Section II: Analysis of Programs by Strategic Outcome

Strategic Outcome: Equality between women and men is promoted and advanced in Canada

Program 1.1: Leadership, Expertise and Advice

Description

Canada, in line with domestic and international instruments, has committed to advancing gender equality. SWC promotes public understanding about the status of women in Canada and encourages Canadians to engage in efforts to advance equality between women and men. Communications activities form a key aspect of this Program and commemorate important dates such as the International Day of the Girl, National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women, and International Women’s Day.

To further advance gender equality, the government requires federal organizations to take gender considerations into account in legislation, policies and programs. By providing information, tools, training and expert advice, SWC plays a lead role in building the capacity of federal organizations to use Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+). GBA+ is an analytical process used to assess the potential impacts of policies, programs or initiatives on diverse groups of women and men, girls and boys. GBA+ informs decision-making and increases the likelihood that legislation, policies and programs meet the needs of diverse groups of women and men.

SWC also provides strategic policy analysis and advice on numerous issues, aligned with the three priority areas (e.g. ending violence against women and girls; supporting the advancement and increased representation of women and girls in leadership and decision-making roles; and improving women’s and girls’ economic security and prosperity). SWC acts as a knowledge broker to support federal organizations and other stakeholders in advancing equality for women and girls. In addition, SWC explores gaps and emerging issues that continue to affect the status of women and girls in Canada. This work is mainly done in collaboration with other federal organizations, provinces, territories and civil society.

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2015–16
Main Estimates
2015–16
Planned Spending
2016–17
Planned Spending
2017–18
Planned Spending
2,142,013 2,142,013 2,140,228 2,140,228
Human Resources (FTEs)
2015–16 2016–17 2017–18
17 17 17
Performance Measurement
Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets Date to Be Achieved

Through SWC leadership, key stakeholders have access to advice and information to address issues relating to equality between women and men and boys and girls. (Key stakeholders include federal organizations, provinces, territories, civil society and the general public).

Number of SWC-led interventions that provide advice and information

5 SWC-led initiatives

March 2016

Through the provision of SWC expertise, federal government officials and key stakeholders have increased knowledge of Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+). (Key stakeholders include representatives from provinces, territories, civil society and the general public). Percentage of respondents that indicate their knowledge of GBA+ has increased following GBA+ training/event 75% March 2016
Canadian media reports on contributions made by SWC towards advancing equality for women and girls. Percentage of SWC-led initiatives that result in media reports 50% March 2016
Planning Highlights

In 2015-16, SWC will carry out the following activities to implement the priorities identified in Section I of this report:

  • Addressing Violence against Women and Girls: SWC, in collaboration with Justice Canada, Public Safety Canada, and Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, has led the development of a five-year Action Plan to Address Family Violence and Violent Crimes Against Aboriginal Women and Girls. During the planning year, SWC will implement the Action Plan by providing funding for projects and coordinating the work of the federal departments and agencies involved in this initiative. SWC will also collaborate with key partners to facilitate information and knowledge exchange, identify and address new and emerging issues, and seek innovative solutions.
  • Increasing Representation of Women in Leadership and Decision-Making Roles: SWC will promote the implementation of the recommendations made by the Advisory Council on Women on Boards in its report, Good for Business: A Plan to Promote More Women on Canadian Boards. SWC initiatives will include support for ministerial leadership roles in engaging key players to implement strategies that help build the momentum for gender-diversity in private and public sectors. The initiatives will promote best practices that can be used by corporate Canada to advance more women into board positions, and toward achieving the Advisory Council’s recommendation of women occupying 30% of corporate board positions by 2019.
  • Strengthening Implementation of Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+): SWC will support federal organizations to build internal capacity to apply GBA+ to the development of policies, programs and legislation. SWC’s accessible Introduction to GBA+ online course, updated and expanded in 2014, will be used as a foundation for the development of targeted training and tools in key sectors. The agency will also broaden its partnerships through support for networking and learning events, and other promotional activities.
  • Promoting Economic Opportunities for Women: SWC will focus on supporting women to succeed in the skilled trades, technical professions and entrepreneurship. This work will be accomplished through initiatives that will address barriers such as: recruitment and retention of women in male-dominated sectors, access to mentors, champions and financial tools and training opportunities for women in key areas of economic growth, including entrepreneurship.

