486
Other subsidies and payments 1 0 0 0 0 2
Total gross Budgetary expenditures 36,385 7,729 19,357 29,725 6,888 20,116
Less Revenues netted against expenditures - - - - - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 36,385 7,729 19,357 29,725 6,888 20,116
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

1.1 Autorisations, mandat et activités de programme

Condition féminine Canada (CFC) est l’organisme fédéral chargé de promouvoir l’égalité pour les femmes et leur pleine participation à la vie économique, sociale et démocratique du Canada.

CFC travaille à faire progresser l’égalité pour les femmes et à éliminer les obstacles à leur participation à la société. Il concentre ses efforts dans trois axes d’intervention :

CFC a aussi pour responsabilité d’offrir des conseils stratégiques en matière de politiques, d’appuyer l’analyse comparative entre les sexes, d’administrer le Programme de promotion de la femme et de promouvoir la commémoration de dates présentant un intérêt particulier pour les femmes et les filles au Canada. L’organisme joue également un rôle important dans les efforts déployés par le Canada pour remplir ses obligations internationales en matière d’égalité des sexes.

On trouvera des renseignements supplémentaires sur le mandat, la raison d’être, les responsabilités et les activités de programme de Condition féminine Canada dans son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et son Budget principal des dépenses pour 2016-2017.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction de CFC a préparé le présent rapport trimestriel en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement, de même que celles utilisées par l’organisme conformément au Budget principal des dépenses et aux budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l’exercice 2016-2017. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé au moyen d’un référentiel d’information financière à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le Parlement doit donner son autorisation avant que le gouvernement puisse engager des dépenses. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles approuvées par l’intermédiaire de lois de crédits ou par l’entremise de dispositions législatives sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

L’organisme utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, c’est encore la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses qui est utilisée pour les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement.

2. Points saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La présente section met en évidence les postes importants ayant contribué à l’augmentation ou à la diminution nette des ressources disponibles pour l’exercice et les dépenses réelles pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2016 par rapport à celles de l’exercice précédent.

2.1 Changements importants aux autorisations

Comme l’indique l’état des autorisations, au troisième trimestre Condition féminine Canada (CFC) a reçu des autorisations budgétaires additionnelles dans le présent exercice financier par rapport au dernier exercice. Depuis le premier trimestre, CFC a reçu des autorisations budgétaires additionnelles pour la mise en œuvre des initiatives du Plan d’action pour contrer la violence familiale et les crimes violents à l’endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones (1,3 M$) et a bénéficié d’un report de fonds de 2015-2016 à 2016-2017 au titre des subventions et contributions du Programme de promotion de la femme (0,7 M$). Tel qu’annoncé dans le budget 2016, un montant de 4,2 M$ a été reçu au troisième trimestre afin de renforcer les capacités de Condition féminine Canada.

2.2 Changements importants aux dépenses

Globalement, les dépenses budgétaires totales de CFC en date du 31 décembre 2016 (19,4 M$) ont baissé de 4 % relativement aux dépenses en date du 31 décembre 2015 (20,1 M$).

Comparativement au même trimestre du dernier exercice, les dépenses pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2016 ont augmenté d 0,8 M$, passant de 6,9 M$ à 7,7 M$ (figure 1).

Cette augmentation est due principalement à une augmentation de 0,4 M$ des paiements de transfert, lesquels varient d’un exercice à l’autre en raison des calendriers de paiement des projets. En plus d’une augmentation de 0,2 M$ des frais de personnel, une hausse de 0,1 M$ des dépenses de transport et de communication et d’une augmentation de 0,1 M$ des dépenses pour les services professionnels et les services spéciaux.

La majorité des dépenses sont liées aux paiements de transfert et au personnel, qui représentaient 92 % des dépenses brutes totales au 31 décembre 2016.

La Figure 1 présente les autorisations totales pouvant être utilisées, les dépenses totales pour le troisième trimestre.

Figure 1 (en milliers)
  2016-2017 2015-2016
Autorisations totales disponibles 36 385 29 725
Dépenses totales 7 729 6 888
Dépenses cumulées 19 357 20 116

3. Risques et incertitudes

CFC aborde les risques comme faisant partie intégrante de son processus de planification, reconnaissant ainsi le besoin d’une solide gestion des risques dans l’ensemble de son fonctionnement, ainsi qu’à l’échelle organisationnelle. La haute direction de CFC a régulièrement procédé au contrôle du profil de risque organisationnel, à l’examen des défis budgétaires, des pratiques de gestion et des stratégies d’atténuation des risques.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

L'agence a maintenant sa propre ministre désignée à la suite de l'élection fédérale 2015. Ceci fait en sorte qu’il y a un impact significatif sur les opérations et le personnel afin de fournir le support au bureau de la ministre alors que dans le passé, ces services étaient fournis par un autre ministère. Le Budget 2016 a annoncé des investissements de 23,3 millions sur cinq ans, commençant en 2016-17 afin de renforcer les capacités de Condition féminine Canada. Les fonds serviront à étendre la présence régionale de l’organisme dans l’ensemble du Canada et à soutenir les organismes locaux qui se penchent sur les questions liées à la condition féminine et à l’égalité des sexes.

Les fonds proposés garantiront en outre une analyse comparative entre les sexes plus uniforme à l’échelle du gouvernement fédéral en vue d’assurer une prise de décisions plus éclairée; ils soutiendront également la création d’une unité spécialisée de recherche et d’évaluation au sein de l’organisme, chargée de présenter des recherches novatrices et fondées sur des données probantes qui portent sur des questions concernant les femmes.

Approuvé par :

Original signé

Meena Ballantyne, Administratrice générale
Gatineau, Canada
le 21 février 2017

Anik Lapointe
Dirigeante principale des finances


Condition féminine Canada
État des autorisations (non vérifié)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016

  Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2015-2016
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre   Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 14 154 2 746 8 364   10 263 2 350 6 708
Crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions 20 630 4 657 10 014   18 180 4 231 12 486
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employées et employés 1 601 326 979   1 282 307 922
Autorisations budgétaires totales 36 385 7 729 19 357   29 725 6 888 20 116

Condition féminine Canada
Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016

Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2015-2016
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page * Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé
le 31 décembre 2016
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page *
Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 10 666 2 425 7 607 8 863 2 260 6 640
Transports et communications 811 219 536 722 100 240
Information 469 59 135 151 36 75
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 450 337 781 1 372 217 545
Location 77 23 89 68 27 90
Services de réparation et d'entretien 77 1 1   77 0 1
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 91 6 24 76 9 14
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 113 2 170 216 8 23
Paiements de transfert 20 630 4 657 10 014 18 180 4 231 12 486
Autres subventions et paiements 1 0 0 0 0 2
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 36 385 7 729 19 357 29 725 6 888 20 116
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses - - - - - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 36 385 7 729 19 357 29 725 6 888 20 116
Date de modification: