Minister's Message

I am pleased to present Status of Women Canada’s Departmental Performance Report for 2014-15.

Honourable Patty Hajdu, Minister of Status of Women

Status of Women Canada acts as a catalyst, knowledge broker, and centre of excellence on issues related to gender equality. In 2014-15, the Agency supported initiatives focused on three priorities: increasing women's economic security and prosperity; promoting women in leadership and decision-making roles; and ending violence against women and girls.

The Government of Canada recognizes that public policies affect men and women differently and that we must work to ensure that federal departments conduct meaningful gender-based analysis as decisions are made.

The Government also recognizes the importance of engaging with partners, stakeholders and Canadians more generally. Through the work of Status of Women Canada, Canadians have been and will continue to be engaged in unique events and social media outreach to commemorate important dates related to women’s equality.

For far too many Canadians – overwhelmingly women – sexual violence, sexual harassment, and intimate partner violence continue to be real threats. Promoting gender equality and achieving meaningful change for women's lives is a priority for the Government of Canada. If each of us takes action, we can help make Canada safer, more respectful and supportive – not just for women and girls – but for all Canadians. Status of Women Canada will take action and exercise its leadership towards achieving this goal.

The Honourable Patty Hajdu, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Status of Women

Date modified:

Message de la ministre

Je suis heureuse de vous présenter le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2014-2015 de Condition féminine Canada.

L’honorable Patty Hajdu, ministre de la Condition féminine

Condition féminine Canada joue un rôle de catalyseur, de courtier du savoir et de centre d’excellence en matière d’égalité entre les sexes et de questions connexes. En 2014-2015, l’organisme s’est concentré sur trois priorités: améliorer la sécurité et la prospérité économiques des femmes; promouvoir l’accès des femmes aux postes de responsabilité et de décision, et éliminer la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles.

Le gouvernement du Canada sait que les politiques publiques ont un effet différent sur les femmes et sur les hommes et que les ministères fédéraux doivent prendre des décisions éclairées par l’analyse comparative entre les sexes.

Le gouvernement sait également combien il est important de mobiliser nos partenaires, les parties intéressées et l’ensemble de la population canadienne. Grâce au travail de Condition féminine Canada, la population canadienne participe à des événements uniques et à des campagnes de sensibilisation dans les médias sociaux afin de commémorer les dates importantes dans l’histoire de l’égalité des sexes.

Beaucoup trop de nos concitoyennes et concitoyens – des femmes et des filles dans la majorité des cas – sont encore victimes d’agressions sexuelles, de harcèlement sexuel et de violence de la part d’une ou un partenaire intime. Il est prioritaire pour le gouvernement du Canada de promouvoir l’égalité entre les sexes et d’améliorer de façon substantielle la vie des femmes. Si chacune et chacun d’entre nous se décide d’agir, nous bâtirons ensemble un Canada plus sûr, plus respectueux et plus accueillant pour toutes et tous. Condition féminine Canada prendra des mesures dans ce sens et fera preuve de leadership pour atteindre cet objectif.


L’honorable Patricia A. Hajdu, C.P., députée
Ministre de la Condition féminine

Date de modification :