In 2015-16, SWC will continue to support the Minister in her role in intergovernmental and international affairs, including with the federal, provincial and territorial Ministers responsible for the Status of Women and as Head of the Canadian Delegation to the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women.

Program 1.2: Advancing Equality for Women

Description

SWC supports action and innovation by investing in initiatives that work to bring about equality between women and men. The Program provides grant and contribution funding to organizations to support community-based action that will lead to equality in communities across Canada. Funded projects occur at the national, regional and local levels and work to help create conditions for success for women in Canada.

Projects address the economic and social situation of women and their participation in democratic life. They are diverse in nature and scope and apply a variety of approaches and strategies to address the complexity of the issues affecting women. Specifically, the Program invests in projects that incorporate gender considerations, increase and strengthen access to a range of opportunities, supports, information, resources and services, tools, etc. Projects work with stakeholders such as women’s and community organizations, public institutions and the private sector.

The Program also facilitates collaboration, networking and partnerships to promote equality and the advancement of women in Canada. SWC facilitates networking; develops partnerships where needed to address horizontal issues impacting women and girls; shares knowledge; and assists organizations working to advance women’s equality to gain access to expertise, resources and tools.

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2015–16
Main Estimates
2015–16
Planned Spending
2016–17
Planned Spending
2017–18
Planned Spending
23,155,089 23,155,089 23,151,309 23,151,309
Human Resources (FTEs)
2015–16 2016–17 2017–18
36 36 36
Performance Measurement
Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets Date to Be Achieved

Women and communities have access to supports to address issues relating to equality between women and men.

Percentage of projects that generate supports (e.g. resources, tools)

70%

March 2016

Communities and stakeholders have access to opportunities to advance equality between women and men. Percentage of projects that facilitate opportunities (e.g. partnerships, networks, strategies) 70% March 2016
Planning Highlights

In 2015–2016, SWC will carry out the following activities to implement the priorities identified in Section I of this report.

Strategic Investments: SWC will continue to invest strategically, focusing on equality for women, in areas where there is a clear potential for making a difference in the lives of women and girls in Canada. SWC will continue to respond to Government priorities by working in collaboration with key stakeholders and taking into consideration the priorities of women, specific issues, both ongoing and emerging, to be addressed in the planning year.

Through targeted funding strategies, the agency will continue to support projects that find solutions to barriers women face, focusing on creating levers that enable the conditions for their success. Projects will:

  • promote economic development for women and girls and create sustainable opportunities for their economic security and prosperity;
  • seek to end violence against women and girls, including by giving special consideration to projects that target specific issues such as the root causes of violence; and
  • identify funding opportunities that support innovative or proven strategies in increasing the representation of women in leadership and decision-making roles.

Community Engagement and Collaboration: The agency will foster collaboration and identify funding opportunities that facilitate the networking of organizations with a shared goal. Targeted funding initiatives will allow SWC to build partnerships and engage communities and stakeholders who have an interest in advancing gender equality. Efforts will be made to explore opportunities with new audiences. SWC will also focus on developing and strengthening partnerships with its own networks and, where possible, work horizontally with federal organizations and others. A collaborative approach will help ensure that issues impacting women are widely recognized and addressed, increasing ownership and the likelihood of sustainability of initiatives within communities across Canada.

Knowledge-Brokering: The Women’s Program (WP) at SWC will continue to implement its knowledge management and dissemination strategy to continue to leverage programming expertise in its three priority areas. In implementing its knowledge management and dissemination strategy, the WP continues to create opportunities for dialogue and exchange by, for example, offering information sessions for funded projects, and allowing funding recipients and other stakeholders to exchange knowledge and expertise. The focus will be on strengthening the WP capacity to play the role of knowledge broker by identifying, promoting and creating opportunities for knowledge sharing, in particular facilitating access to expertise and networking needed by organizations and stakeholders to more effectively advance gender equality.

Internal Services

Description

Internal Services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization, and not those provided to a specific program. The groups of activities are Management and Oversight Services; Communications Services; Legal Services; Human Resources Management Services; Financial Management Services; Information Management Services; Information Technology Services; Real Property Services; Materiel Services; and Acquisition Services.

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2015–16
Main Estimates
2015–16
Planned Spending
2016–17
Planned Spending
2017–18
Planned Spending
4,245,975 4,245,975 4,241,460 4,241,460
Human Resources (FTEs)
2015–16 2016–17 2017–18
43 43 43
Date modified:

Section II : Analyse des programmes par résultat stratégique

Résultat stratégique : Promotion et avancement de l’égalité entre femmes et hommes au Canada

Programme 1.1 Impulsion, savoir-faire et conseils

Description

Le Canada s’est engagé, conformément à différents instruments nationaux et internationaux, à promouvoir l’égalité entre les sexes. CFC encourage une meilleure compréhension de la situation des femmes au Canada et invite la population canadienne à prendre part aux efforts pour faire progresser l’égalité entre les sexes. Les activités de communication sont un élément clé de ce programme et soulignent des dates importantes telles que la Journée internationale des filles, la Journée nationale de commémoration et d’action contre la violence faite aux femmes et la Journée internationale de la femme.

Pour que les progrès vers l’égalité entre les sexes se poursuivent, le gouvernement exige que les institutions fédérales prennent le genre en considération dans leurs lois, politiques et programmes. CFC donne l’impulsion au développement de la capacité des institutions fédérales en matière d’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) en leur offrant de l’information, des outils et de la formation et en les faisant profiter de son savoir-faire. L’ACS+ sert à évaluer les répercussions que pourraient avoir les politiques, les programmes et d’autres initiatives sur des populations de femmes, d’hommes, de filles et de garçons d’horizons divers. Elle éclaire la prise de décisions et augmente la probabilité que les lois, les politiques et les programmes répondent aux besoins des populations.

Au chapitre des politiques, CFC fournit également des analyses et des conseils stratégiques sur un éventail de questions qui concordent avec ses trois domaines prioritaires (c’est-à-dire : éliminer la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles; soutenir et promouvoir une représentation accrue des femmes et des filles aux postes de responsabilité et de décision; et améliorer la sécurité et la prospérité économiques des femmes et des filles). CFC joue un rôle de courtier du savoir auprès des institutions fédérales et d’autres parties prenantes afin de les soutenir dans la poursuite de l’égalité entre les sexes. Il surveille aussi l’évolution des enjeux qui influent sur la condition des femmes et des filles au Canada. L’essentiel de ce travail est accompli en collaboration avec les institutions fédérales, les provinces, les territoires et la société civile.

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2016–2017
Dépenses prévues
2017–2018
2 142 013 2 142 013 2 140 228 2 140 228
Ressources humaines (ETP)
2015–2016 2016–2017 2017–2018
17 17 17
Mesure du rendement
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cibles Date de réalisation

Grâce au rôle d'impulsion joué par CFC, les principales parties intéressées disposent de conseils et renseignements pour s'attaquer aux enjeux liés à l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes ou entre les garçons et les filles. (Les principales parties comprennent des organismes fédéraux, les provinces, les territoires, la société civile et le grand public.)

Nombre d’interventions menées par CFC qui permettent de fournir des conseils et de l’information.

5 initiatives menées par CFC

Mars 2016

Grâce au savoir-faire qu’apporte CFC, les responsables du gouvernement fédéral et les principales parties intéressées connaissent mieux l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+). (Ces parties comprennent les représentantes et représentants des provinces, des territoires, de la société civile et du grand public.) Pourcentage des répondantes et des répondants affirmant que leur connaissance de l’ACS+ s’est améliorée grâce aux activités de formation et autres relatives à l’ACS+. 75 % Mars 2016
Les médias canadiens font état des apports de CFC à l’avancement de l’égalité des sexes. Pourcentage des initiatives dirigées par CFC qui bénéficient d’une couverture médiatique 50 % Mars 2016
Faits saillants de la planification

En 2015–2016, CFC mènera les activités suivantes en vue de répondre aux priorités cernées dans la Section I du présent rapport.

  • Agir contre la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles : En collaboration avec Justice Canada, Sécurité publique Canada et Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, CFC a dirigé l’élaboration du Plan d’action pour contrer la violence familiale et les crimes violents à l’endroit des femmes et des filles autochtones. Durant l’année de planification, CFC appliquera le Plan d’action en finançant des projets et en coordonnant le travail des ministères et organismes fédéraux participant à cette initiative. CFC collaborera également avec des partenaires clés pour faciliter l’échange d’information et de connaissances, pour cerner et examiner les questions émergentes et nouvelles, et pour rechercher des solutions novatrices.
  • Accroître la représentation des femmes aux postes de responsabilité et de décision : CFC encouragera la mise en œuvre des mesures recommandées par le Conseil consultatif pour la présence des femmes aux conseils d’administration d’entreprises dans son rapport Bon pour les affaires – Plan pour accroître la participation des femmes aux conseils d’administration. Parmi ses initiatives, CFC aidera la haute direction des ministères à mobiliser les acteurs les plus susceptibles de donner, par la mise en œuvre des stratégies correspondantes, l’impulsion nécessaire à la réalisation de la mixité dans les secteurs privé et public. Ces initiatives favoriseront l’adoption par les entreprises canadiennes de pratiques exemplaires permettant de renforcer la présence des femmes aux conseils d’administration et de donner suite à la recommandation formulée par le Conseil consultatif, soit de faire en sorte que les femmes occupent 30 % des sièges aux conseils d’administration d’ici 2019.
  • Renforcer la mise en œuvre de l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) au sein de l’administration fédérale : CFC aidera les organismes fédéraux à développer la capacité interne d’appliquer l’ACS+ à l’élaboration de politiques, de programmes et de mesures législatives. Le cybercours de CFC Introduction à l’ACS+, augmenté et mis à jour en 2014, servira de fondement à l’élaboration de cours et d’outils ciblés à l’intention de secteurs clés. L’organisme multipliera également ses partenariats en appuyant la réalisation d’activités de réseautage et d’apprentissage et d’autres activités promotionnelles.
  • Promouvoir l’augmentation des débouchés économiques des femmes : CFC tâchera avant tout d’aider les femmes à réussir dans les métiers spécialisés, les professions techniques et l’entrepreneuriat. Ce travail se fera au moyen d’initiatives s’attaquant à des obstacles tels le recrutement des femmes et leur maintien en poste dans les secteurs à prédominance masculine, de même que leur accès au marrainage/parrainage, au mentorat, aux outils financiers et à des possibilités de formation dans les principaux domaines économiques en croissance, dont l’entrepreneuriat.

En 2015–2016, CFC continuera d’aider la ministre dans ses fonctions intergouvernementales et internationales, entre autres en ce qui a trait à ses rencontres avec les ministres responsables de la condition féminine à l’échelon provincial et territorial et à son rôle de chef de la délégation canadienne à la session annuelle de la Commission sur la condition de la femme des Nations Unies.

Programme 1.2 : Avancement de l’égalité pour les femmes

Description

Dans le cadre de ce programme, CFC appuie l’action et l’innovation en investissant dans des projets qui conduisent vers l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Le programme octroie des subventions et des contributions financières à des organismes qui font progresser l’égalité entre les sexes dans des collectivités d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Les projets financés sont de portée nationale, régionale ou locale et aident à créer des conditions propices à la réussite des Canadiennes.

Les projets sont axés sur l’amélioration de la situation économique et sociale des femmes et leur participation à la vie démocratique. De nature et portée variées, ils emploient un éventail de méthodes et de stratégies pour répondre aux enjeux complexes qui touchent les femmes. Concrètement, le programme investit dans des projets qui intègrent des considérations liées au genre et qui augmentent ou améliorent l’accès à une gamme de possibilités, de services et de ressources (soutien, information, outils, etc.). Ces projets comptent sur la participation des parties intéressées, comme des groupes de femmes, des organismes communautaires, des institutions publiques et le secteur privé.

Le programme facilite également la collaboration, le réseautage et les partenariats pour promouvoir l’égalité entre les sexes et l’avancement des femmes au Canada. CFC facilite le réseautage, crée des partenariats au besoin pour répondre aux questions transversales touchant les femmes et les filles, échange des connaissances et aide les organismes œuvrant au progrès de l’égalité des sexes à accéder aux connaissances, aux ressources et aux outils.

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2016–2017
Dépenses prévues
2017–2018
23 155 089 23 155 089 23 151 309 23 151 309
Ressources humaines (ETP)
2015–2016 2016–2017 2017–2018
36 36 36
Mesure du rendement
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cibles Date de réalisation

Les femmes et les collectivités ont les appuis nécessaires pour s'attaquer aux enjeux liés à l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes.

Pourcentage de projets qui créent des appuis (p. ex. des ressources ou des outils)

70 %

Mars 2016

Les collectivités et les parties prenantes ont des occasions de faire progresser l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Pourcentage de projets qui créent des possibilités (p. ex. des partenariats, des réseaux ou des stratégies) 70 % Mars 2016
Faits saillants de la planification

En 2015–2016, CFC mènera les activités suivantes en vue de répondre aux priorités cernées dans la Section I du présent rapport.

Investissements stratégiques : CFC continuera d’investir de façon stratégique en se concentrant sur l’accès des femmes à l’égalité dans des domaines où il est manifestement possible d’améliorer la vie des femmes et des filles au Canada. Guidé par les priorités du gouvernement, l’organisme collaborera avec les principales parties prenantes et tiendra aussi compte des priorités des femmes pour préciser sur quels enjeux, nouveaux ou persistants, il se penchera au cours de l’année de planification.

Par des stratégies de financement ciblé, CFC continuera d’appuyer des projets qui visent à aplanir les obstacles auxquels se butent les femmes. Il privilégiera avant tout les mesures qui permettent la mise en place de conditions propices à la réussite des femmes, c’est-à-dire :

  • stimulent le développement économique pour les femmes et les filles et créent des possibilités durables de sécurité et de prospérité économiques;
  • cherchent à mettre un terme à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, notamment en s’attaquant à des enjeux précis, par exemple les causes profondes de cette violence;
  • offrent une occasion d’appuyer des stratégies novatrices ou éprouvées de nature à accroître la représentation des femmes aux postes de responsabilité et de décision.

Collaboration et mobilisation des collectivités : L’organisme favorisera la collaboration et repérera les occasions de financement qui facilitent le réseautage d’organismes aux buts similaires. Des initiatives de financement ciblé permettront à CFC de forger des partenariats et de mobiliser les collectivités et les parties prenantes qui ont à cœur de faire progresser l’égalité des sexes. On déploiera des efforts pour examiner les possibilités de rejoindre de nouvelles clientèles. CFC s’emploiera aussi à forger et à renforcer des partenariats à l’intérieur de ses propres réseaux et, si possible, à agir transversalement avec des organismes fédéraux et d’autres. La concertation l’aidera à faire en sorte que les enjeux ayant une incidence sur les femmes soient largement reconnus, ce qui amènera les collectivités à les prendre en charge et rehaussera les chances que les initiatives entraînent des changements durables d’un bout à l’autre du Canada.

Courtage du savoir : Le Programme de promotion de la femme de CFC poursuivra la mise en œuvre de sa stratégie de gestion et de diffusion du savoir pour continuer de mettre à profit le savoir-faire acquis dans les trois domaines prioritaires. Il continuera pour ce faire à ouvrir des avenues de dialogue et d’échange, par exemple en offrant des séances d’information pour les projets financés et en permettant aux bénéficiaires de son financement et d’autres parties prenantes d’échanger des connaissances et des savoir-faire. On cherchera avant tout à renforcer la capacité du Programme d’agir comme courtier du savoir, c’est-à-dire de repérer, créer et promouvoir des occasions et possibilités d’échange de connaissances, en particulier de faciliter l’accès à l’expertise et aux réseaux sur lesquels doivent pouvoir compter les organismes et les parties prenantes pour améliorer l’efficacité des efforts d’avancement de l’égalité entre les sexes.

Services internes

Description

Les services internes regroupent des activités connexes et des ressources administrées de manière à répondre aux besoins des programmes d’une organisation, et à lui permettre de remplir ses autres obligations organisationnelles. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et ressources qui visent l’ensemble d’une organisation et non les activités et les ressources qui s’appliquent à un programme particulier. Les groupes d’activités et de ressources sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services de communications, services juridiques internes, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l’information, services de technologies de l’information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel et les services de gestion des acquisitions.

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2016–2017
Dépenses prévues
2017–2018
4 245 975 4 245 975 4 241 460 4 241 460
Ressources humaines (ETP)
2015–2016 2016–2017 2017–2018
43 43 43
Date de modification :